We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #23 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Love jacuzzi room... The view was amazing!!
Breakfast was great...
I tried yoga on one occasion and loved it. It was my first time doing yoga and I was challenged, however felt amazing.
Free shuttle was great to get into town for the shops and food... They could be a little more frequent.
I Loved staying in and watching movies...
Free international calls were convenient.
Overall amazing views and a great place to relax!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tannia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,057
    443
    125
    46
    14
See reviews for
234
1,033
43
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Well we decided on the Mantra as we liked the idea of our own balcony with hot tub!!
It didn't disappoint, we arrived and straight away given a drink and a hot towel in reception, we where checked in so quickly that we where in our beautiful room within 10 minutes!

We stayed in one of the love rooms which we found perfect in every way, no issues what so ever apart from a big bug appearing in the shower with me but hey ho its Thailand surely bugs are expected!? The beds and pillows where so comfy, probably one of the best beds I have slept in a long time, the air con was great in the room kept us cool as early May seems to be one of the hottest times to go to Thailand so air con well needed!!
The mini bar was great very well priced we used most days, the only annoying thing for me (being a diet coke addict) was that they wouldn't put that in the mini bar for me to buy as I would have had more (instead went out to buy my own so they lost out as I drink that quite a lot - the staff couldn't understand that I wanted diet cokes in the mini bar so gave up)

Breakfast was AMAZING!! never ever had a bad meal and the tea and coffee was very good!!
We ate in the restaurant a couple of times for dinner and it was lovely, we didn't think it was too badly priced at all, yes cheaper in town but maybe not as nice as the Mantra.

I used the gym most days and was very impressed with that too!

The pool was superb although you could see once it filled up there would just be no where to sit unless you where there early in the morning, which would be far too hot for us to sit in from such an early time, that's why we loved having our own big balcony and jacuzzi no messing for sun loungers as we had two comfy ones on our balcony!

We used room service a couple of times which again was great no complaints, the pizzas where lovely!!

The staff where lovely we had no complaints at all about any of them they where always lovely and friendly and helpful!!

Ok the parts that everyone moans about!

Yes its hilly you are up on the side of a hill, this is stated in EVERY review if you dont want that dont go!!!

The shuttle, yes its free but at very specific times, its cleverly done that between dinner time there are no shuttles I presume the hotel maybe making you hang around to have dinner there which is slightly annoying, so we ended up going out at 5ish most days as we wanted to eat out and only normally having breakfast in the day time by 5 we where hungry!

Now for the most utter annoyance for us, every taxi we tried to get was charging a ridiculous amount of money to get back to the hotel 400 bhats a time from fisherman's or oddly 500 bhats from chaewng if you went out of the free shuttle times, it cost us quite a bit on taxis so if you are the kind that like to be more in the thick of it then don't stay here unless you want to be restricted to times to and from the hotel or the extra cost of the taxis.

We found that the fishermans was dead most nights and really not a lot going on so we went to chaewng most nights to get out and have a few drinks and for dinner, we had some good times there!!

All in all we loved the Mantra just slightly annoyed with the taxi saga, there would be no chance of walking backwards and forwards to the hotel every day in that heat unless you where super super fit.

I would recommend the Mantra all the time.

Oh and also I know I shouldn't but go to Cafe 69 for dinner its on the main road in bophut (get the free shuttle from the hotel and jump off at the fishermans entrance not the main one the one thats hidden) that place has the best food ever and its no1 on trip TripAdvisor for restaurants its amazing!!

Mantra I hope we can come and see you again soon, we miss you and miss Thailand very much!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StAnnes-on-sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Mantra, though a bit far from the beach, has one of the most stunning views of Koh Phangan and the turquoise waters surrounding Koh Samui. The resort itself had all the amenities we could possibly need - the most amazing breakfasts (especially for coffee lovers!), Thai cooking classes, yoga classes, and an amazing infinity pool! The staff at Mantra were very accommodating and helpful with everything we could possibly need, especially Mark! We had a great time at Mantra and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I've stayed there with my partner and we had an amazing stay. When you arrive you get a cocktail and a refreshing towel. The room is amazing. Very spacious and romantic. The view from both the room and the pool/restaurant is breathtaking. The restaurant serves great food and cocktails. As to the breakfast, it was the best we've had during our 3 weeks stay in Asia. The hotel is on the hill so a bit far from beaches. However, free shuttles are organized by the hotel (drop off and pick up). We would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Arrival, we was greeted very welcoming. Dropped off to our room by golf buggy as the walk is way too steep to do it by foot. Went with parents and it appears that they had our room, no matter what we said to reception they could not change the rooms on their spreadsheets!

We unpacked and had trouble with the a/c to which they sent someone out and cleaned the filter, the following day had to get them out again as it was not cold. After a real issue with the engineer telling us it was normal and parents room was freezing, they moved us to another room, reluctantly, we had to pack in record time as we had a shuttle bus booked and only just made it. (As it happens the people that was in the room after us suffered the same issue).

The pool was amazing, food in the restaurant for evening meals was a little expensive but good! Breakfast was good too.

Please be mindful if booking this and you don't like walking up steep hills or being on the back of golf buggys, then this is not for you!
They offer a free shuttle service, strangely enough that from between 5pm there is not a shuttle till 7pm and you have to book your return journey ideally the night before.

The reception staff are helpful, in a forced sort of way! But helpful nether the less. The buggy drivers were great and a real asset to the hotel.

You can rent a car, jeep or a moped here easily enough.

Would I stay here again? No I wouldn't, not that they did anything wrong, but for me the whole thing of not really being able to walk down to reception or the pool easily was a real off putter for us all especially my mother who suffers with her knees.

The reviews that we read before arriving never mentioned the steepness of the hotel complex.

When being dropped off by our airport transfer and he turned up the side road and it led to our hotel I was thinking where the hell is he taking us!

Expected so much, and sorry to admit I was disappointed.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This is the second time back here to Mantra Samui, it is absolutely amazing in every single way. The view is outstanding, every room is just lovely. You cannot walk past any staff member without being greeted, they are all so nice and helpful. The service you cannot fault one bit, you are left with notes each day as well as quotes posted around the place. It is honestly my favourite place in the whole wide world. I cannot speak more highly of it, not one single thing to fault. Great facilities, great people, great view, great room, great food, entertainment. The gym - is amazing! Everything is of high quality, they can't do enough for you. It's great at home/in heaven atmosphere as soon as you get there. Never want to leave. It's simply beautiful and faultless! <3 Looooveee it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We loved this hotel. The location was so relaxing, away from the busy villages. The hotel provided shuttle buses which were needed. The breakfast was AMAZING- so much selection, a great combination of healthy and unhealthy! The dinner options were good too. The staff were so nice. Our room was amazing- we stayed in the love suite. The best bit is definitely the infinity pool with bar! Amazing cocktails and a decent happy hour.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.5 mi away
Baywater Resort Samui
Baywater Resort Samui
#3 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
2.3 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#11 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#17 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at Ubuntu Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Splendid Spa'', a yoga studio with Himalayan Salt Bricks - offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open 24 hours a day. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing