We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous - except”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samui Emerald Condotel
Ranked #51 of 219 Speciality Lodging in Bophut
Ayr, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous - except”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I spent a full month at Emerald Condos in Jan this year and am full of praise for it. The rooms were well equipped, clean, comfortable, bright and in great condition. The staff were absolutely brilliant, food was excellent and cheap, gym was ideal, location was generally quiet, large load washing machine was a boon and gardens and pool were very well maintained. For the price I paid, it was fantastic value for money.

Yes, there were the odd niggles that the first reviewer mentions - only 6 sunbeds, electricity goes off during every heavy rainstorm (which knocks out the water too!) and the TV channels are pointless. But these are minor and certainly didn't affect the overall impression.

However, the reason that I can only give 4 stars is because of the newest scourge of the holidaymaker - the Russian guests. At one point, I was actually the only non Russian on property. I have always maintained that one shouldn't generalise about a race as there are good and bad at every resort. I mean many of the Brits abroad don't cover themselves in glory! However, the guests all seemed to revert to type with a total lack of consideration for others, screaming kids from dawn till late at night who were never reprimanded, chain smokers which meant my room stank if I opened the sliding doors, very late night parties with the obligatory shouting matches and of course the constant miserable faces.

I know it's unfair making a judgement based on something the property has no control over but they did have a negative impact on my stay. A friend also stayed there in Feb and reported the exact same experience so I know it's not a one off situation. Such a pity!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juanking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    12
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
18
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This excellent accommodation for the people, who would like to cook food by themselves, as every room has kitchen

The place is located near the good beaches. It has swimming pool with very nice stuff there, that speaks English very good. This place is full of Russian guests, so you should be prepared for that. Everything is new and in excellent conditions. I was thinking that i am staying in 4 star hotel for the price of good 2 star place.

I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There is several rooms on the Ground floor. You can access swimming pool from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kvaksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

My friend and I had been travelling for 5 months and this was by far the most luxurious accommodation we stayed in! For a wonderful price, we stayed in a clean, large studio apartment that looked brand new! The food was great, the pool was warm and it is a great location to get to the main attractions (by tuc-tuc).

There was a power-cut that affected the whole island when we were staying and Emerald offered us one night free of charge before they got their generator working. I was very ill on one night and the on sight nurses were incredibly helpful in looking after me and getting me to the local hospital swiftly. The staff then returned with food to see how I was and gave my friend car lifts back and forth to the hotel when she needed to.

It was an incredibly personal service that we received and we felt like we made many friends amongst the staff who were always polite and attentive. It is a very quiet, secluded resort which we would highly recommend if you are looking for a relaxing break away. Do visit the street 'Fisherman's village' for dinner along the beach if you get the chance!

Sarah

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Surat Thani, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Great place for short-term and long-term accommodation on Koh Samui. Thoughtful, new, modern condo with wonderful staff. Delicious cuisine, a gym and a swimming pool. I highly recommend this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SergeyPimenov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

No doubt one of the best apartment complex's on Koh Samui.
Nice quiet location, but within easy reach of samui's best beaches.
Wonderful staff for whom nothing is a problem.
The complex itself is brand new, the apartments are spacious and fully equiped.
A fully equiped air conditioned gym over looking the pool area.
The pool and resturant area is really nice and excellent food is served for most of the day.
There's also a nice mixture of guests from all over the globe, some long term stayers along with couples or familes staying for 3 - 12 months or others just there for a few days. everyone we met was really friendly.
We definately recommend this winderful place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billericay, uk
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Lovely, quiet condominium resort in which the apartments have been finished to a high specification. Staff are extremely friendly, informal and helpful. If you want to relax away from the hustle and bustle then this is for you. Enjoy it before it becomes popular. Hire car or bike recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.0 mi away
Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Absolute Bangla Suites
Absolute Bangla Suites
#82 of 322 in Patong
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#45 of 186 in Bophut
1,539 reviews
0.0 mi away
B1 Organic Suites
B1 Organic Suites
#176 of 186 in Bophut
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
The White Cottage
The White Cottage
#4 of 219 in Bophut
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Emerald Condotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Emerald Condotel

Property: Samui Emerald Condotel
Address: 69/56-100 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 219 Speciality Lodging in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samui Emerald Condotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Emerald Condotel is located in Bo Phut, just 5 minutes’ drive from Samui Airport. Offering modern, well-appointed studios, it features an outdoor pool, a fitness centre, and free Wi-Fi.The air-conditioned studios have a large seating area with a flat-screen TV. Each studio has a safety deposit box, a microwave, and tea/coffee making facilities. The en suite bathroom offers a hairdryer and shower.5-minute drive from the Big Buddha, and a 10-minute drive from Fisherman Village.Facilities include a 24-hour front desk and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Emerald Condotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Emerald Condotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing