We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Samui Boat Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samui Boat Lagoon
Ranked #1 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The one-room villa we rented was beautiful. We were advised that one-room villa would be enough for our family with only one child, and an extra bed was added to the bedroom. Although the villa was thought for two persons, they provided also an extra chair for our son. The small pool in the villa is fresh and delicious to take a bath early in the morning. All you see in the pictures of their webpage is true, and the resort looks exactly as we expected.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. You can order food that is brought directly to your room if you do not want to go to some of the restaurants in the island. They provide also BBQ, although in our case, there was not possible to light the charcoal they provided (might be too humid the charcoal or the athmosphere)

Another good thing is that they provide transport from and to the airport and they are helpful in providing car rental and excursions (for a very reasonable price)

Just one complain, the beach in front the resort was not beautiful at all, in fact it was dirty and did not invite to swim in it. May be to clean it should be considered .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maite120570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    104
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
60
191
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

'Wow' was my initial reaction upon arriving at Samui Boat Lagoon!

We had a very warm welcome in the reception area and were shown to our villa which was fantastic! We booked the villa for the end of a tour of the islands in the Gulf and what an excellent choice we made.

The room was great with a huge bed, lots of storage space, an amazing bathroom with a huge outside/inside shower, plush fluffy towels, twin sinks and lots of storage space.

Our 'outdoor living area' was just as inviting with a full sized fridge, kettle, toaster, TV/DVD, hob and of course the fantastic pool!! Each villa also has it's own WiFi.

As well as our own pool the resort had a full sized 25m infinity pool which was great way to cool off, there were also two Jacuzzis. The pool area was never busy, always in sunlight with plenty of loungers and umbrellas for shade, as well as towels for guests to use.

The only downside to this resort is it really is in the middle of nowhere. It is a good 10 minute walk to the 7/11 which can be quite hot. There is only 1 restaurant nearby, at the end of the drive called the Silver Bullet. It isn't actually located in Bophut, it is nearer Choeng Mon. Taxis on the island can be quite expensive but if you ask at reception they can book a car for you which is competitively priced and driven by one of the staff - they will even pick you up either pre arranged or you can phone them. We did this in the evenings on several occasions and found it to be a great way of getting around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hats13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory - Scotland - UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just back from a 2 week stay here with my wife and 2 boys and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful villas set in nice grounds.
The complex is located approximately half way between Chaweng and Bo Phut, so a nice quiet area away from all the hustle and bustle yet only a 300/400baht taxi journey to the main resorts.
There is a bar/restaurant just outside the main gate (The silver bullet), food here was fine. 7/11 about a 10 minute walk away.
Nearest beach is Choeng Mon about a 5 minute drive away (Boat lagoon offer daily free transfers), we visited all the main beaches on the island and this is by far the best. It has everything you need without being overcrowded.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, always had a big Thai smile and made time to say hello. We would definitely recommend Samui Boat Lagoon and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leisuremonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Booked on my phone while travelling Thailand and already out there. The villa was very nice, although some things didn't work - not able to lock one of the bedroom doors (and my friend got trapped in the room when we did manage to lock it) handyman had to come twice. Shower in one of the rooms didn't work and the plug in the sink didn't keep the water in, little things that should not happen in a nice hotel.

The villas are self catering, and the staff will bring a light a barbecue for you. Staff were a little unhelpful when it came to advice about what to do and where to buy food (receptionist looked confused when I asked where the nearest market or supermarket was which I found strange considering that it is all self catering). Step out of the hotel and there is nothing to do. Lots of wild dogs, and no restaurants. 30 minute walk to the nearest market. Best to take a taxi to the town, chaweng beach, on the east coast (or to book a hotel there in the first place) where there is lots to do (including hot yoga!) and tons of restaurants and GREAT fake handbag shops. Would be fine staying in this area if the hotel was self sufficient and you weren't planning to leave the complex but this is not possible. No spa or restaurant was. Might be ok if you rent a car. The hotel strongly advises against renting mopeds as they are dangerous. Taxi to the town will cost 200-400baht each way (£4-8) depending on your haggling.

Staff English is poor. Was expecting more from it. Beaches nearby were also rubbish and not suitable for swimming or sunbathing, although hotel did offer a free shuttle to another beach it rained while we were there and was only twice a day at 10 and 11 am with return at 2 and 4pm. Koh samui has a reputation for being one of the uglier Thai islands which I agree with, we went to koh tao afterwards which was beautiful, and even that was nothing on koh phi phi (although busy). If you are going to samui, go for a Luxury hotel, not this one.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a great place to truly unwind. It is far away from the hustle and bustle of any tourist strips. In fact there is only a handful of restaurants - 4 - and they are a ten minute walk. There is a 7/11 and easy mart 10 minutes walk to buy beverages as the resort is not licensed. Room service was affordable and practical - not 5 star but good. Staff are pleasant. You can take their free transport to go shopping, most shops do not open until 11 and clearance centres at monday. Take a few good books, a deck of cards and some good family or friends for a deserved true break. You are very close to the airport, how ever if you fly air asia you land on the main land from Bangkok then take a bus, a ferry and then a minibus which takes up the whole day . But who is complaining when the fares are 60 Aust Dollars

Room Tip: If you want views ask for a beach villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernadette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked before we left Australia so had no real understanding of where in Samui this resort was located. On arrival we felt like we were out in the sticks. Although the villa itself was beautiful with luxurious spacious rooms and a lovely private pool and the staff were very very accommodating, the resort was just to far out for three ladies on a girls trip, It felt a little unsafe while walking up to the main road to get a cab. It was very dark and probably not the place for three girls to be walking alone at night. The resort would be perfect for a honeymoon couple or a group of couples staying there together. We ended up checking out and booking into Synergy Hotel which was right in town, but the service there and the utilities were not a patch on Boat lagoon in my opinion. We ended up giving our room at Boat lagoon to a local to spend the remaining nights that we had paid for, he loved it and was very grateful for the opportunity and we were happy to see the villa used and appreciated. If they could move it closer it would be fantastic, but I suppose for some the distance away from town would be the attraction, and after all its only $5.00 AUD into town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

As titled, I'm still a little unsure about this resort/villa. Yes it was lovely, we had number 20 and it was actually bigger than the photos. The area around the pool had 2 sunbeds and a table and chairs. The seperate sala with the kitchen and tv also had lounge chairs. This was ideal as my husband could watch world cup games early in the morning without disturbing me. Our pool had lots of sunshine during the day and it was perfect for lazing around. We were well aware of the location and enjoyed dinner at Sopa and coffee and croissants from coffee@info on the main road. Unfortunately there were a couple of disappointments, the towels, both bath and pool were stained, worn and past their use by date. Where the photo has lovely aqua pool towels on the sunbed, we had to collect our worn out ones from the main pool. Even replacing them during our stay meant going back ourselves. Why would you have a pool villa and not provide pool towels? The housekeeping staff were very friendly otherwise and the 2 repair issues we had(shower and lighting problems) were dealt with quickly. The reception staff were very hit and miss, the driver who met us (Nam ?) was helpful however most of the females made us feel like we were an interruption. The room guide indictates they can arrange a taxi for you and negotiate the best local rate. What they do is quote a flat rate and use their car and driver, no negotiation which you could at least try with a proper taxi! Also the airport transfer is included in the costing however we couldn't use it as we were going on to Lamai. When we asked about a possible discount towards the Lamai transfer cost we were told they could drop us at the airport instead, I guess it would then be up to us to a taxi to Lamai! I know these aren't really big issues but they did sour our time here a little. I still really loved the pool villa but probably wouldn't make another trip back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyozPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
3.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
1.0 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Boat Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Boat Lagoon

Property: Samui Boat Lagoon
Address: 78 / 36 Moo 5 | Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Boat Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Boat Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Boat Lagoon Hotel Bophut
Samui Boat Lagoon Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing