We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #23 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very impressed...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed here for 7 nights in early August. Having booked direct with the resort I had free airport transfers that saved a lot of hassle (and 400 Baht each way). I arrived a few hours before check in but had use of the pool and access to the restaurant while the room was prepared. My room was one of the Wow! suites located at the highest point of the resort and it's worth mentioning here that the place is built on a hill but, fear not, there's plenty of staff driven golf buggies to ferry one about :-)
Back to the room. It was very clean with a small kitchenette and a well appointed bathroom complete with 'rain forest' shower. There's free internet and access to a comprehensive library of movies. There's also an iPod/iPhone docking station. But the biggest plus point is the view from the balcony over Bophut and the Gulf of Thailand with Koh Phangan in the distance.
There is an infinity pool with sun loungers and I know this is an odd thing for a guy to say but have to mention the ultra soft towels provided for use by the pool.
The restaurant, Ubuntu, is located next to the pool and I had breakfast and lunch there; both very good. Though the dinner menu looked excellent, I spent my evenings in Fisherman's Village, Bophut.
The resort provides 20+ free shuttles a day to Mae Nam, Bophut and Chaweng Beach and will either order a taxi or use one of their vehicles if the shuttle timings don't suit (300 Baht). They also hire cars and scooters. Bophut/Fisherman's Viilage is approx 10 minutes by car.
The resort itself is located on a hill, up a twisty road and, because of the heat and humidity, I would not recommend walking either up or down.
The staff are very amenable and friendly and the level of service is excellent.
Overall, I was very impressed with this resort and wouldn't hesitate to return. Potential guests may need to factor in the location but the hilly aspect is easily offset by the views.

Room Tip: Wow! suites have the best views but, from what I could see, all rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markr1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    443
    125
    46
    14
See reviews for
238
1,036
43
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Love Room but were not treated to ocean views regrettably- I would ask for this next time and the fact that we predict a "next time" is a good sign. Our view was of a driveway, a very steep one. Mantra has incredible views because it's on a hill, taxi drivers will try to charge you extra for the remote access. Our room was clean with a jacuzzi on the deck. Horizon pool was amazing. Service at breakfast was friendly and efficient but both the food & beverage execution requires development. Cocktails could be greater improved- we tried many, most were unbalanced and lacked luster. Overall good stay, take advantage of the scheduled free shuttle service to save you on exuberant taxi fares. Free unlimited phone calls worldwide was a unexpected nice touch.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 193CXE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel set in a very secluded location - however hotel provide a great shuttle service into the 3 nearby towns / beaches.
The love jacuzzi rooms were AMAZING! Curtains provided to provide privacy as they are on the balcony so can be over looked. Hotel staff were great -always willing to take you to your room on the golf carts as the hills are steep!!
Breakfast has a great selection - loved the squeeze your own orange juice station!
Highly recommend this hotel! It wax paradise and I would go back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I didn't realise how good this hotel is until I left. Superb gym, all the rooms were all facing the sea and the view was nothing less than spectacular
If you're visiting Samui I couldn't recommend this more.
If I was being niggly the breakfast menu doesn't list everything they offer.
But the infinity pool, 24 hour gym and yoga classes and free shuttle makes up for it. Staff are amazing also!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Knutton19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The resort facilities are not many. It is a little bit old since most of the things are out of order.
First, when we entered the room, the glass door is very difficult to lock because it was torn. The wooden door is not working too. The lock is missing. We are quite worried for the whole night. We requested to change to another room for the following nights. This time is better, but the view is not what I have expected. We stayed in the love room and it claimed that all have seaview. In fact, we couldn't see it from lower level which is blocked by the trees and the houses.
In the restaurant, the staff are lack of smile. They seemed welcome foreigners more than Chinese. They showed their smiles when they see the foreigners. It shouldn't be like that.
The swimming pool is quite small and it doesn't indicate how deep it is. It is quite dangerous for swimmers. All in all, I would choose it again.....

Room Tip: Request higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minahui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here for a week after booking through a secrets web site and was so glad we ended up here. At first it was a little bit of a shock to be taken so far up the hill to the hotel but once we arrived and was checked in by fab guys then we felt very relaxed. Once shown to our room and everything was explained to us we relaxed and began our wonderful week there.
Lots of transport from the hotel to different places and very good service they provided. Also golf buggies to take you around the resort too as it's very steep. It was never a problem at any time of the day or night to call down and arrange some one to pick you up.
The restaurant served the most amazing breakfast too! Staff where first class and Kris made amazing cocktails too, we even tried one of his own creations one night.
Room service was good which we used a couple of times. Plenty of things to do there with a free cooking class too. Good gym, well equipped and good A/c. Pool was ok with comfortable beds and plenty of towels every day. Only one small draw back was kids jumping in the water off the seating area but hey, children just love doing that sort of thing but surprised parents do not stop them!
We had a great time and enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: The WOW rooms had a deck with sun loungers on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DnBzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Amazing Place! My family and I stayed there for 4 nights and wish we could stay more. The view from our rooms (WOW rooms) was a big WOW, the place is well kept, clean with flowers and green everywhere. The pool is amazing, breakfast has everything you need, with first class assortment of breads and pastries. Staff is very helpful in every request. There is an option of renting a car through the hotel, something to consider as a taxi ride from the hotel to Chaweng beach is 500 Baht! The hotel has a few shuttles each day to the popular beaches - free of charge. Keep in mind the hotel is located on a hill - a walk from your room to breakfast or lobby is like a short workout - or you can call one of the many "golf carts" they have. The free ride to/from the airport is another bonus. I'll quote my wife - "We should have stayed there more".

Room Tip: WOW rooms are high on the hill- best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sami N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
4.4 mi away
Baywater Resort Samui
Baywater Resort Samui
#3 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
2.5 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#16 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at Ubuntu Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Splendid Spa'', a yoga studio with Himalayan Salt Bricks - offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open 24 hours a day. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing