We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #15 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last 5 days of our honeymoon. Perfect end to a fantastic 3 weeks. Great views, amazing food and very attentive staff. Good variety at breakfast time.free shuttle to fishermans village and chaweng beach. Would definitely recommend here!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rosalind T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

What an amazing hotel. Rooms 5 star with amazing views and all luxuries one could ask for. The pool is fantastic with swim up bar and views to die for. The restaurant UBUNTU has amazing food and the staff make the experience. We have already booked to return. Could not fault the whole experience at all. I would not hesitate to reccamend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great hospitality is demonstrated by the team @ Mantra. We arranged an airport pickup and were driven in style up to the resort. Upon arrival we were presented with a welcome drink and a cold towel.

Our waiter in the restaurant arranged for the kitchen to be aware that my partner is celiac and promised gluten free pancakes available for breakfast and gluten free pizzas too. Given there are places you visit in Europe that aren't as well organized with allergies we were pretty impressed.

Main thing to note us that this hotel is set on the side of a mountain, so is not suitable for people with walking difficulties.

There is nothing I can complain about with this resort, my only suggestions for improvement would be:
- Fluffier towels in the bathroom
- More espresso capsules in the room
- More frequent buses to the town
- Greater variety in the breakfast menu
- More mangosteens, as many mangosteens as possible
- Stronger jets in the balcony jacuzzi in the love room

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mimmer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Mantra is a resort with everything that you would want from a holiday in Koh Samui - a spacious room, private jacuzzi bath, unlimited films, free internet, free international calls, an infinity pool and swim up bar and ocean views from everywhere! The staff try hard to make it a fabulous experience and they succeed much of the time.

The spa is amazing - one of the best massages I have had in a long time!

Breakfast is included in most rates and quite extensive with several cooked options.

So why is this place fabulous but not perfect?

- Check in: the impression on the web site is an experience similar to Andaz Hotels. It is not - the staff sit around a table in the centre of a space that is next to the car park and has delivery vans pulling up throughout the day. The guests are made to sit amid the fumes of the car exhausts as the staff take a ridiculously long time conferring among themselves at every step of the check-in process, even when, as in our case, everything was booked and paid for in advance.

- Location: The hotel is high up on a hill that is close to nowhere, There is a shuttle that operates once every few hours, which is ridiculous. The drivers sit around most of the day. An alternative is to walk up and down the driveway, which is actually quite doable if you are fit and takes 15 minutes each way or hire a taxi for 300 Baht each way.

- Dinner is atrociously bad. For a place that serves such good breakfast, you would be surprised at how bad the quality of dinner is!

- Clientele: Through no fault of the hotel, it seems to attract a large number of the kind of clientele who would be described as bogan/chav/redneck in their respective countries. That probably would not impact your stay in any way but might be a consideration if you are planning to socialise and make lifelong friends on this trip.

Room Tip: Love jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank stylish_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

from start to finish myself my wife along with my mother and her friend was treated like royalty, we was picked up in a very nice decked out mini bus by a very polite driver who took us to the hotel. When we arrived we was greater with a cold towel and a very refreshing fruit juice whilst they sorted out the normal paper work as you do when checking in to a hotel.

Our rooms where right next to the pool which was amazing, the rooms where large with separate siting area to bed room, there was free movies, unlimited internet, and free international calls for as long as you want when ever you want, I have travelled a lot in my time and only come across 3 hotels in my life that have this service, showers and large tub to die for......

The views where out of this world, with the sun rising just over the mountains and hitting the pool early in the morning was amazing to wake up to.
All the staff are 100% dedicated to making you feel welcome and cater for your every need, the chefs are brilliant and cater for all dietary needs.... Myself took a shining to MAN & MARK, these guys where brilliant and went over and beyond there working duties.

Myself and my wife Planted a tree by our room which was great, we will definitely be back either next yr or the yr after to see how much it has grown.....

100000% recommend this hotel for not only location but mainly how your treated and the brilliant facilities it has, gym 8/10 (need more aircons) pool 10/10 restaurant and food 10/10.
also made some great friends on this holiday.... thank you guys at Mantra Samui

Room Tip: Rooms next to pool are amazing, but ppl walking by can look in on you, we found that we was a bit on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel (in the Cozy Room) for 3 nights in September 2013, and this is my review of the hotel.

From Samui airport, my wife and I took a cab to the hotel. I think it cost about 400-500 baths for a 20-25 mins ride to the hotel. The hotel is on a hill, and we were very excited to see the view even from the cab window. On our way to Koh Samui we were able to catch an earlier flight and because of this ended up arriving too early to check in (8:30 a.m.). However, they offered to keep our bags, deliver them to room, and take us in to town. We were a little tired from our red eye flight for this, so we asked if there was somewhere for us to stay at the resort and rest. They offered to let us hang out in the game room. The room had comfortable couches, pool tables, and board games to keep us occupied and was air conditioned. So we were able to get a little rest before using their complementary free shuttle into Boput and have lunch. (They also have a free shuttle to Chaweng.)

After lunch we went back to the hotel and checked in. They took us to the room by golf cart (the hill is pretty steep). Our room was near the pool and the restaurant. We entered the room through the balcony, and we were amazed by the view from our room! In the living room, there was a couch facing the window. We were still a little tired from the trip from Tokyo to Samui that day, so it was really nice just sitting on the couch, and looking out at the great view. So nice, in fact, that we fell asleep while enjoying the view.

The room had enough space for more than just the 2 of us. We had a huge living room with a day bed, a master bed room with a king size bed, and an enormous bathroom. It was not like a typical, expensive city hotel type of interior, but we just loved the room we had. The only complaint with the room was the bathtub. It was a little too small, and we did not get enough hot water. In fact, we could only get enough hot water to fill the tub a couple of inches before the water would turn cold, which was extremely disappoint because we really wanted to relax in the beautiful bathtub.

The hotel has an infinity pool adjacent to the bar and restaurant. It was soooo nice to be in the pool, looking at the ocean at dawn. We went to the restaurant for dinner after swimming in the pool. The atmosphere of the restaurant was nice; however, it was just a little pricy but the great view more than made up for it.

The room included breakfast, and the breakfast was probably the best we have ever had at a hotel. You can pick dishes from a menu, as well as enjoy a buffet of various foods and fruits. Of course they had fresh fruit juice and several choices of coffee. We really enjoyed it.

We really enjoyed the stay here and regretted that we stayed here only for 3 nights. It would be great if you can stay there for a week, just relaxing, and enjoying everything this hotel offers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masahisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Mantra is about a 20 minute drive from the airport, and when you initially take the road up to the Hotel you do wonder where you are going, however you soon arrive at this fantastic resort. We were checked in and greeted by friendly and polite staff and escorted to our Wow room at the top of the hill via Buggy. ( yes the resort is on a steep hill, however we only needed the buggy from reception to our room, we could walk around the other areas, ie to the restaurant etc without difficulty, however some people may struggle, but the buggies are always available)
On entering the room, , the first thing that greets you is the view from the balcony, words cannot describe it, we toured a lot of the Island and this resort had the best views of anywhere else on the island.
We had a couple of minor issues ie, the safe was not working in the room, but a quick call to reception and this was resolved. The breakfast and dining area had stunning views, at breakfast their was a good choice and the food was very good, we also ate their in the evenings on a few occasions and found the food and service superb. Obviously it is not possible to walk into bophut from the hotel, however they do run a free shuttle service to and from both, Bophut and Chaweng, this service we used every day, the shuttles were always on time. However this is my only negative comment and the only thing that may prevent me from returning to this resort, the evening shuttles are not as convenient as during the day, and this meant you had to spend a long evening out. Overall a fantastic stay, perfect in every way, apart from the evening shuttle service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boris47England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,526 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
6.0 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,087 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#2 of 185 in Bophut
505 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#11 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £64 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing