We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #23 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Let me start this by saying that we knew when booking here that it was away from the beach and busier areas of the island, which is why we chose to stay here. We came to Koh Samui for 2 nights after partying and diving on Koh Tao and wanted somewhere to regroup before heading to Krabi/Railay Beach. My husband and I LOVED this hotel. Since we booked 6 months in advance we got 60% off the rate and we can't believe what a steal that was. Our room was gorgeous and although the view for breakfast would have been enough, the food was great too. You cannot beat the view from the pool as well. We took the free shuttle to the Fisherman's Village for their Friday night market and it was so much fun! There were beach bars, tons of stalls selling great food as well as Thai merchandise and tons of restaurants. We are so glad we booked here, it was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianGrl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    443
    125
    46
    14
See reviews for
238
1,036
43
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel isn't 5 stars, but it is still a great hotel with great customer service. My mother and I stayed here during our trip to Koh Samui. I really enjoyed that this hotel was away from the busy areas of Koh Samui. That is both a pro and a con. It is difficult to go anywhere at night, other than using the complimentary shuttle service to the beach areas and nightlife. If you are looking to be near nightlife, I wouldn't recommend this hotel; however, if you want to just relax, enjoy the infinity pool, great food, drinks, and get some yoga or workouts in then this is a great hotel to stay at!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aberfitchfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kniesel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at the end of 3.5 weeks travelling through India and Sri Lanka.
Booked our airport transfer a few days before arrival, was promptly brought to the hotel and checked in a few hours early.

The rooms are great, the pool beautiful, the breakfast buffet extensive and the cocktails divine!

The resort is very steep, but there are club carts which can zip you up and down the hills if you are mobility limited.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kniesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Nice Hotel with friendly staff, but please do not expect a 5* Hotel - German rating. The hotel is ok and luxury for Thai standard, but shows also little spots of bother when you see it with German eyes (e.g. rooms need overall refurbishment, walls and floors look old and shower cubicle was dirty). However, we have been at this hotel in January 2014 for 14 nights and had a wonderful stay. Our room (Love Jacuzzi) was on the highest floor and the size of the terrace was huge. Also the jacuzzi on our terrace was great, but also a bit old. However, the price-performance ratio was great. The view over Bophut bay is overwhelming and the complimantory facilities and services are great (24 hours pool, 24 hours gym, free shuttle service to Chaweng and Bophut "Fishermans Village", free yoga classes - just to name a few). We rented a motorbike directly from the hotel for discovering the Island giving us more independence and beeing no longer bound by the fixed times of the shuttle service (you need to book pick up and return time in advance which gives not much flexibility). We have also taken part in the free cooking class offered by the hotel which was very interesting and is great for everybody interested in cooking Thai dishes. Overall, we had a great and relaxing stay here and enjoyed the unique atmosphere in this lovely, charming hotel - "Cheeky with Love"!. If we visit Koh Samui for a second time, we will definitely stay at Mantra Samui again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SameSame2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed at Mantra Samui Resort for 5 nights, 6 days with 3 other friends. Being our first time at Koh Samui and looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok, we were pleasantly surprised by the serenity and quietness of this particular resort.

I booked a 2 bedroom family suite through Expedia with $200 per night rate (down from $800 per night) - the rooms were high up on the hill, not much of a view (I think the love rooms down near the bottom to the left of the resort have more of a view). The staff will kindly send you up and down from your rooms with their buggies - just call reception.

Our rooms were large and spacious, equipped with kitchenette, clean bathroom, couch and smart TV. Huge beds, but pretty sure it was not one king size, but two doubles put together. Not an issue, as the service was so helpful and accommodating - we spent most of our time on the resort.

Food at the restaurant was okay - convenient but a little bit pricey. Free breakfast buffet was provided for all mornings of our stay so that was pretty great! Swimming pool is located next to the restaurant, beautiful and clean with great views.

Spa service was awesome - very relaxing and though you need to book before you go, there are many promotions that could entice you to multiple treatments. Again, the staff were so professional and sweet. They even provided me ginger tea because the day before they heard I had a sore throat! They really care about you.

They have no issues with you even ordering food - we ordered a late night McDonald's McDelivery to our room - they were so nice to even help us!

Free shuttle buses to Bophut and Chaweng beach - the only issue is, shuttle bus times are quite spread out so be sure to plan your trip carefully. You must also book seats on the bus beforehand to avoid disappointment.

All in all, we all enjoyed our stay very much - highly recommended and could not give enough credit to the staff there - top notch service!

Room Tip: Rooms 309 and 310 will not have a view, and will be up on the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judyduong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

What can I say...my husband and I have visited Thailand 3 times and this is truly one of the best places we have stayed so far.

The views are breath taking and we tried all the rooms at the resort and the Love room was our favourite (large balcony terrace and jacuzzi bath for 2)

The staff are so friendly and kind. We want to say our thanks to 'A' who was always so friendly and kind to us. He is an asset to the team!

The gym was fantastic (my husband loves to work out in a morning and he was well impressed with the facilities) there is also a dedicated yoga studio with free classes (we used it in the morning to do Insanity)

Breakfast was the highlight! So much choice and the best eggs in Thailand :-)

Thank you for an unforgettable stay. We will return!!!

Mr & Mrs Robinson

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimboRobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Mantra Samui for the first week of our honeymoon. We were welcomed with a cold drink and a cold flannel which was much appreciated after a long flight. A small golf cart showed us around the hotel property and to our room. Our LOVE room was wonderfully decorated and the jacuzzi was pre-filled before our arrival complete with rose petals.

The hotel is located up a hill and is quite secluded. The location is ideal for relaxation and for those seeking a retreat. Some of the hills were very steep which may be challenging if you are physically impaired. The views are however fantastic and there is no noise from traffic or beach parties. There is also a calm breeze which helps against the heat. Although there were lots of trees in the area, we did not see any mosquitoes which is a big plus.

We felt that we were dependant on taxis and the shuttle bus if we wanted to go anywhere besides the hotel. There are complimentary buses to Chaweng and Bophut; and most activity providers will pick you up from your hotel. However I did not feel that we could walk out of the hotel and explore the local streets.

The staff were extremely friendly with genuine smiles. We felt welcomed at all times. We also visited the hotels' spa which was a wonderful experience with friendly staff.

The hotel had a nice restaurant with a nice selection of Thai food and some western dishes, the prices weren't too bad either. There was a large variety at breakfast, and anyone staying here should definitely try the mango pancakes, they were amazing!!

A couple of areas for improvement:
- Upgrade the wifi. We found it quite unstable.
- Provide some extra hooks to hang up towels.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
4.4 mi away
Baywater Resort Samui
Baywater Resort Samui
#3 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.5 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#16 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at Ubuntu Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Splendid Spa'', a yoga studio with Himalayan Salt Bricks - offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open 24 hours a day. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing