We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!”
Review of Samui Boat Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samui Boat Lagoon
Ranked #5 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

'Wow' was my initial reaction upon arriving at Samui Boat Lagoon!

We had a very warm welcome in the reception area and were shown to our villa which was fantastic! We booked the villa for the end of a tour of the islands in the Gulf and what an excellent choice we made.

The room was great with a huge bed, lots of storage space, an amazing bathroom with a huge outside/inside shower, plush fluffy towels, twin sinks and lots of storage space.

Our 'outdoor living area' was just as inviting with a full sized fridge, kettle, toaster, TV/DVD, hob and of course the fantastic pool!! Each villa also has it's own WiFi.

As well as our own pool the resort had a full sized 25m infinity pool which was great way to cool off, there were also two Jacuzzis. The pool area was never busy, always in sunlight with plenty of loungers and umbrellas for shade, as well as towels for guests to use.

The only downside to this resort is it really is in the middle of nowhere. It is a good 10 minute walk to the 7/11 which can be quite hot. There is only 1 restaurant nearby, at the end of the drive called the Silver Bullet. It isn't actually located in Bophut, it is nearer Choeng Mon. Taxis on the island can be quite expensive but if you ask at reception they can book a car for you which is competitively priced and driven by one of the staff - they will even pick you up either pre arranged or you can phone them. We did this in the evenings on several occasions and found it to be a great way of getting around.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hats13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just back from a 2 week stay here with my wife and 2 boys and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful villas set in nice grounds.
The complex is located approximately half way between Chaweng and Bo Phut, so a nice quiet area away from all the hustle and bustle yet only a 300/400baht taxi journey to the main resorts.
There is a bar/restaurant just outside the main gate (The silver bullet), food here was fine. 7/11 about a 10 minute walk away.
Nearest beach is Choeng Mon about a 5 minute drive away (Boat lagoon offer daily free transfers), we visited all the main beaches on the island and this is by far the best. It has everything you need without being overcrowded.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, always had a big Thai smile and made time to say hello. We would definitely recommend Samui Boat Lagoon and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leisuremonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Booked on my phone while travelling Thailand and already out there. The villa was very nice, although some things didn't work - not able to lock one of the bedroom doors (and my friend got trapped in the room when we did manage to lock it) handyman had to come twice. Shower in one of the rooms didn't work and the plug in the sink didn't keep the water in, little things that should not happen in a nice hotel.

The villas are self catering, and the staff will bring a light a barbecue for you. Staff were a little unhelpful when it came to advice about what to do and where to buy food (receptionist looked confused when I asked where the nearest market or supermarket was which I found strange considering that it is all self catering). Step out of the hotel and there is nothing to do. Lots of wild dogs, and no restaurants. 30 minute walk to the nearest market. Best to take a taxi to the town, chaweng beach, on the east coast (or to book a hotel there in the first place) where there is lots to do (including hot yoga!) and tons of restaurants and GREAT fake handbag shops. Would be fine staying in this area if the hotel was self sufficient and you weren't planning to leave the complex but this is not possible. No spa or restaurant was. Might be ok if you rent a car. The hotel strongly advises against renting mopeds as they are dangerous. Taxi to the town will cost 200-400baht each way (£4-8) depending on your haggling.

Staff English is poor. Was expecting more from it. Beaches nearby were also rubbish and not suitable for swimming or sunbathing, although hotel did offer a free shuttle to another beach it rained while we were there and was only twice a day at 10 and 11 am with return at 2 and 4pm. Koh samui has a reputation for being one of the uglier Thai islands which I agree with, we went to koh tao afterwards which was beautiful, and even that was nothing on koh phi phi (although busy). If you are going to samui, go for a Luxury hotel, not this one.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Liz1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a great place to truly unwind. It is far away from the hustle and bustle of any tourist strips. In fact there is only a handful of restaurants - 4 - and they are a ten minute walk. There is a 7/11 and easy mart 10 minutes walk to buy beverages as the resort is not licensed. Room service was affordable and practical - not 5 star but good. Staff are pleasant. You can take their free transport to go shopping, most shops do not open until 11 and clearance centres at monday. Take a few good books, a deck of cards and some good family or friends for a deserved true break. You are very close to the airport, how ever if you fly air asia you land on the main land from Bangkok then take a bus, a ferry and then a minibus which takes up the whole day . But who is complaining when the fares are 60 Aust Dollars

Room Tip: If you want views ask for a beach villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Bernadette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked before we left Australia so had no real understanding of where in Samui this resort was located. On arrival we felt like we were out in the sticks. Although the villa itself was beautiful with luxurious spacious rooms and a lovely private pool and the staff were very very accommodating, the resort was just to far out for three ladies on a girls trip, It felt a little unsafe while walking up to the main road to get a cab. It was very dark and probably not the place for three girls to be walking alone at night. The resort would be perfect for a honeymoon couple or a group of couples staying there together. We ended up checking out and booking into Synergy Hotel which was right in town, but the service there and the utilities were not a patch on Boat lagoon in my opinion. We ended up giving our room at Boat lagoon to a local to spend the remaining nights that we had paid for, he loved it and was very grateful for the opportunity and we were happy to see the villa used and appreciated. If they could move it closer it would be fantastic, but I suppose for some the distance away from town would be the attraction, and after all its only $5.00 AUD into town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

As titled, I'm still a little unsure about this resort/villa. Yes it was lovely, we had number 20 and it was actually bigger than the photos. The area around the pool had 2 sunbeds and a table and chairs. The seperate sala with the kitchen and tv also had lounge chairs. This was ideal as my husband could watch world cup games early in the morning without disturbing me. Our pool had lots of sunshine during the day and it was perfect for lazing around. We were well aware of the location and enjoyed dinner at Sopa and coffee and croissants from coffee@info on the main road. Unfortunately there were a couple of disappointments, the towels, both bath and pool were stained, worn and past their use by date. Where the photo has lovely aqua pool towels on the sunbed, we had to collect our worn out ones from the main pool. Even replacing them during our stay meant going back ourselves. Why would you have a pool villa and not provide pool towels? The housekeeping staff were very friendly otherwise and the 2 repair issues we had(shower and lighting problems) were dealt with quickly. The reception staff were very hit and miss, the driver who met us (Nam ?) was helpful however most of the females made us feel like we were an interruption. The room guide indictates they can arrange a taxi for you and negotiate the best local rate. What they do is quote a flat rate and use their car and driver, no negotiation which you could at least try with a proper taxi! Also the airport transfer is included in the costing however we couldn't use it as we were going on to Lamai. When we asked about a possible discount towards the Lamai transfer cost we were told they could drop us at the airport instead, I guess it would then be up to us to a taxi to Lamai! I know these aren't really big issues but they did sour our time here a little. I still really loved the pool villa but probably wouldn't make another trip back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pollyozPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We spent seven nights in a one bedroom villa. Number 22

This resort is nothing less than the title of this review

We adored the location. It's away from the noise and hustle of Chewang. But not so far that you can't go there should you desire we didn't.

The villas are gorgeous. All that you need. The pool is perfect for cooling off. If you want to do laps etc there is the communal pool

The staff are lovely. We didn't sleep so well the first night on account of the firmness of the mattress. This was duly rectified immediately

The villas are spacious. We adored the outdoor living area. The bathroom is palatial. A double sized open air shower which is executed superbly

Nothing was too hard for the staff. Day trips were organised with a minimum of fuss taxis were also organised with no gouging present

We caught a cab arranged by them to the Cliff Bar and Grill one night. 1200 baht round trip. Very reasonable by Samui prices

The Fisherman's Village is a ten minute motor bike ride away

There is an array of magnificent restaurants nearby including Namidos Lebanese restaurant and another called Ocean 11.

Plenty of convenience stores a five minute walk away from the resort

A place called The Silver Bullet Bar is near the entrance. This place does all sorts of food and takeaway to boot highly recommended

We stayed at Chewang Noi for the first nine nights of our trip. With hindsight we wouldn't have bothered Admittedly there isn't a magnificent beach on its doorstep. But that's not why you rent a pool villa is it

Thank you to all the staff at Samui Boat Lagoon. We had a magic stay and will be back in a heart beat

The value for money here is unsurpassed. A similar level of accommodation at Chewang would cost approx $350 a night

Give it a try. You will not be disappointed

Having said that. My partner and I are not 18 years old any more. If you are you may be looking for something that Chewang offers
If you want privacy this place ticks all the boxes

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
2.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,606 reviews
11.1 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
1,671 reviews
7.5 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#16 of 104 in Chaweng
1,363 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#2 of 185 in Bophut
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Boat Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Boat Lagoon

Address: 78 / 36 Moo 5 | Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Bophut
Price Range: £89 - £3,470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Boat Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Samui Boat Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Boat Lagoon Hotel Bophut
Samui Boat Lagoon Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing