We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Corsican 'oasis' next to Samui's posh foodies' minefield Village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Villa Corse - CLOSED

La Villa Corse
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Corsican 'oasis' next to Samui's posh foodies' minefield Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

There are, a few, good, expensive, restaurants inside Fisherman's Village... and there's the Villa Corse just before entering it. Price/quality is 'top', the young (new) owners are friendly, the Thai manager a real 'pro', the staff very attentionate, it's neat and cosy, a welcoming place to be. The Corsican red and rosé wines are great, and cheap. The food? Many people we know go there for the generous pizzas and salads, we love the beef, 'onglet' (not a looker, but the taste!), the 'boeuf bourguignon', the brochettes, etc., just great, and all below €10.-! Spending months on Samui every year, and knowing our (French) food, we just know where to go, simple as that. Thank you Melanie and Jean-Noël, and thank you Jip, please go on doing just what you do, very well!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chriskap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    4
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“New owner but same chef and great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Visited last night, first time for a few months and the owner has changed, however the chef is the same and the food was extremely good, same as ever. We had a bavete steak and pork steak with bacon and mushroom sauce both with fried potatoes. Excellent and service was very good. Couple of beers and 4 glasses of a very nice rose and it was Bht 1240 for two. The TV has disappeared thank god and there is new lighting, nice crisp white table clothes and new cutlery. Menu has been reprinted in a very nice cover and overall been spruced up a bit. There is the ubiquitous pizza on the menu, but why go to a typical French restaurant and have pizza! Recommend a vist.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NoelDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongson bay, koh- Samui ,Thailand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good salads and pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

we eat here on a regular basis ,always good service and smiles
can be slow if they are busy , however the menu is quite good
love their thin crust pizzas and their salad selection is very good
still cant stand all the smokers they let in the place and have no separated areas for this
overall will go back for another salad

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tongson v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very poor dinner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

A few months ago we ate at a beautiful restaurant named "The Rivage" which was amazing!
We came back last week and the name of the restaurant had changed to "la maison Corse" obviously it had changed owner! Everything was fine till we received our main! The 4 of us were disappointed with presentation and taste (We ordered 4 differents mains)! And told the French owners! They didn't care at all!
For the price they asked it's even nicer to eat in the street!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“French bistro on Samui”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Le virage is my Bistro prefere. At first think of ordering a pizza, but once you ask for the owner Michelle (french), you learn that he has french specialities on the menu: like langue de boeuf, boeuf bourginion, fondue of beef and pork, excellent meat dishes. Its a bistro style restaurant with limited choiceof wines, but a pleasant change with all others restaurants on Samui. He also has Thai food if you like. The staff is full Thai,and friendly with children.

Helpful?
Thank FredHaentjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Villa Corse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing