We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotdog & a Beer for 150 Baht” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Billabong Surf Club

Billabong Surf Club
Ranked #60 of 440 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: Bar, Thai, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A lively Australian beach bar and restaurant sat in the heart of the popular Fisherman's Village in Koh Samui. With cold beer and cocktails, an Aussie pub menu, a full Australian and International sports program and great live music, this makes The Billabong Surf Club a must visit pub!
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hotdog & a Beer for 150 Baht”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

As a retiree on the island, I frequent Fishermans Village regularly, especially on Friday nights for the walking street. I just wasn't sure what I wanted to eat until I saw the special at Billabongs. The all beef hot dog served with grilled onions was great, and the atmosphere was very comfortable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham a, General Manager at Billabong Surf Club, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Hi Dan
Many thanks for visiting us and as a retiree on the island you are a VIP guest. I thank you for your great review.

Graham Atkinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    138
    39
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ACT
Level Contributor
395 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Went in for a drink, cocktail was nice but too much ice and not enough drink = lousy value considering the price, too high pricing for Koh Samui. If I wanted Australian pub prices I would have stayed in Australia to drink. No band / live music on the night either even though we were expecting it. Being australian I really don't want to say it, but best off finding somewhere else to drink. Didn't stay for a meal, but will say, we managed a bar stool overlooking the ocean which was nice!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nunngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham a, General Manager at Billabong Surf Club, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hi There

I was disappointed to read that your experience at the Billabong was not as expected. We do have live music three times a week Tuesday , Wednesday and of course Friday to coincide with "Walking Street". You unfortunately struck us on a music lay day. As for the drink if you are still on the island please come in and see me and have two more on the house. We are an Australian Pub and cater for Sport and Music and above would like to think we provide a " Safe Haven" and "Meeting Place for all Aussies.

Graham Atkinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Kennedy, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Cold Beers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We went to the Billabong Pub a few times what a great time we had we watched the rugby league there they also had the AFL on great for the Aussies. The beers were Cold and the fries were Hot so nice. As everyone has mentioned that the view is spectacular the staff are friendly and very efficient. We met Graham a very nice manager it is great that he mingles with the customers and did mention the entertainment at night but we did have too go unfortunately. Also Graham will tell you about the local knowledge around Koh samui which is really helpful thankyou for the great and warm service great job. See you soon

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gerard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham a, General Manager at Billabong Surf Club, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hi Gerard

Thank you for your great review. I do remember you and I am very happy you enjoyed your time with us. My staff and I always strive to make The Billabong a destination for all visitors especially Australians. Many have made our Pub "A Home away from Home" and we enjoy that title. Please come and visit us again when you return to Koh Samui. Remember we also have accommodation with great sea views.
Many Thanks Again
Graham Atkinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bophut, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Live Music Venue and Pub on Samui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Billabong Surf Club is a MUST. Friday and Tuesday nights they feature Mark James, an incredible guitar player and vocalist performing an acoustic set from 9:45 pm until after midnight. Other nights, they feature similarly entertaining acts.
The kitchen continues to impress with the best pub food on Samui - and fare that is a cut above what you'd expect from a pub as well. Ask the General Manager, Graham to recommend a dish or two. Their drink prices are very reasonable, and the view is incredible. Aussie rules Football on the TVs and great people, this is a favorite place for many ex-pats living on Samui. Highly recommended...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SiameseDreamCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham a, General Manager at Billabong Surf Club, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
I would like to thank you for this tremendous review. This was especially gratifying coming from a high end charter business like " Siamese Dream" . Apart from catering for the tourist business we love to have our "island expats" mingle with the short term visitors to this island and exchange ideas and give them some guidance. As you say what better time and place to do this then on a Billabong music night with some of the best musicians on this island.
Thank you once again and I look forward to seeing you again.

Graham Atkinson
General Managert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect to watch any Aussie sport!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were in Koh Samui during the NRL prelim and AFL grand final. This is the only pub we could find that were showing the games. It is a great bar, with decent drink prices and is right on the beach. We only had one burger there but it was awesome.

If your looking for somewhere to watch Aussie sport this is the place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham a, General Manager at Billabong Surf Club, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hi Nicci

Thank you for a great review . We as you saw cater for sports in general and Australian sport is very important especially the finals. I am glad you enjoyed our food, drinks and view. Please pay us a visit again when you are next on the island. We look forward to your return.

Graham Atkinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Billabong Surf Club also viewed

Bophut, Ko Samui
 
Bophut, Ko Samui
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Billabong Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing