We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
219
122
27
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
122
27
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai garden private pool main pool bedroom villa minute walk big buddha self catering fantastic accommodation kitchen facilities open air shower koh samui family mart fisherman's village hired scooters choeng mon stayed here for nights quiet location
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We didn't want to be near Chaweng and at no time was I led to believe that Samui Boat Lagoon was anywhere other than where it says it is! We knew there was no restaurant or bar because it says so if you actually read the description of the resort! And the English spoken by the staff was significantly better than my Thai!

Ok, enough of the sarcasm about other people's reviews, this place is lovely. We were in villa 24 and it is true that the pool did not get much sun and was a tad "interesting" to get into, but fine once you're in. On the upside, I burn easily and if you had kids you might have to try to keep them out of a pool in full sun which defeats the object of having it. If you want sun on the pool, ask for a villa on the side nearest the main pool where the geography of the buildings should work better.

The place was very clean and very peaceful. We hired a car for the 10 days which is well worth it even if just to get to the south of the island where peace and almost real Thai life can be found. Fisherman's Village is lovely, a little pricey but cheaper than UK pubs and amazing settings on the beach. The Happy Elephant and Smile were our favourite restaurants there. If you want a proper beach, go to Maenam, it is pretty hard to find the beach from the road but once you do it is quiet, pretty and relaxing.

In short, book the Samui Boat Lagoon, you won't regret it..... unless you like nightclubs.... in which case go to Bournemouth instead

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed for four days at the end of our 2.5 week trip to Thailand. It was nice to have a clean, cool, and comfortable spot to relax. We stayed in a one bed villa near to the beach (no. 35), and the pool had the sun track across it all day, lots of sun if you want to sun bake. The pool is cool, a relief from the heat, and clean. We hopped in and out all day long. The outside living area pavilion is a nice idea, fan cooled which is needed by lunch time. Bathroom is large, clean, but no fly screen on one window so close the door to minimise chance of mozzies in your bedroom. Garden is nice enough, the plants outside our bathroom though we're looking very sad indeed. Yes mattress is firm but that seems to be standard in Thailand, all we came across from north to south, east to west!

Kitchen is adequately equipped and we used it for self catering breakfast and lunch. No restaurant on site as mentioned by others. I think if the place included breakfast at least it would get a better rating by me.
Having said that, a trip on day one to Tesco Lotus a 20 minute drive away is worth it for a good range of provisions. The 7-11 is a 5 minute walk away and has basic supplies, and you can get fresh fruit and veg from local markets near the Big Buddha (a 15-20 minute walk away). Do try the local restaurant Sopa (see separate review), very good.

It is a bit out of the way and if you are brave enough to drive/ride a scooter then you will not feel the isolation too much. The upside is no road noise. We opted for walking to the main ring road and catching share taxis which are frequent and relatively cheap.

The hotel picks up and drops you back to the airport for free which is great. They do a free shuttle at 10 and 11am to a nearby beach at Cheong Mon which we used. That beach was very busy by our Aussie standards. The little beach area provided by the hotel is much quieter.

Staff were helpful and pleasant. Good wifi too.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sueandmikey_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The previous reviews are spot on. Stayed in very nice 1 bed pool villa. Very relaxing, clean. We had a couple of issues with the air con but these were fixed very quickly. Staff are excellent. Resort is out of the way. We hired a motorbike. You need transport. Bangrak is 5 mins away on the bike, Fishermans village another 5 again. Bikes are safe enough if you know what you are doing (just take your time). For the price I recommend this place particularly as you have your own pool. Some of the fixtures and fittings are not top notch, and the bed is very hard (even with the mattress topper that the staff put on for us). Samui Boat lagoon is best summed up as 5 star concept, 3.5 / 4 star execution, but really nice staff and very peaceful place to stay. Place needs a gym though!

Room Tip: Villa 22 had sun all day
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazzaMac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

December2013/Jan 2014-02-20 spent 10 nights here in a 2 bedroom Villa , my sister in-law made the booking . We had to change our arrival departure date by 1 day at either end due to meeting flights back to KL. The reservations staff were wonderful and quick with replies. All fixed without a problem.
We were collected from the airport and whisked back to the resort with an hour of arrival. Check in was a breeze and we (4 of us) were quickly shown to our Villa. Prior to arriving at our villa Samui reservation staff asked if we would prefer 2 double beds rather than the standard 1 double and 2 twins this was done way before we arrived .
You enter the villa through double doors and you walk straight in (6 stairs) to the communal area of the open lounge / dinning and kitchen . To the left is 1 bedroom with ensuite to the right is the 2nd bedroom with ensuite and between the 2 is your own private pool.
Both bedrooms are air-conditioned and the communal area is by Fan. As this is an open area an air conditioner would not work and we found the fan and pool more than enough
The Bathrooms are beautiful – big double showers and lots and lots of room
There is a big screen TV to watch along with a DVD player – they have foxtel/satellite TV if you want to relax – they also have a selection of DVD’s to borrow from reception

There is also a large pool for all guests to enjoy near reception, the addition of a Bar here would go well and perhaps more patrons would use this area . They do not have their own restaurant but you can order room service and they will collect from nearby restaurants and deliver to you. There is the Silver Bullet Bar at the entrance that sells good food as well as a few local restaurants on the street.
A couple of times we cooked our own breakfast as all the cooking gear is supplied.

It is away from the main areas in Koh Samui – this is part of it’s appeal to us, they do have a shuttle bus to the beach twice a day but we just hired scooters and rode them every where. The best beach is not at the resort but just down the road at Cheong Mon.
They can also organise scooter/car hire and trips/tours to ther parts of the island.

All the staff at the resort are very friendly and work at 110% to ensure your stay is a good one
We have recommended this place to friends and will be back for sure

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernandez1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We are a family of 5 with 3 young children (almost 4-year-old and almost 2-year-old twins). As such a family, it can be difficult to find places adapted to young children and I can't recommand Samui Boat Lagoon enough who ticked all the boxes.

- the location: it's located on the end of Bophut beach which is a very quiet beach close to Big Buddha. This beach is not recommended for young children but free shuttles are offered to Choen Mon beach which is perfect for families (there you can find small restaurants).
It's not far as well to Chaweng for a night out and it costs THB400 for a single taxi fare.
Big Buddha is close by and we managed to go and come back by walking, even if you have to pay extra attention with the stroller as roads are not meant for pedestrians (but for us it's still better than having scooters with a 2-year-old without an helmet seating on it).
It's a 10 minute walk to 7-Eleven and Family Mart supermarkets.
Advice if you travel with a toddler: bring your own baby food (baby jar of processed food) or your mixer to cook by yourself as it's almost impossible to find it in Thailand. The only baby food you can find is the baby milk.

-the villa: it was just so perfect for us! Our elder one spent her days jumping in / out the private pool.
The 2 bedwooms get their en-suite bathrooms. Main bedroom is very spacious and 2nd bedroom was big enough to place the twin beds + 2 baby cots.
We were provided with 2 baby cots and high chairs without any extra cost.
The kitchen was fairly equiped but there are several restaurants you can order to and who deliver right to your door. Food is good and not pricey at all.
There is a DVD player and free WiFi for those Mickey Mouse sessions!

-the staff: the staff is very friendly and accomodating.
I requested for 2 baby cots and high chairs by email when I did the booking and I was disappointed when we entered in the villa and none of it was there. But the lady who accompanied us to the villa immediatily asked for it and it was delivered in the following 15 minutes.
The cleaning ladies were so kind in doing the cleaning when we asked them, just after we had finished lunch as they know then the twins have their nap.
The reception is pleased to help you to order food delivery.
We also ask for babysitting and apparently the hotel has a policy to always send 2 ladies. Even if the ladies could not speak very well english, the receptionist on duty came and translated all the information.
That was the feeling we get from the hotel: a very good team who helps each others.

Our overall experience was wonderful and once again I really recommend it for families with young children.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floed07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews