We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A++”
Review of Calypso Diving

Calypso Diving
Book In Advance
More Info
US$140.89*
and up
Koh Tao Dive Tour Including 2 Dives for Certified Divers
More Info
US$90.79*
and up
Snorkeling Day Trip to Koh Tao from Koh Samui
More Info
US$103.32*
and up
Day Trip to Ang Thong Marine National Park and Koh Nang Yuan Including...
Ranked #7 of 61 Tours in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Regarding Scuba Diving at Ko Samui Calypso Diving is the meeting place for vacationers, who like to explore the underwater world of Ko Samui (ko Samui Dive) and Ko Tao, since 1988.To go Scuba Diving you can go on a day trip with two or three dives in a changing weekly program whole year around. The scuba dive trips will bring you to the best dive sites like Sail Rock, South West Pinnacle, Chumphon Pinnacle and Ko Tao. The underwater world is abundant and beautiful. Visibility can be up to 30m. The water temperature with average 30 degrees Celsius is perfect. So is the weather with mostly sunshine. Another option to go scuba diving are our overnight trips to Koh Tao. Calypso Diving is the only dive centre at Ko Samui that owns a live aboard boat. On an overnight trip you can do up to seven dives. We offer everything a diver could wish for: night diving, deep diving, wreck diving as well as dives around the beautiful reefs of Ko Tao. We also offer guided, individual snorkelling trips in very small groups. Calypsos snorkelling trips fit to everybody no matter young or old. If you stay at Koh Samui it’s the best to go for a snorkelling trip around Ko Tao. The snorkelling in the clear waters of Ko Tao is extraordinary fun. The tour leads you to different sites which are the best possible sites. The tour guide speaks English and German, gives a detailed introduction into snorkelling, the equipment and teaches a few handy tips.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Cannot find a single fault with the experience today. As a first time diver felt extremely comfortable and am wishing we did this sooner thanks to these guys. Also had some experienced divers with us and they rated it in the same league as I do

Thank MattSissian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calypso-Diving, Diving Instructor at Calypso Diving, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hello Matt,

thank you for your positive feedback. - That's for sure great to hear that you had a nice day with us and that you felt comfortable.

Many thanks for your top "rating"! And who knows - the next time you come with us on the boat we'll go for more and immerse you even deeper into the fascinating underwater world of Thailand.

See you again - Greetings from Ko Samui!

Your Calypso Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

The stuff is energetic and motivated, I had great dives! I would definitely recommend.

2  Thank GiorgiaC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had a very nice daytrip with Dominique and his crew. Everything was very good organised, explained and so on.
I was very happy, the group was not big, and the ecquipment was good.
Dominique explained everything also in Englisch for us, so no communicationproblems at all! I highly recommand this tour!
One small point of criticism, we were at an resort on the westcoast, so we had to pay 200 bath extra. I think for the price i already paid, 2900 bath, its not fair to pay extra.

Thank 3811pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calypso-Diving, Manager at Calypso Diving, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Hello there,

first of all we want to thank you for your positive feedback. Especially I´m happy to hear that you were satisfied with our efforts to explain everything about snorkeling in English. The last thing we want to happen is that somebody feels excluded. So great to hear that we managed to give you a welcomed and cosy feeling on our boat.

According to your "small point of criticism" I can understand your point of view. Our tour is not the cheapest on Ko Samui, but therefore we are offering a high standard of quality, special care, good equipment and a superior standard of catering on the boat. Some 99% of our guests are accommodated in resorts on the eastern and northern beaches of Samui - this fact is also considered in our tour-price. The area where you were spending your holidays is some 30km away from the pier our boat is departing from. Picking you up from there means to organize an extra minivan with a driver who has to drive 60 km extra in total. From our point of view 200 Baht (5 Euro) more is a reasonable surcharge.

Anyhow, I´m very glad that this little fact did neither hold you off from having a nice day with us nor giving us a top rating for our services. Thank you once again for your nice comment.

Whenever you come back to Thailand, we´d love to welcome you back on board.

Sunny greetings from Ko Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Although the guys who run the shop seemed very organized, they did not pick me and my two friends up from our hotel and so we did not dive. They admitted fault in the matter and refunded our deposit but it was still hugely disappointing. The day we had scheduled to dive with them was our only opportunity to dive on our entire trip to Thailand and they ruined it.

"Dive Point" is a shop just down the road, near First Bungalow hotel, and I wish I had signed up with them instead.

5  Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calypso-Diving, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Calypso Diving, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Rob,

I am very sorry about what happened. I am Dominic, the dive instructor who came to your hotel to consult you about the discover scuba diving experience.

I am very sad that you feel like we ruined your last day of your holiday. But I have to disagree about that we forgot to pick you up. Because we didn’t. Mistake on our side was that we gave the driver a wrong room number. But he was there to pick you guys up. There was another customer of Calypso at your hotel at that day who was picked up as well. If you guy just would have told the driver that you booked with Calypso Diving there would have been no problem. Also I gave you a business card. At the back of this business card I wrote the pickup time 07:15 am and the time 07:30 am when you should call Peter in case the minibus would not show up. If you call at that time, we can call the driver and make sure he picks you up. But you called at 08:10 am what was too late as the boat leaves at 08:00 am. Yes we made a mistake with your room number but you had it in your hands to call us in time and you would have had a great day.

We are very sorry about that you stayed behind and believe me I still feel awful. You are obviously very nice guys and I was looking forward to show you the underwater world of Koh Tao. We don’t like to leave anyone behind. Why would we? We didn’t want to spoil your last day, that’s not our business philosophy and is far away from our intention. It would have been much more fun for all of us to take you guys for your first breaths under water. We apologized for the mistake with the room number and we refund all the money. As you called to late that was the only thing we could do.

If you guy should come back to Koh Samui please consider to give us another chance. You will see its worth to forgive a small mistake. I will through in a free DVD (worth 55USD) with an underwater video of you diving.

I hope you accept our apologies.

Thank you

Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Thank Thierry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calypso Diving also viewed

 

Been to Calypso Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing