We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #23 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were impressed with this amazing resort.
I had been travelling and had not seen my partner in 3months so we wanted to stay somewhere special and Mantra definitely delivered.
We stayed in the Love room which was gorgeous, the hot tub was a good size, bed was so big you could get lost in it!
The restaurant serves great food for all meals, so much choice and all at amazing quality. The cocktails are also brilliant and so many to chose from! My favourite was the pornstar martini made by Kris! Best cocktail ive had in my life!
Shuttles are provided to fisherman's village and chaweng throughout the day and night and they will help you with any activities you want to book.
The whole place is constantly spotless, pool is lovely, rooms are great and lastly the staff - could not fault any of them. Always happy to help, providing fantastic service with a smile every time. You can see where the name cheeky with love come from!
All in all an incredible resort that I will recommend to all for any occasion. Thank you for a great holiday

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,057
    443
    125
    46
    14
See reviews for
234
1,033
43
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The whole family (12 in total) stayed here for a week in April 2014. Zita was our wedding planner and arranged the whole day, it was so spectacular and the best day of our lives.
The hotel itself was beautiful with the most amazing views. The food was great with lots of choice (myself being a veggie plus other fussy eaters in our group). Breakfast was included in the price we paid.
If the times of the free shuttle were not convenient, they would book us a car and do it at a reasonable price.
We stayed in a love room and it was beautiful, the WIFI was a bit hit and miss, but worked most of the time.
The only downside was the pick up from the airport, they must has forgotten about us as we waited at Samui airport for over an hour in 35 degrees heat. This also meant we missed the managers reception on the Saturday night.
We also planted a love tree that we cannot wait to go back and visit one day.

Room Tip: Love rooms are very good, wow rooms are not as nice, the cozy rooms looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have stayed here for 4 nights in May. This is my third-time to Samui and this is the most fantastic accommodation I have ever been. The room has nice sea-view and huge size balcony with daybed and bathtub, you can enjoy the sun at day time and take a rest under a starry night here. The attractive design of the endless swimming pool on the hill is one of the reasons that I chose this resort. The staffs here are very helpful and nice. It is a wonderful and relaxing place and I will stay here again.

P.S. It is not easy to find out the path to the resort at the first time although we have used GPS

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I took the bait and bought a 8 night 5 star advertised deal at Mantra Resort , in fairness it's a 3 star resort no more , the rooms are ok and the dining area pool etc is under serviced not enough chairs pool side and the restaurant resembles a shearing shed , the Thai people are fabulous everywhere you go so no issue with staff , it's perched on a hill and along way from no where , we checked out after two nights .

So family's will struggle the kids can't go anywhere and if you like hills then it's for you , we are going to tackle Deals.com they sell misleading information and that's illegal in Australia .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Gavin,

I am very sorry to read that your stay in Mantra did not match your expectations.
We had two years of very successful partnership with the company that you mentioned and through their deals a hundreds of couples and families could experience our concept of luxury at affordable rates.

Always careful to paint an accurate picture of our hotel for our future Guests, we work hard to accurately represent our location and the services we offer on our website. I would recommend all future Guests that before booking – regardless which agent you book through - to have a look at it to make sure Mantra is the right place for them. If you decide to book on our website there is an added bonus of receiving complimentary airport transfers both ways.

Mantra is a family friendly hotel where on average 15% of our guests come with their children of various ages. I appreciate that everyone has different expectations on what a family holiday should look like and we do everything we can to provide a good base for a fun and relaxing family holiday.

We understand that traveling with toys is not the most comfortable way to travel and this is why we created a children play room full of toys for the children to play with. Many parents love to use this room and spend time with their kids as this is usually not possible at home because of busy schedules. Of course if parents would like us to supervise their children babysitting service is also available based on advanced notice for a fee.

We also provide push chairs and baby car seats free of charge if requested.
In addition to the children play room our swimming pool is also available for children of all ages. Our in room entertainment system contains a huge variety of movies that families can watch together.

We also have two squash courts that can be used by children of appropriate age. And of course all our colleagues are super friendly with children.

At the reception our colleagues can suggest a huge variety of activates that parents can do with their children on Samui. Boat trips, island tours, football golf, paintball, gokart rides etc. all can be booked through our reception.

I would like to once again thank you for your review and hope that your stay on Samui was enjoyable! Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have given this hotel a 2 star rating based on it being a 5 star resort. However please note that this hotel has the potential to be amazing, but it's definitely not a 5 star resort at the moment, more along 3/4 stars.

I stayed at the hotel over New Years, it cost me c. £700 for 6 nights, which was advertised as being with a 70% off deal. I would have cried if I had paid the full amount. I stayed in the Cozy room as there were 2 of us, and no other rooms cater to having an extra bed option. You can request one, but it's not guaranteed. I was very happy with the size of the suite, it was very spacious and the Cozy rooms are located right next to the pool and restaurant which was great.

As I have mixed reviews about this resort I think it will be easier to put my thoughts down in a list of positives and negatives.

Positives:
- beautiful views from all over the resort looking over Bophut beach. Yes, it's up a steep hill but we knew this as it's mentioned all over the website. I'm not exactly fit and have bad knee's but you can walk around the resort or have the option for the hotel buggies to take you about.
- Breakfast was amazing. Lot's of options from the buffet, and the choice of having any freshly eggs cooked for you, along with bacon etc.
- Cozy room was really spacious. The bathroom was amazingly big. I could easily move in to this room. Great added extra of having free international calls available and a massive selection of films etc to watch.
- Some staff were amazingly friendly and helpful.
- Room service available 24 hours - menu had a varied selection of both Western and Thai dishes to choose from. Reasonable prices for a resort.
- NYE dinner gala event. Staff participated in performances and the food was great. There were also raffles (we won a free meal), and also the option to light lanterns. It was really nice to see staff enjoy themselves on NYE instead of working hard with no play.
- Shuttle bus to Bophut and Chaweng.
- Spa at the hotel. Although a bit pricey for Thailand I had the most amazing massage (signature massage)
- Cute little messages left around room with lollipops and chocs etc was a nice touch. Love all the mantra messages in the room and around the hotel.
- Gym was great (although I only had a quick glance). There's also a squash court somewhere and a child area.
- Free cookery class was great with Oh.
- Loved the swim up bar in the infinity pool - beautiful. Great that they also had happy hour on a daily basis.

Negatives:
- On arrival of our room I noticed that our balcony was broken and falling apart. I pointed this out straight away, and was told that this would be fixed when we went out for dinner that evening, but this never happened. Even after several complaints. Health and safety is clearly not important at this hotel.
- The cozy room day bed was like a piece of stone slab. I have never in my life come across something so uncomfortable and had hardly any sleep for the 6 days I was there for. It took them 4 days to bring me blankets and pillows for the bed!!
- When we tallied up the room service bill when checking out we noticed that they had added on a few surprise items eg a bottle of vodka. They tried to not let me view the bill in the first place so this obviously explained why!! When I confronted them they asked no questions and took the items off.
- Although the room was impressive the furniture was very used and scruffy, with missing drawer handles etc.
- For a 5 star hotel you have to pay for the coffee in your room. Also, if you run out of water provided room service will not bring you any more, after quite a few requests.
- No reception. If you want anything you can only contact reception by phone. I wanted to complain about not having any blankets after several requests but there's no one you can physically talk to about the request.
- TV in bedroom did not work.
- Shuttle bus timings to Bophut were inconvenient. Chaweng timings looked ok.
- They say that wifi is essential (this did not work in our room, I only got connection by the pool). I believe that toilet paper is more of an essential requirement but
once again this is something we only had after calling at least 10 times
- Room service will not collect use plates and cutlery from room at request. I had to sleep in a room smelling of food as we didn't want to leave plates outside because of the wildlife.
- Still waiting for a bath to be run as promised... They say they can change the soaps on a daily basis if requested but this isn't true.
- Daily clean towels were not provided.
- The infinity pool was amazing, but not enough loungers for guests. We only got to use it once it was getting cooler in the day, after 18:00.
- Coffee at breakfast was great, but it took them at least 30-50 to actually make the coffee each morning. No breakfast tea to have instead.
- Food was ok. Do not go for any pasta dishes, it tastes like rubber. The thai food and pizza were amazing. Had to send back 2 steaks at dinner as they were hard as a rock.
- Hard to get some staff's attention - they would just stand around chatting in the restaurant.
- Hot water in room was a bit temparmental. Didn't bother us too much but mean't I couldn't use the bath.

To sum up the negatives out weigh the positives, but I really do feel that this resort has the potential to be amazing, it just needs a few tweaks. I had a fun holiday, albeit tired from no sleep on the rock of a bed. It was stressful that reception and room service had to be called at least 10 times over 3 days to provide basics like toilet paper, towels, water, blankets etc, and I wouldn't even expect a 2 star hotel to be as incompetent as this.

I really do hope that they improve as it could be a great success.

Room Tip: Cozy for anyone wishing to be close to restaurant and pool. Love rooms looked amazing but they only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Natalie,

Thank you for leaving a review and sharing your experience!

I was glad to read that you highlighted many positive aspects of your stay. My colleagues will be super happy to read that you appreciated their performance on NYE.

At the same time I am terribly sorry to read about the “cons list”. I am especially saddened since the majority of the issues could have been solved easily by talking to one of our colleagues.

For us the most important is to make sure that our Guests have a fun and relaxing stay.

Leaving a tripadvisor review is a good way to reflect on a stay. At the same time I think that it is important and perhaps more productive to fix issues - whether they are from misunderstanding or mistakes on our part - during the stay.
After all, the most important is to make the stay special.

This is why we proactively seek feedback during the stay. Every room has a letter from our Manager informing Guests that whom they can turn to if they have any questions they can turn to her. The contact details are displayed and so is my direct email address. In addition all Guests receive a phone call on the day after their arrival to check if everything is according to their expectations.

Our colleagues at the reception are also empowered to make any decisions that solve an issue for our Guests. We believe that instead of having policies, hiring genuinely caring colleagues will result in outcomes that are the best for our Guests – even if the issues are unexpected and are outside of the scope of normal policies.

Whether staying in Mantra - or at another hotel - I really suggest Guests should contact front office with their issues. At Mantra, Customers are the center of our universe and we will make sure to find solutions for the Guest - which is exactly what the Guest who wrote the review was looking for.

I would like to highlight a couple of items mentioned by the Guest:

At Mantra our goal is to provide affordable luxury for our Gets and we would like to be the best value luxury boutique resort on the island. We certainly value the finer things in life and delicious coffee is one of them. We want to provide amazing facilities and a very wide range of complimentary services that matter to the majority of our Guests. We are the only hotel on the island that provides unlimited international phone calls free of charge for example, but the complimentary services list includes, 22 beach shuttles, movie library, PC in every room, wifi, Ipod docking stations, a movie theatre, and a state of the art fitness center complete with squash courts.

At breakfast we serve unlimited fresh illy coffee prepared by baristas. In the room we provide illy espresso capsules. To keep our room rates very competitive we offer the coffee capsules as extra. At the same time Guests can always requests complimentary instant coffee powder.

I am quite surprised to read that we do not have a reception as literally the first thing you find upon entering Mantra is the reception. Between the hours of 7am 11pm we always have 4 colleagues at the reception (and a manager or assistant manager) and during the night we always have a duty manager and a reception supervisor.

I would like to thank you for your foresight at not putting plates with food outside the room as indeed this would attract bugs on an island. As our property is quite spread out and we would like to protect the privacy of our Guests we always ask our Guests to call the restaurant once they finished with their meals so our colleagues can collect the plates. We also give a card informing our Guests about this when we deliver the room-service. Although this event happened over five months ago I will make sure that our colleagues are always mindful of providing this card.

Safety is certainly important for us. The wood on your balcony was damaged by the weather. Our Chief Engineer examined the terrace and while it was aesthetically not perfect it was safe. Changing would have meant disturbing your stay and as we were fully booked he decided to fix it after your departure. I understand that we could have done a better job of communicating this to you and I am terribly sorry for this. We will certainly use this event as a learning experience.

Protecting the environment of Samui is one of our most crucial responsibility. Eliminating unnecessary water usage is one of the most important way a hotel can contribute to the preservation of the ecosystem. In every room we inform our Guests that we change towels and sheets every three days unless they indicate that they would like it to be changed by throwing the towels on the floor – or by the placement of our funky dog. Many people agree with us that luxury does not necessitate waste and changing the towels daily is not important as the cleaning of a set of towel uses approximately 300 liters of water. Of course if Guests request we change them daily or even multiple times a day.

In our COZY suite we have a second bed that – as the reviewer correctly mentioned – is a daybed. If Guest would like to use it as a sleeping bed we are happy to set it up as such and on request can provide duck feather toppers to make it just as soft and luxurious as the bed in the Master Bedroom. I understand how important a good night sleep is and I really wish we knew about this issue during your stay because this would have been easy to solve within 15 minutes. Based on our logs the extra blankets were provided on the day they were requested however I will look into this to make sure that all requests are followed up and we avoid any miscommunication.

Since day one of our operation we have been serving 9 types of luxurious loose leaf tea for breakfast free of charge in unlimited quantities: The flavors are: English Breakfast, Earl Grey, Sencha Green Tea, Jasmin Green Tea, Chamomile, Fresh Peppermint, Herb and Ginger, Lapsang Souchong and Roiboos. These teas are always available and the menu is displayed on every table.
I am sorry you had trouble using the TV.

We have engineers on call 24 hrs a day and if you would have called they would have gladly fixed the TV or would have illustrated how the TVs can be operated. It is indeed a pity you did not let us know as through the TV you could have accessed a huge variety of movies as well as the internet.

Once again I would like to thank you for taking the time and writing a review - your insights will helps us to communicate better in turn enhancing the Mantra experience further.
I would like to urge all future Guests that if they have any issue they should feel free to communicate to us. If we know about an issue we will do everything in our power to fix it or remedy the situation.
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

After 2 days staying in the chaotic Chaweng, i moved to this place to seek for peacefulness and bingo! This place is exactly what i was looking for.
I was assign to WOW room, the bed and balcony directly facing the sea and the view is simply breathtaking. The room was clean and very spacious, free international call, Wifi and internet stay you connected to the outside world.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Necromaniacide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Amazing view, nice rooms, very good service! Not close to the beach and that for someone can be a disadvantage. I rented a car and everything was much easier, especially if you don't stay in Chaweng and you want a night out. The staff was excellent, very helpful and the communication in english was fine. The view from the pool is the best feature of the hotel.
You can find some good offers for this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TasosDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.5 mi away
Baywater Resort Samui
Baywater Resort Samui
#3 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
6.8 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
2.3 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#16 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at Ubuntu Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Splendid Spa'', a yoga studio with Himalayan Salt Bricks - offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open 24 hours a day. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing