We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal honeymoon location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #21 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal honeymoon location”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the Mantra for two weeks in summer 2013 for our honeymoon and it was just wonderful. We had a love room, which offered a fabulous view, private terrace with jacuzzi bath and loungers and a wonderful bed and rainforest shower. Highly recommend this hotel for a romantic holiday. The hotel food is fabulous, with plenty of choice on offer. It's quite high up away from the coast, but regular shuttles from the hotel ensure this is not a problem for those seeking a day on the sand.

If you are considering a romantic stay in Koh Samui, look no further. And a big thank you to all the staff for their warm welcome and helpfulness throughout our stay,

James and Ashley

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorcesterBeachBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    445
    125
    46
    14
See reviews for
238
1,054
44
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

From the start we felt very very welcome. The hotel is very luxurious and beautiful. We booked a family suite (called WOW) which was actually two junior suites together. But the employees really made the difference. So friendly, helping you, bringing you to your room uphill, unbelievable. My son got a little sick and an hour later an employee brought us fresh fruit on behalf of the general manager so my son would be better soon.
Unfortunately we have to leave tomorrow and we find a small goodbye gift on our bed.
The hotel is up in the mountains with a splendid view, that is however the only 'disadvantage' because you cannot walk to the village. However, there are free shuttle busses so you get to the beaches without any problem. We really enjoyed our stay with Mantra Samui!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rutger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The Mantra... My new great love (regarding hotels ;)
I'm not easy to impress but this was really something.

A 5 star hotel - we arrived expecting (and perhaps fearing a bit ) we would arrive at "The Regent Beverly Wilshire" (you know - the hotel from Pretty Woman). We were in for a suprise...
In a place where every acommodation tries to be special
and different from crowd - Mantra brings home the gold!

The road leading up to the hotel is filles with sign with mantras - this hotel takes it's name serioulsy as well as it's motto "Cheeky - With Love". And they do it so bloody well!

But what makes the Mantra so special?? For it really is something special!!

Is it the pool with fantastic sea view? Is it the good Ubuntu Restaurent?
Is the free daily yoga class?
Is it the movie theater?
Is it the Sauna?
Is the great Fitness room with seaview?
Is it the friendly cheerfull relaxed, but still luxurious atmosphere?
Is it the small cars taking you every where on the resort?
Is it the free shuttlebus to the various beaches?
Is it the free phone (domestic and international)?
Is it the HUGE buffet breakfast?
Is it the incredibly friendly and authentic staff (who btw seems to really like their job)
Is it the EXTREME eye for details? ("Intimacy kit", farewell gift, complementary water/tea/coffee etc etc etc.)??
I could go on - the answer is no.

What makes this place so fantastic is the way that they make all these services seems like the most natural thing in the world and how they manage to create such a relaxed atmosphere, but still stand out as a luxurious resort. It's amazing.
I truely love the way they live up to their name and their motto. Lots og little sayings and mantras written on the pavement of the resort.

Now - there's no doubt i was really impressed and I would love to visit again!!

But now the practical stuff. The resort is in Bophut, which is more relaxed than Chaweng and Lamai beach. If seems like to be more for families and "adults". The younger crowd who wants to party seems to prefer Chaweng.
Getting here is easy - from the pier there will be MANY offering you transport - but transport in Samui is expensive compared to Bangkok. You can take a shuttlebus, a taxi or one of the red pickup trucks - the latter will probably be the cheapest. You can also ask the Mantra to arrange transport.

The Mantra is a bit far from the beach and city - but they have a free shuttlebus, which will bring you to Bophut or Chaweng and back.

But what you really should do, is rent a scooter and Explorer the Island of Samui. It's easy to navigate and the Island is too small for you to truely get lost. Take the costal route passing chaweng and Lamai and the was inland and take the Road through the highlands of the islands center who will leaf you to Bophut. It's a fantastic trip with dribling views and few tourists. It take about 30 min to drive across.
If you want to rent the scooter for a
Day - tale two days instead. We really regretted only using one day on scooter.

Mantra is expensive but you can find good deals on the various hotel sites.
But it's worth it - you dont need suits or diamonds to live here. It's laid back.

Now I'll end my praise and let you decide for yourself. Enjoy ;)



Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Aka2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for four nights and I would have loved to have stayed a little longer. As you arrive at the hotel you are greeted by the very friendly staff who are more than happy to help you throughout the whole of your stay. The view from the room was spectacular and the infinity pool was definitely a hit.

Breakfast was served overlooking the sea and the food was of high quality. Staff were very attentive and helpful during the whole stay and offered buggy service 24 hours a day to take you up to your room and down to reception - it was a fun journey.

The only downside was the location as it is very high up and you do need to get a taxi into the local towns. However, the hotel runs a free shuttle bus service very often throughout the day and night which was excellent to take you into. Chaweng and Bo Phut.

I will definitely be recommending this beautiful hotel to friends and family and I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaElise12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I am really struggling to rate this, as many aspects were 5 star plus, others 1-2 star. Let's start with the good:
Amazing views and great rooms (we stayed in the Wow rooms)
Well equipped gym
Great pool - get a space early though as there are not many chairs due to the fact that the sun deck never had any chairs to use, so the sunbathers all congregate here and take up all the space. Put chairs on sun deck so it can be used!
Very friendly staff.
Nice massage treatments
Can hire scooters from resort. Slightly more expensive than the towns at $300B/day but that's still good.
Not so good:
Some days we didn't get fresh towels and tea bags never refilled. No milk in fridge. We resorted to grabbing extra towels from the pool to compensate. Quite expensive so hit a local 7/11 for supplies.
As part of our deal, we had a free dinner voucher which we ended up having to embarressingly debate for 20 minutes with the waiter who made claims that the voucher was misprinted and wrong, until I asked to speak with the manager to sort it out when he apologized. Not good enough, myself and family were embarrassed at the commotion and we had done nothing wrong than use the voucher provided. We didn't bother using our other voucher due to the fuss provided and difficulty in using.
The amazing views are afforded by being on the side of a steep hill. This means tough walks to rooms or calling for the cart to move around. It's very quick, but sometimes you'd like to be able to just walk around, if you have bad knees you will need to use the cart.
Shuttle service is free but could be run so much better, still appreciated it though. Taxis on koh samui are a rip-off. Hire a car or scooter instead if you stay here.
Book tours through reception and it all runs smoothly. Was hard booking on the phone but in person things could be sorted.
Would I stay again.....I don't know. I did enjoy it (dining experience aside)....great views and beautiful grounds, maybe???

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights (3-6th July 2014) and absolutely loved the place. The setting of this hotel is wonderful, fantastic views and total relaxation away from the hustle and bustle. The staff where extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was the Cozy Mantra Superior, well worth the extra cash if you can afford it, really big room with separate bedroom and the bathroom was was pure luxury also. The breakfast was gorgeous with a large selection to choose from. The hotel also run themed nights (e.g. Thai buffet with Thai traditional music/dancers, BBQ etc) which are great for trying different foods, well worth the money for the all you can eat!!..did over indulge a bit though ;-/ The only complaint (which I knew before I booked) is that it is a bit away from the main town but the hotel also offer a shuttle service which you need to book in advance which will take to and from the beach towns nearby. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel particularly if you were looking for relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veraona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent five nights here and we enjoyed it.
Firstly we were picked up at the airport by shuttle bus ( no charge ) and taken to this resort up a hill. Upon arrival I was abit confused if we were at the right resort. The reception area is very unusual, it doesn't look like a reception area for such a lovely resort. Don't get me wrong it's just very layed back. We were ushered to our room by buggy and told we were on the forth floor, which was four floors up. No elevator so we had to climb up and down, up and down all the time which was a bit tiring at times. The communal areas are superb with an infinity pool and excellent restaurant. Which was a bit overpriced in my opinion. The fitness area looked good though we never used this facility or the theatre room. The service was excellent and the room service was great. The room we stayed in was a love room it had a spa on the balcony and a big lounge bed. I would have liked an awning over it because the balcony was not a place to linger when the sun was out. The room itself was a bit on the tired side, it definately needed a paint job and the bathroom area was ok but the actual shower area needed a good going over. The bed had a large base that stuck out away from the bed about two feet around. My husband hit his shins on it a few times and we both found it very hard to get in and out of bed. So I wound of preferred just a normal bed. The down side to this hotel for me was the hilly location. It felt like we were isolated at times, unless you hired a bike or took the shuttle bus which wasent ideally timed for us, you would have to take an overpriced taxi. The actual resort was on a hill which was hard to walk up and down. They did drive you up and down in their buggy but it wasent always handy. And the wifi was non existent. This resort seemed to have a lot of younger couples staying here with the hills and the stairs not being a problem, but for me being a bit older I found it hard going at times. Would I stay here again, probably if the price was right but as far as location I would say no.

Room Tip: Good views get a high room, however be prepared for a four floor hike every time you leave your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairehill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
2,272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 187 in Bophut
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,046 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
1,060 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#15 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at Ubuntu Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Splendid Spa'', a yoga studio with Himalayan Salt Bricks - offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open 24 hours a day. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing