We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra Samui Resort
Nearby Hotels
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$137
Amari.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
OZOHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bandara Resort & Spa(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dara Samui Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan Samui Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sareeraya Villas & Suites(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Beach Resort and Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Dance Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,873)
Filter reviews
1,874 results
Traveller rating
1,205
472
133
50
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,205
472
133
50
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslove roomsteep hillinfinity poolwow roomsshuttle serviceshuttle busesyoga classesfree shuttlegolf buggiesocean view roomour honeymoonfisherman's villagethe main roadlarge balconybreakfast was amazingrent a scooterbophut beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
628 - 633 of 1,874 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed 6 nights at the Mantra Samui Resort and throughly enjoyed our stay.

The 'Love' suite that we used was generous in size for both the bedroom (king bed) and the bathroom (the bathroom featured a rain shower and dual vanities).

The resort also had a host of nice touches: free WiFi, unlimited free international phone calls, free shuttle to the local traditional Bophut Fishermans' Village and the main Chaweng Beach entertainment district, and more...
Another small but nice point to make is that all the advertised prices e.g. restaurant, etc are including taxes - unlike some of the other places we dined off site.

Please be aware this is a hillside resort with fabulous views over the water BUT it is not a beachside resort - you will have to take the complimentary shuttle (15mins travel) to visit the beach.

This situation suited US perfectly! - we valued the tranquility of the location and the view and seclusion was more important to us than the beach.

The infinity style pool is outstanding and has fabulous views. There are sun lounges to relax on, a gym, spa, movie theatre and the Resort also provides nice touches like a Saturday evening complimentary cocktail event to meet other guests and the Management staff.

The food at the resort restaurant was a pleasant surprise and the quality was very good indeed. A pleasant surprise for us was the breakfast coffee was Barista made illy espresso on request and not the usual coffee pot - a nice touch!
The staff were at all times happy, obliging and smily - we always felt that no request was too big and they were always happy to help.

There are some aspects of Mantra Samui that need to be addressed.
We found that although clean, the general decor and finishing of the resort is getting tired. The decor of the rooms, whilst is clean, is also tired (the bookshelf in our room was looking like it was about to fall off the wall!) and the lighting could use a boost: the edges of the romantic and comfortable king bed blend dangerously into the dark wood floors and both of us at separate times nastily banged our shins on the edge of the bed (yes, clumsy of us, and you'd think that after one accident, the other would be more careful) but this is an issue none the same.
The only other let down was the staff uniforms that desperately need an update to reflect the quality that this resort obviously is!

I would recommend Mantra Samui Resort for those looking for a quiet getaway in pleasant surroundings that are not looking for the noisy bustle of the 'main strip' but are more interested in relaxing by the pool, on their own private balcony, or just soaking up the view.
Of course transport is available and easily arranged if you do feel, like we did occasionally, that you want to be in the busy environment for shopping or sightseeing.

We would recommend Mantra Samui to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in Koh Samui and look forward to another relaxing and enjoyable stay in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reubs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

What a disappointment. I had mixed feelings about this hotel before we booked, largely due to the mixed reviews. Do yourselves a favour and stay somewhere else. We stayed at the Mai Samui for 5nights prior to the Mantra and we cannot fault the Mai Samui, it was a fantastic 5star resort. This place is nowhere near 5star - I would say it's grasping at 3stars at most.The hotel does have amazing views, and I was genuinely impressed by their breakfast, which offered a large variety, which was all delicious, and the service at breakfast was superb. Sadly the negatives far outweighed our positive experiences here and I will not be returning, nor will I recommend this hotel to anyone. The "Wow" room was, ironically, a huge let down. The window blind was so sheer that we had very broken sleep due to light coming in from a bright light mounted just outside our window. The bathroom is tiled in dark tiles and has no natural light, it has a very depressing feel about it. The shower also isn't separated by a door, so the entire bathroom is in a puddle of water if anyone takes a shower. There is a terrible (sewerage?) smell that lingers around the pool, and it hits you when you walk past the pool and the pool toilets area. So if you are lucky enough to get one of the few sunbeds by the pool it's a rather unpleasant experience, as you catch wafts of this bad smell. Pool towels look sad and worn out. We come to Thailand, and keep returning, for the beautiful people and excellent service we have previously consistently received from Thai staff at other resorts. This is not the case at the Mantra. Most of the reception staff, with there designer sunnies and goatee beards, have too much "swag" to talk to you/say hello back when you greet them. We stood at reception like fools for about 10mins, there were about 8 staff on duty, who all the while sat there checking us out yet making no attempt to offer us their help, until I walked directly up to a young lady asking for her assistance. We had a particularly bad experience with reception when we booked a second tour with them. They booked the wrong tour, and so we ended up going on the same tour they booked for us to do two days before. There were, however, 2 members of staff that were an exception to this during our stay - they offered us brilliant service and were so friendly and helpful, Max at reception and Man at the restaurant. One night we booked the hotel shuttle back from Bophut, and ended up waiting, along with another couple who also booked the hotel shuttle for the same time, for 20 minutes and it never showed up. Finally our stay ended on a very negative note: we were due to check out at 12pm. At 11.45am housekeeping was knocking at our door. We asked her to return in a few minutes while we got the last of our things sorted and could leave the room. At 11.50 phone call after phone call started rolling in from reception "reminding" us that we needed to be out of the room by 12pm. A few minutes later we had 4 reception staff at our door rushing us out of the room. I have never in my life experienced anything like it, it was extremely unprofessional. I wish we had listened to the negative reviews and stayed somewhere else. I hope this review helps you avoid making the same mistake.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mandelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Mandelbee,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review about your stay.

I was very happy to read that you found Khun Max and Khun Man to be outstanding your gentleman, I could not agree more!
It was also delightful to read that you enjoyed the views from the hotel and the luxurious breakfast as well!

At the same time I was very sorry to read that certain issues have negatively affected your stay. I was even more sad when I read that some of them could have been very easly solved if it was brought to our attention.
Sometimes pipes can get blocked and the problem can be rectified by calling our reception team who will send an engineer immediately.
All rooms have 2 curtains: I fabric curtain and a black out curtain that goes from floor to ceiling and provides 100% block to all outside light. In addition the terrace light you have mentioned is controlled from within the room and can be turned off by a switch. I am sad that you did not call us for these issues as a call to the front office would have solved these easily.

It can happen that upon arrival Guests realize that they would prefer a different room – whether in location or in category. We understand how important a relaxing holiday is and this is why we encourage all Guests to let us know during their stay how we can make it better. Every arriving room receives a letter informing them that if they need anything they can turn to our managers with confidence.
If occupancy permits it we are super happy to change rooms to make sure that our Guest have fun. All one needs to do is let us know about the issue!
I am very sorry that you felt that our reception team was not attentive with you on one occasion. I will bring this up in our morning meeting (within 12 hrs from now) to investigate what could have happened and to make sure it does not happen again.

Based on our practice the reception provides all Guests with a voucher of the tour they have booked at the time of the booking. We never actually had an issue where a Guest was booked to the wrong tour. We will learn from this mistake because I understand that on holiday people sometimes do not check the vouchers so I will make sure that our colleagues double check at the time of booking to make sure that the correct trip was reserved.

Thank you again for helping Mantra becoming even better!
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Mantra is set on a hill away from the beaches. The narrow, winding road leads you up to the resort. While the plain look of the buildings may have the look of a motel, the rooms do not. The landscaping is very well done and the exterior of the buildings are very well maintained. You need to be okay with the steepness of the driveways that go through the resort area. It does not have a very big footprint, which means fewer people and a more intimate relaxing time away. The view of the water is amazing, as long as you do not get a room with an obstructed view- of which there are some. We had 2 connected family rooms at the top of the resort and the one room's view was blocked by a beautiful palm tree. We just put the kids in that room. We could view the bay from sitting up in bed. The exercise equipment is restricted. My ten year old son who was with me, was not permitted to use the elliptical (which he used for 10 minutes before he was told not to) but the man said he could use the weight training equipment. Go figure. So for families with kids, there are really no resort style activities for them- as long as your children love to swim, lie out in the sun and play on their laptops and watch movies in the room, they will be fine. The restaurant (yes-just one) food quality was average. The setting of the restaurant is just beautiful with the views looking down the mountain and towards the water. They offer an overpriced BBQ or buffet on certain nights and you cannot have dinner there unless you do the buffet. You are restricted to room service as we quickly found out. The only good thing about this limitation was that the staff at the restaurant is very nice and the food came to us quickly. The perk of using their shuttle to get into town worked out for us- nothing negative to say about it. We appreciated this service and realized we could save some money by following their schedule if you so choose. One final note- the infinity pool was memorable. The edge of it overlooks the mountain and you can see the water and the islands in the distance....while it was on the smaller side and limited seating does exists, its one of the best features of the resort and makes for great pictures all around.

Room Tip: Obstructed views do exist here. Inquire at check-in and let your preference be known.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TianjinKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Due to the fact that I stayed at this hotel almost a year ago, I cannot remember all details, but I don't remember complaining about anything.

Everything was as expected from the description (gym on grounds, golf buggy to take you to your room, high up on a hill etc).

The food was nice although not much of a variety at times for dinner. And when there is an event like buffet evening (or something to that effect), the regular menu is not available.

Like I said before, I can't remember all details, but you get the gist :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilacy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We arrived here for our honeymoon and did not enjoy our stay. We booked a Love room as recommended by many reviews on here but perhaps we had extremely high expectations and was let down when we saw the room.
The Love rooms are on the very steep hill and getting to the room from the reception was scary and fun at the same time. The golf carts feel like they are going to topple over. This hotel is definitely not for mature aged guests as the walk up and down the hill is ridiculous.
The room itself is not private at all, if you want to sunbathe on your balcony the whole pool area and restaurant can see you. To enjoy your spa bath on the balcony you have to draw the curtains around it so you can't enjoy the balcony view without people looking.
We were given a room where employees walk in and out near so the stairs were constantly banging. There are condoms and lubricant on the bedhead which we found really tacky for a 5 star resort.The rain shower in the bath room was the only thing we loved in the room.
Breakfast was quite nice with a variety to choose from and dinner was quite reasonable. It is very secluded so you can't walk anywhere else and have to call for a taxi.
We went into the movie room to see if we could spend some time in there and opened the door to a horrendous foul stench. Obviously the air conditioning was not left on so it was like a sauna.
The pool has an amazing view but there aren't many sun beds available and they are all very close to each other so it feels like you are lying next to other people. We managed to get two sunbeds but there were noisy people and children around that we couldn't relax.

Overall we were disappointed with the Mantra as we trusted the name being a worldwide resort chain and won't be staying again next time we are in Koh Samui.

Room Tip: Do not get a room along the hill as your walk to the bar and restuarant, pool and gym will be torture.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LWE1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear LnWEvans,

I was sorry to read that Mantra was not the right hotel for you.

While it would be good to cater to all Guests we learned to accept that in order to be loved by the overwhelming majority of our Guests – it is inevitable that some people will find that Mantra is not for them.

It is my goal to make sure that people who come to this hotel arrive with expectations that we can meet. This is why we are careful to provide an accurate description of our hotel on our website, social media pages and on our blog.

For the benefit of future travelers it is important to note that our Guests age ranges from 3 months to over 80 years. The “Mom” of Mantra will arrive on the 2nd of May, she is over 80 and this will be her second time in less than 10 months with us. As she would say – if you would like to enjoy the breathtaking view – you have to go to the top! Oh and she loves the buggy rides that we provide 24 hrs a day so if someone does not want to walk than does not have to.

Age is not a common denominator of our Guests but an approach for life is. Our motto is Cheeky! with Love and people who come with an open heart and with a desire to try new things – like our complimentary yoga classes, free cooking classes, hand selected complimentary movie list – have an amazing time with us!

Thank you for contributing to the TripAdvisor community.
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews