We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and run down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
PGS Hotel Sandy Resort
Ranked #45 of 157 Bophut B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The nicest thing about this place is the reception area. Everything else is old and run down. The staff in the restaurant were nice and helpfull but the food was overpriced and terrible.
Wouldnt reccomend this place to anyone.
When I came to Samui the first place I stayed at picked me up at the airport for 200 bath.
Here I have to pay 400 bath for the same taxi ride back to the airport.
Will not be leaving any tips for sure. Will be using tip money for my overpriced taxi ride.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mollercph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived yesterday, 14th September, the welcome was lovely and friendly. The room, although dated (as other reviewers have commented) has enough room and facilities for our needs. However the major let down in room 302 is the air- conditioning it is not doing its' job. When we spoke to reception they were very helpful and the engineer visited almost immediately - on the second visit he washed out the filters and connected two cannisters to the external condenser?- this still has not improved the situation. The room has 'cooled' to 26-ish On an evening, outside, it is cooler outside than in. In fact it was too hot to even contemplate using the hairdryer! Upon going out to dinner we again reported the less than effective air-con and upon our return we were told engineer had attended. In fact I noticed lights on in our room - because all that appears to have happened is that, someone has left a card in the room sensor, allowing the ineffective air-con to continue to operate whilst we are out. I do not doubt the staff are doing their very best, and indeed they are very helpful and service is good - but - aircon is a paid for necessity and as of yet has not really been supplied. Hopefully a meeting with the manager tomorrow will yield some form of acceptable resolution.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otw_dive_team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

From very efficient check in to great customer service i would recommend this hotel . Rooms are dated but this staff make up for this in the service they provide . Had a small problem with a fridge and both the housekeeper and olga (sorry i dont know her title) addressed this issue promptly. Breakfast was excellent, wifi in room a bit patchy but good on the balcony. . Only problem and this has nothing to do with hotel is the seabed on bophut is not as nice as other beaches. Fishermans village is a good walk away but plenty of songthews on main road , big c tescos and chewang beach in one direction and maenam beach in other . I enjoyed my stay at sandy resort and would have no hesitation to recommend it .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blondeswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The resort is located at the end of Boput beach, a quiet area and nice clean beach. The resort has 1- 3 bedroom bungalows in well kept gardens and plenty of shade trees. Most of the bungalows are away from the main road making them quiet at night. Our bungalow was very clean and comfortable with a nice hot shower. The beds are very comfortable with nice linen and cleaned daily. Just a stroll away was the hotel restaurant right next to the beach and swimming pool. A fantastic buffet breakfast served daily with fresh fruits, eggs, omelettes and other hot dishes as well, and was complementary.
The resort is about a 20 minute walk to Fisherman's Village where all the action is in Boput Beach. Especially on Friday nights when the whole area becomes a large night market. All kinds of foods, entertainment, shopping etc. try the lady with the stall making fresh Mango salads, mmmm! And the Mojito bar making hundreds of drinks like you would get in Cuba.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow in the middle of the gardens, and be prepared to be woken by the birds singing outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bucky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We went there during low season in October as a family of four. The resort has only one bungalow which has two rooms with interconnecting door, so you need to make a booking in advance if you are a family with kids.The resort is right by the beach and has a to-die-for restaurant location. Offers a wide variety of dishes from the local and western cuisine. As everywhere in Koh Samui, western dishes are more expensive than the local ones. But when in Rome...So stick with the local dishes. They have a mean lime-shake in the restaurant, you should try it.
The pool is big enough, and the pool and all the rest of the facilities are very clean. The little fresh flower decorations in the public toilets are very cute. The decorations in the rooms are simple but functional. You can move the beds any way you like in case you have kids and you need to move the beds next to the wall so the kids don't fall. In general the place is safe for kids, but be careful with the steps that lead down to the beach from the pool area. No facilities for kids, and it is to be expected from a small resort the size of Sandy.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. The beach in front of the resort is not very wide. However since we went there during low season, chaise-lounges were empty most of the time. High-season might be different story.
The resort entrance is right by the main road that circles the island. There are a few restaurants close-by, but our favorite was certainly Fisher King which is owned by a Dutch gentleman and his Thai wife. Although everything we tried was good, try shark. If you never tried it before, you are in for a surprise.
The resort itself is only 5-10 mins away from the big shopping malls, wet market, and the fisherman's village restaurants. There are two convenience stores only walking distance from the main entrance.
The island offers many attractions from elephant rides to waterfalls whose details can be found at the resort's reception. If you are ok for right handed driving as in UK, and the countless motorbikes do not bother you, rent a car for sight seeing, it will find it quite rewarding. It is impossible to get lost, and once you are away from the city centre, the traffic thins out.
All in all, we had great time in Koh Samui and the Sandy Resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CityContract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We booked our three first nights in Koh Samui here after reading good reviews. It is a good place to stay so we prolonged our stay one night before moving on to Mae Nam (The Hammock) and Koh Phangan (Fanta Resort). I would recommend the superior bungalows, it is worth the small price difference. The breakfast buffet is really good and one extra bonus was free afternoon coffee with cookies at 16.00. Appreciated. The massage pavillon is just above the beach and you can afford getting a massage everyday. Highly recommended! The fresh fruit shakes like coconut, mango, pinapple from the bar are very refreshing as everywhere in Koh Samui! The staff were all very friendly. You can walk in to Fisherman Village where there are lots of restaurants and shops, although it takes about half an hour.

Room Tip: Superior bungalows are closer to the beach large and comfortable. The standard bungalows are closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed just 2 nights and didn't want to leave!! The bungalow was quite basic but supplied with robes, slippers, hair-drier, toiletries, water in the fridge, air-con, comfy beds, hot water...what more could you want!! Breakfast was amazing, as was afternoon tea/coffee & biscuits at 4pm (foc). location, grounds, staff all excellent and a good stroll along the beach to Fishermans Village for some late shopping, restaurants,pubs, street food etc. We ate in The lodge, overlooking the beach which was excellent and so cheap.

Room Tip: Our bungalow was the cheapest and furthest from the beach but it was no problem, a pleasant walk thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherbella-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.2 mi away
Free House Bungalow
Free House Bungalow
#118 of 185 in Bophut
159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#56 of 185 in Bophut
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lawana Resort
Lawana Resort
#77 of 185 in Bophut
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Enjoy Beach Hotel
Enjoy Beach Hotel
#6 of 157 in Bophut
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden Beach Bungalows
Eden Beach Bungalows
#6 of 227 in Bophut
238 reviews
13.6 mi away
Seaview Rainbow
Seaview Rainbow
#42 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PGS Hotel Sandy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PGS Hotel Sandy Resort

Address: 177/1 Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your PGS Hotel Sandy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
PGS Hotel Sandy Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing