We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Back in a heartbeat, felt quite emotional when we...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Right on the beach!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bophut, Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
AndreaPic...
Beckenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Back in a heartbeat, felt quite emotional when we left and had one last look at Villa Charmant”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have highly recommended this villa to everyone we know. We have read the review regarding Dreamers along the beach and to be honest the place didn't even cross our minds. I think in the 8 days, there was one night when it was fairly loud, but only till about midnight. It was hardly a rave, and certainly in no way did it effect our holiday. We actually quite like the chilled out background music they played in the background in evening. The place was "dead " during the day. I would be amazed if it will be still going by Christmas. We had one of the best most relaxing holidays ever. I really don't see where the other guests are coming from about the place next door. They even served us Mojitos by the pool in our villa. We would be back to Villa Charmant in a heartbeat and really can't find fault with the place or location. Again thank you for such a brilliant memorable holiday.

Andrea and family (14th – 22nd August)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The incredible jaw dropping view from master bedroom
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcjlchapm...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome and Epic - our 11 year old's description of the villa and area”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

From the initial enquiry through to the last minute of our stay we can't speak highly enough of Ann, Peter, Piwi and our villa in paradise!
We were picked up from the airport in style, arrived at the villa and met Peter and Piwi. We were immediately blown away by the beauty of this more traditional style villa, but still with all mod cons and beautifully refurbished.
The pool and garden is a haven (the lights at night are great too!), and the access to the deserted beach is something really special. The way the villa is located away from the road, you feel tucked away and insulated in your own world!
The beach is basically a private beach. We were there for 15 days and we never had anyone sitting within 50 metres of the villa, and only 2 or 3 walking past during a whole day. The sea was so incredibly warm and very safe for children.
We ate out nearly every night as the local restaurants were lovely and such amazing value I could not have cooked for less! There are many very good restaurants within two / three minutes walk along the beach in either direction, and a number on the road behind the villa, although we chose to go to the beach restaurants just because we could!! (Secret Garden was a favourite for cocktails and Sunday evening band).
We had the most amazing two boat trips, one on the Naga - boutiqueyachting,com (see Peter / Piwi) to the National Park and then an all day snorkelling trip on a speed boat to Koh Toa with "100 degrees east" - turn left on the road and walk 200 metres.
We are aware of some comments regarding the Dreamers bar (a smart bar with amazing views from the top) which had recently opened nearby. In our 15 nights we only experienced one night where the music was a bit noisy later at night, but the rest of the time it had no impact on us at all and our children were oblivious to anything! In our experience it was insignificant.
We have constantly recommended Villa Charmant to our friends since returning and we would go back in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd P
Oneonta, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise Lost”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We just got back from a 16 day stay at this rental and travel with our two young children age 2 and 5 and 2 other adults with us (for a total of 6). Much of what the previous reviews have said is all true. Overall, we had an amazing time and would highly recommend this place to family and groups. The house is beautiful and in a perfect location. As many reviewers have commented, once you are inside the property, you feel completely away from the hustle and bustle of Koh Samui and are in your own private sanctuary (with the now exception of weekend nights, see below). The property easily fit the 6 of us. The pool was great for our two children with a shallow area for them to play in and when they got tired of the pool, the beach was literally steps away. The beach is shallow for a good bit and not many waves, so again ideal for children. There is a good range of excellent restaurants, bars, and spas in very close walking distance. Piwi the local manager took care of all our needs and was very helpful with any questions we had and Ann was incredibly helpful throughout the entire booking process and check up on us during our stay.

So why the 4 stars instead of 5? Sadly I think we were the first renters to stay at the villa since "Dreamers" was opened. Dreamers is a three story bar/lounge that opened in mid June 2 doors down from the villa. Unfortunately on most nights you can hear techno music from Dreamers in the master bedroom and on the two weekends that we were there the music was so loud that it kept us up and then subsequently woke me up again around 1:30 am as the music (and patron yells) go into the early morning. On one Saturday night is was loud enough that our two daughters in the back bedroom complained, but fortunately we had a white noise machine for them. The music does quiet down from Sunday - Thursday but you can still hear it, just more like background music. Note that our the two adults who were in the downstairs bedroom did not hear any of the music. The opening of "Dreamers" so close to this property is truly sad and is the only thing that detracts from this paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing beautiful house, great for kids
Liked least: Noise from nearby bar
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei C
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dream house on the beach”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I went there with my friends, reserved the villa between 19 and 27 July,

We arrived a day later unfortunately because British Airways decided to shorten our vacation in paradise ((failed plane engine). But when we got there, we enjoyed every single second of it.

As we entered the house, our jaws dropped one after another. It is literally a paradise house on the beach. It can't get any better than this. The pool is fantastic. It is lit at night in multiple switching colours. When we arrived, the club nearby was playing awesome chillout jazzy music and continued it until about 2 AM or so. It made an incredible atmosphere.

We didn't find out how to turn the pool lights on, it seemed to do so automatically. Inside the house you have everything you need, there is nothing missing.

The house is on the beach and the closest thai restaurant is a 50 meter walk. Piwi the house Manager was very helpful and fulfilled all our requests.
She arranged a taxi friend of hers to be available for us every day, and we paid him at the end of the holiday. Very convenient.


When going to the Full Moon Party i was worried for the security of my gadgets but Piwi offered to spend the night there and keep an eye on things.
She also provided VIP tickets to the party island of Koh Phangan which were the best idea ever, because without these we would have been lost in the crowds waiting for the boats for hours on both beaches. The VIP tickets give you speedboats which are very fast and comfortable.

You have a massage place as you exit the house on the left side, Walumet or something - try it, amazing and cheap.

My favourite was in the evening when the light spots in the garden turned on, I was sitting in the chaise longue with a glass of whisky, then jumping in the pool then again in the chaise longue, relaxing, drinking and watching the sea.

The garden also has a gazebo, it was great in the evening to just stay there, have a drink and a chat, and relax hearing the waves.

The area is very quiet, I rarely saw anyone. Only in the last two days when some tourists took the nearby villa, they were pretty noisy.

Cons - can't really think of any serious downsides. The door locks should be improved, as we struggled with some. I'm talking about the glass doors that connect the living room with the pool and garden. All of them should receive new locks.

The glass fence connecting the garden and the beach is flimsy and should be fixed. Also a new lock should be put at the glass door, to secure it a bit better than the current improvised contraption.

We had lukewarm water in the shower, not really cold. It was ok, didn't bother me much. The bathrooms are nice, especially the one below, with the shower in the open.

A lock at the upper bathroom got broken but Piwi was prompt with fixing it.

The internet connection was pretty good, and the signal strong for all my gadgets, even when close to the beach.

A few days into our vacation we were visited by Mr Peter Ryan, who is a very friendly fella.

Proximity to facilities: as you exit the house take left. You have a great restaurant about 300m away, where they show fish in some aquariums. I had the most fantastic shark meals there. The food there is insanely tasty, and when we showed there they were bringing extra waiters in to serve us, plateaus were continuously travelling to and from our table.

There's a massage place nearby, 2 actually but I only tried one.
Currency exchange and 7-eleven market are a short walk away (exit the house, take left). Be warned that in the "Buddha days" the 7-eleven doesn't serve alcohol after midnight.

A bit further down the road is the samui-mermaid restaurant, also extremely cheap and tasty. The thai restaurants continued to amaze me, they eat insanely fresh, and cheap.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: On the beach
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mike058
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Even better than expected”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our second visit to Thailand.
We booked this on the strength of the reviews and it turned out we are the first guests in the renovated villa - we also stayed in the owners' other villa (Lilly in Bang Por) - see separate post.
They are both great places to stay - Villa Lilly is quiet and secluded despite being near the road and great for families while this place is closer to the action in busy Bang Rak. The pool and garden let out onto a sweeping beach which is almost empty this time of year. Good bars and restaurants are close by. I would usually make use of the cooking facilities (brand new Franke gas hob with electric oven) but food here is cheap and good quality and I couldn't do any better with the local produce so we ate out most nights.
The bedrooms are superb especially the master which has a veranda and looks out over the garden and beach. Expect a fight for this if you are sharing and get in first.
The owners are well connected locally and can provide invaluable advice on where to go, what to do and the best places to eat. They also picked us up from the airport which is a short trip (if they are not available the villa Manager - the formidable PiWi will oblige).
I would choose this over a posh hotel any day of the week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien...
Shanghai, China
1 review
“we felt at home, in very comfortable villa”
Reviewed 28 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We felt at home, the minute we came in. The house was very clean and kept that way during whole stay, thanks to Piwi (owner's helper), who cleaned everyday. It wasn't our 1st trip in Thaïland : last year, we stayed in Koh Samui's 2 renowned hotels (POPPIES & BURI RASA) & none can compare with VILLA CHARMANT. As a matter of fact, we even stayed 2 days in SCENT hotel, not far from VILLA CHARMANT, prior entering premises. That SCENT hotel, part of Relais et Chateaux couldn't compare with VILLA CHARMANT neither. Though owners weren't here, we felt we were taking care of in very discreet fashion, Thks. to their helper Piwi, as well as owners replying our E-mails, within 24 hours, anytime we had any request. And we had many requests, being quite demanding french tenants, travelling with 2 young children (2 and 4 years old), plus 4 adults, including 2 elders (64 and 68 years old). We even had weird requests like purchasing new espresso machine, not cheap at all ; owners accepted without any delay. We've also visited other villas, with rents ranging 2 or 3 times VILLA CHARMANT's rent ; none could offer that homey feeling we get entering VILLA CHARMANT. Regarding the villa itself, everything was perfect, great furnishings and furniture, very nice views, air-conditionning working perfectly, etc. I can't find anything that could be missing in that villa. The villa was very safe for young children, what was our 1st concern. Not ONLY we would obviously go VILLA CHARMANT, if going Samui again ; actually, it's for the VILLA CHARMANT we would probably decide going Samui again, compared w/ other places in Thaïland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: furnishings and service
Liked least: the beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$254
/ Night
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing