We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not get better than this!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #15 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I found a great deal online and booked this hotel for a week and build a holiday around this stay. Amazing view can't wait to go back! The hill is very steep and should not be underestimated, but as other reviewers have said you can call a cart to take you anywhere you want to go. Service is top notch. I can't really think of a fault besides distance to beach/main towns but they do have free shuttles. As other reviewers have said the timing could be better and we were left behind one day but credited the taxi fare on check out. This was our 3rd trip to thailand but first to Koh samui, I will be sure to be back! Also don't book day trips through the hotel you will get it much cheaper online or through agents in the main towns. Still already looking at deals for latter this year!

Room Tip: Higher floor love rooms look the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

This place is not as advertised. It is much closer to a 3 star serviced apartment than a 5 star resort. Guests are stranded and severely limited in seeing the island by a modest shuttle schedule (not as advertised) which only goes to the two tourist traps nearby. Taxis charge extra to journey up the steep hill to go to the place (can't bring myself to call it a resort because it isn't). The room was dirty, and when we asked to see another room, we saw a tube of KY jelly still by the bed in the supposedly prepared room. All in all not too charming. There is a spa where the massage is good and the therapists charming, as are the wait staff and bar tenders. The promotional pictures all center around the pool area because it is very nice and the view from the pool deck is the best thing about the property. We liked many things about Koh Samui but this accommodation was not one of them. We were very disappointed to say the least and could not wait to leave.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Community and future Travelers


The reviewer asked for a complimentary upgrade to a room that was two categories higher than his reservation – and which was not available at the time. My colleague showed kindness and offered the last available Love room – where the KY jelly is part of the intimacy kid we provide in each room so was not left there by others….- which the reviewer refused to accept and was adamant about receiving the two level upgrade free of charge of course.

We at Mantra Love to provide complimentary upgrades to our Guest whenever it is possible. We are frequent travelers ourselves and understand the joy of receiving something extra for free.

Whenever our occupancy permits it we upgrade certain Guests. How do we choose who to upgrade? People who are kind in their correspondence, people who come to celebrate an occasion or returning Guests. Sometimes randomly as an act of kindness - if a higher category rooms is available.

At the same time we feel that “if you do not give me an upgrade I will write a 1 point review on TripAdvisor” should not be a reason to provide complimentary upgrades.

Thank you for reading
Robert
If you have any question feel free to contact me: r.mayer@mantrasamui.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Don't know why we bothered getting a room with a spa? The pool with its view, happy hour and company of the other guests was much nicer. I can understand why people would complain about the view from some rooms. We tend to get out and about hardly used the room. Had that mouldy tropics smell about it from time to time anyway. Two of the staff were travellers themselves (not local) and were very forth coming with local knowledge regarding transport and cost, where to swim, tours etc. Breakfast has plenty of choice. We usually eat one night at our resort the Thursday night buffet and entertainment was good and again plenty of choice. Once again the pool area with its view, company and bar make this resort. We had room a the bottom with a view and we never walked anywhere on the resort golf buggies all the way. no waiting.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank merry54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

THE Hotel !!!
If i go to Koh Samui again it's for this Hotel ...
The most interesting place of this island....
Amazing view inside the jungle fantastic rooms
Nice scouosh corts perfect breakfast very gentle workers

Room Tip: Last floors with jaccuzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giorgosa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I are in our late 60's and we spent a very enjoyable 8 nights at the resort. We were on the top level and the view was amazing. The only downside were the steep steps as my husband is a little disabled. However the friendliness of the staff and the arrival of buggies on time to take us back to our room meant it was not so difficult. The room was clean and the meals were excellent.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs you could choose a room in the Cozy sector
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

First time in Koh Samui and had 6 lovely days here at the resort.Great pool,service and breakfast had a wide selection of food.Awesome view from our room(Wow 343)couldn't be happier with the choice of resort however older couples,handicapped would struggle with hilly terrain.Make use of bikes,easy to use and best way to explore island

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Me and my wife started our honeymoon staying at Mantra Samui. I should say that it was the best decision I made. Right from the pick up to the drop, it was all amazing!! The location was the only downside as it is located on the top of the hill and you need to either take a shuttle or hire a bike to go down. But the view makes it worth it. Fantastic panoramic views of the ocean from every room and the pool was just amazing with an adjacent bar. There are golf cars to escort you at your room and the restaurant in the hotel. The breakfast was the best breakfast I have had among all the hotels I stayed at during my holiday. Me and my wife are pure vegetarians and the staff made sure that we didn't miss out on the variety. The food was the best I had in Thailand and the evening views from the restaurant is pretty amazing. Half price cocktails from 5.30 to 7.30 but for cocktails nothing can beat fisherman's market where you can get cocktails on the street for 60 baht. The jacuzzi in the balcony was amazing. Free unlimited calls from the room around the globe. For couples I would advise you book the love jacuzzi suite and ask them to give you a room at the upper level of the hotel. The baristas were from Europe and they made the best cappuccino in whole of Thailand. 5 star all the way!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akshay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,557 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
4.1 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#18 of 104 in Chaweng
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#3 of 185 in Bophut
512 reviews
4.6 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#11 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £72 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing