We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #15 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I visited the Mantra Samui Resort on a stop off to Koh Tao and i wish i could of stayed longer.
We got shown to our room which had the most beautiful view. It was a lovely large spacious room and an amazing day bed and jacuzzi on our balcony.

It was only a short visit but a great one, i especially loved the jacuzzi on the balcony and was straight in there when the sun was setting.

We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food was great, again with the amazing view, my only regret was that i only got a picture of the infinity pool and didn't have enough time to get it.

Hopefully i will get to return to Mantra and take full advantage of what is has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at the Mantra for 16 nights and left with very mixed feelings.

As previous reviewers have indicated there are so many positive points about this hotel
the magnificent views
friendly staff
a large room (Love) with a big balcony and jacuzzi bath
super efficient service at breakfast
free films and telephone calls, and the use of a computer in your room
a lovely infinity edge swimming pool ( but with limited sun beds)
clear pricing (unusually for Thailand, they include additional taxes)
reasonable prices compared with normal minibar rates
free shuttles to Bophut and Chaweng

What spoiled our stay was the state of the bathroom which we would not have found acceptable even in 1 star hotel. Problems included
varying temperature in the shower (this is common in hotels, but at the Mantra it went from freezing to scalding without warning)
chipped plaster/paintwork at the entry to the shower
badly marked paintwork which could not be cleaned off
mould on the window of the shower
dirty floor
I could go on, but the important point is not one of detail, more that maintenance and additional cleaning badly needs to be improved. When I drew this to the attention of Front of House Manager she did offer us another room, but after a thorough clean we decided not to move for a variety of reasons.

For the last few nights of our stay on Samui we were booked into the Santiburi, another 5 Star resort on the island. This really put the the Mantra into perspective and, to use the analogy of the Mantra's drinks menu, the Santiburi was First Class to the Mantra's Economy Class.

All that said, I would not discourage people from going to the Mantra. On a deal, it offers excellent value (our 5 nights at the Santiburi cost just a little less than the 16 at the Mantra). The concept behind the hotel is fun and it offers a very relaxed experience, however just don't expect a 5 star hotel.



Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Golden_roamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here in January for our honeymoon for 15 nights and our expectations were high after carefully selecting hotel for this special holiday. I say average because nothing was special or a wow factor, no staff went out of their way to be great hosts. My husband emailed in advance to say it was our honeymoon which at no point during our stay was acknowledged. We did have a great room with fantastic views ( Love 131) which was very clean. The food was very good and varied, views from restaurant are superb. Tip for breakfast don't order your hot food until you are ready to eat it as it will arrive before you have even collected your cereal! Breakfast choice was excellent though and good quality. The paths are steep but concierge run a great service taking you where you want to go on the resort by buggy or car if required. Very nice hotel and in great part of island, team are polite and efficient but for the money would have liked to see a bit more genuine service and professionalism especially from the F&B team.

Room Tip: Love 131 has fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel which prides itself on service and spreading the feeling of wanting guests to return which obviously they do. The friendliness and helpfulness of staff is delightful. The resort is on a steep hillside,perfect for enjoying views and toning those leg muscles although the staff zip you up and down on golf buggies which is great fun. The shuttles into Bhoput and Chaweng are free and useful and taxis are cheap but we hired a cheap jeep to buzz about and the staff parked it and kept the keys for us. There is a lovely pool and bar area which is great for chilling . The breakfasts are varied and good. We had a great time and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUZANNE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed in this resort in February 1st week. The moment we entered koh samui airport we were In love with this beautiful island. The hotel car came to pick us up at airport and the car had one of the best romantic interiors we would have come across.. The staff was very courteous and checkin was very fast. Each and every place of the resort is nicely done. The love rooms where we stayed was very luxurious and the best view one can ask for.. Every room has a private terrace with jacuzzi & gunny bed. Swimming pool was amazing with a beautiful location on the top of the resort. The resort is situated on hill area. Service was very good. Once we ordered 4 beers in our room. The room service guy came with all 4 beers opened! I called the room service and asked them why they opened all 4 beers when they hv kept opener in the room! They said the guy was new and wasn't aware that the bottles should be served unopened. After 10 mins the room service sent us 4 bottles unopened but not chilled as a apology. We didn't take those 4 unopened bottles but we're really impressed with the service. Overall one of the best vacations we had... Best resort.. Awesome island.. Night outs party scene was good too and those big bikes which u can take on rent.. We are already planning out next vacation after 6 months and will love to stay in this paradise again..

Room Tip: Select the love rooms! They have the best view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayurJadhav2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just loved our stay ... cannot express it enough.... beautiful view... lovely staff... lovely gardens... great day spa.. great service... efficient and pleasant staff. Excellent shuttle service... nothing was too much trouble...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl1954_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

After reading all the positive reviews on trip advisor I was very disappointed to find the service so poor at the hotel, we booked a love room which on the website states all have fantastic views, I think it was love suite 165, situated on the lower level and the view from our balcony was the roof of reception and the top of a few palm trees! so we asked to be moved to a higher room which they did move us but we had to wait around all day to be moved.
When we did move rooms we had the view we where expecting, "fantastic view". which is what they sell to you when you book one of these rooms but be warned they don't all have these views, on the plus side the room was very nice and spacious, comfortable bed, big balcony area.
The pc hub in our room didn,t work, we tried a couple of films one night but they just kept skipping.
Where the service really fell apart was with the reception staff and cleaners, we were left no water in room for 2 days straight, also left dirty towels on floor as instructed as to receive new fresh ones but came bk to find the same dirty towels hung back up again.
We rang down to reception for some water and clean towels explaining that housekeeping had not bothered to leave any, it took 4 calls to reception just to get some clean towels and they still forgot the water in the end!. It was the same when we rung reception about the pc hub in our room it took 3 phone calls over the space of 2 hours to get someone to look at it, still never got fixed. Also cleaners would stand around chatting all day by the rooms so when relaxing on balcony all you would hear is the cleaners chatting away!, not very professional and disruptive to guests.
Good points on the hotel are clean overall, nice grounds, friendly staff in bar/ restaurant area, good gym, fully equipped! pool was ok but never used it that much as its small area for the size of the hotel and all the loungers where gone pretty early.
Didn't rate breakfast personally, found it limited.
Also didn't rate the shuttle service as doesn't run between 4 and 9 in the afternoon/evening so we ended up paying a premium of 300 bht to the mantra taxi in the hours it didn't run, nice strategy mantra.

Room Tip: Room 132 has a great view and more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,527 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
6.0 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,087 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#2 of 185 in Bophut
505 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#11 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £64 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing