We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous and Peaceful”
Review of Peace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peace Resort
Ranked #35 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Had booked into another resort for 10 days and moved here after spending a day exploring other options. Thanks to Birgit for facilitating our move :) Lovely little cottages set in beautiful gardens. Best lattes in Koh Samui!! Beach is not as lovely as Chaweng, but still beautiful. Short walk along the beach to Fishermans Village and a 300 baht taxi ride to centre of Chaweng. Perfect!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlbcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2010

The Beach villa that i rented at this resort was exellent. In the morning it was only 5 meters to the sea. The staff did everything to make the stay a plesent one.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrRaptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Nice garden room which was its only little bungalow. Quiet location and room was basic but had all required and was cleaned daily.

Great pool but beach is not fantastic. Hotel breakfast was great but beer and day time food quite expensive - would advise to eat elsewhere like Fisherman village around 15 mins away.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duckyinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

I went to Koh Samui in June with my boyfriend and had a fabulous time.We were worried about a couple of things before we traveled which included the weather (being the rainy season) and catering for me, I have Coeliac Disease - a gluten allergy.

We had a great welcome as we were upgraded a room, for no extra charge. The restaurant manager had already been warned about my allergy and he was fully prepared for my stay. He privately spoke to me every night about things I could and couldn't eat. I was very happy with the room, yes it got a bit hot, but that was not the hotels fault, thats just Thailand. But they had a great air con system that dealt with that problem when you went to sleep.

The Hotel is in my opinion is in a much better position that the main Chaweng resort. You have a bit of everything with this hotel, peace, activities and access to anywhere and the Fishermans village is lovely to go out for a meal. I would not recommend Chaweng beach to stay because when we went to visit it absolutely stank in the streets and it was very very dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful time at peace resort, the staff was extremly friendly and helpful, our room was very quiet, clean and nicely decortated (the only negative aspect was the outside bathtub on the terrace that didn't work properly:-( Breakfast buffet at the beach front was great and offered a daily changing variety. The resort is situated in a quiet area of bophut beach, in a tropical garden. It has a nice pool and beachfront, we would definitely come back again! I can also recommend the spa facilities in peace tropical garden!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_PVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Peace Resort – Bophut (Koh Samui)

Hopefully you’ll find this useful for your visit.

Like everywhere else in Thailand, the people (staff) were very courteous and helpful.

We had a Garden Deluxe Villa (like much of the accomodation - a detached villa). A good size room (huge bed), with roomy bathroom (shower over bath, no need for shower curtain as bathroom had an open air wet room design to it, although not actually open air). Limited hanging space and only one draw for clothing, but a couple of chairs and a stool to drape things over. Air conditioning. Wide screen TV with many English speaking channels. Tea and coffee and bottled water provided each day. Plenty of room in mini bar (fridge) to add own drinks. Rooms kept very clean, with change of sheets every day if you required.
My wife had her birthday whilst we were there and a birthday cake had been left in our room when we returned later in the afternoon. Nice touch!

Other guests were predominately German and in general in the 50+ age bracket. It did mean there was a lot of sun bed saving, you have to join in if you want a choice of beds, but there was never a point where there were no spare beds during the day.

Good selection at breakfast (eggs – how requested, bacon, pancakes, toast, fruit, cold meats, cereal...etc etc...including a few noodle/rice based dishes. Tempura prawns one day!)

Excellent pool, so long as you like it warm. It was like getting in a bath. Jacuzzi pool also.
Took full advantage of massages available at the side of the pool (also other placed overlooking beach). £5/hour for Thai massage (soft (reeraks), medium or hard). Also took advantage of a foot scrub, never had such baby soft feet (well not since being a baby that is).

Fishermans Village – Walked there every night for dinner. Either via beach (well lit), up the steps after Full Moon (Italian restaurant on the beach), or along road (turn down side road just before the Family Mart – about 400m left out of the hotel drive). It’s a 10 minute walk tops either way. Didn’t have a bad meal all week. Karma Sutra (quirky bar with excellent Thai food, ate there twice) would recommend Chicken in sesame seeds. Samui Spice , very good 4 course set menu. Shades, tables on the beach, great Thai food (had a fantastic pizza here to, having decided that it’s possible to have too much of a good thing Thai food wise!). At all of these we never spent more than £20 for the two of us, including beer, cocktail and tip. Great value. Splashed out on birthday night at The Shack. Good steaks, but easily twice the price of any other meal that week. Lots of speciality seafood restaurants, but neither of us are big seafood fans so cannot really comment...other than they looked very good.

Chaweng Beach – Took one of the red pick-up truck taxis (100b each, each way – about £4 return). Ate at The Tree, again very good Thai food at great prices. For the real Thai experience Ninja – a long way down Chaweng Beach road on the lake side of the street. Very busy, very very cheap. Dearest thing on the menu was about £2.50! Glad we went for a look round Chaweng, but very glad we were stopping in Bophut.

This is a great hotel if you're wanting a nice peaceful break. The bird song is as loud as it gets here. If you do need something a little livlier then Chaweng is only a 10 minute ride away.

Loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_Lol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Just returned from 12 nights at the Peace Resort.
We arrive at 10 am and were shown straight to our room which we did not expect. We had booked a deluxe garden villa. It was right at the back of the property next to a service area. Very quiet but not the greatest view. The room was spacious and nicely furnished and when I raised a concern about the gaps between the windows and mosquitos- these were quickly blocked up. The bathroom was nice- felt like you were outside but were actually enclosed- the shower was a little strange but we got used to it. My only gripe would be the lack of storage space- a case of style over substance I think but we managed.

As it turned out we didnt stay in this room. On our 3rd night we had no water- I think this was the whole resort and the next night our water was a nasty brown colour. We noticed this at about 9.30pm and within an hour we were settling into our nice new room- a sea breeze villa which was a good upgrade. The staff were excellent and helped us move. The night manager was really professional and turned a potential complaint into an opportunity to impress. We were impressed and no fuss was needed. The new room was lovely- large with a great bathroom. The beds in both rooms were very comfy and were changed daily with nice bedding. The housekeeping was really good.

The beach as has been said is coarse and the sea cloudy. Sometimes there were some bits of seaweed when it was windy. The worst aspect of this resort is the sunbeds. There is not enough which leads to saving and getting up at silly times to get the towels down. The beach boy told me some were up at 5am!!!! By 10am you would not have anywhere to sit. So we just had to join in but I resented this. But the fact was if you did get up and 'save your bed' you had a nice chilled out day so we adjusted. The area in front of the hotel is kept clear for the restaurant at night which spills out onto the sand- such a shame because this is the sunniest area too. As the restaurant was rarely full at night this really cheated the paying guests.

The pool was over crowded with sun beds and not huge. We swam there but it was all a bit up close and personal to sit there.

Breakfast was fine and we were always seated quickly and kept topped up with coffee. There was an egg station and continental selection.

The restaurant was expensive and they appeared to be trying all sorts of theme nights but at aprox 900bht for a buffet it was a real non starter. The setting is lovely but there were similar settings along the beach cheaper. We also found the choice of music quite funny- heavy metal one night. We only ate lunch ther one day and that cost £30 so didnt happen again-it was good though.

At lunchtime we either turned left down the beach to one of the restaurants/bars or had sweetcorn and mango from the man who came daily. We really enjoyed all the sellers who pottered up and down- they were not a nuisance once you said no. The best restaurant we ate in was actually left along the beach- The free house- really good Thai food-really cheap. Dinner there with drinks was aproximately £20 at night and it was a lovely setting on beach. The staff were great. The Cactus was also great. Next door to the hotel was a bar with a little shop where you could get drinks etc for the beach,We often had a drink here also.

We loved the massage sala in front of the beach in the hotel. They have a board to fill in what time you want- this was 300-400bht and so nice and relaxing to hear the sea. Didnt seem much point in going to the spa when this was here. The older ladies in particular were very skilled.

In the Fishermans Village(turn right down the beach and go up before the bar with the lit up bar stools), we liked Samui Spice and The Shack(ask reception to book as gets very busy) .We tried the Tiny Grill and had to return the food- dont even want to think about it. Lots of shops and stalls and many restaurants and bars. We loved the way they use the beach here at night.

We went by taxi to see The Big Buddha and enjoyed the stalls and restaurants there after- much cheaper here for sarongs etc. We booked the Angthong Marine park trip and Snorkelling tip with the booking agent outside the hotel (turn right out of the hotel). It was a little cramped on the speedboat but was a good value trip. We also did the snorkelling trip to Koh Nangyaun and Koh Tao. The first stop was a resort and -the Koh Nangyan Beach resort which had access to the Japanese Gradens dive site- this was amazing and we would have liked to have stayed there really. The second stop was too choppy and the visbility not so good. The trips worked out at about £37 each which was not bad.

All in all we loved this holiday and would go again. The staff were exceptional and BoPhut is a great resort.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.2 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#20 of 185 in Bophut
996 reviews
6.9 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
0.2 mi away
Bandara Resort & Spa
Bandara Resort & Spa
#25 of 185 in Bophut
1,789 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#3 of 185 in Bophut
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Resort

Address: 178 Moo 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#26 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £49 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Bophut beach in the northeast of the island, the Peace Resort is a newly refurbished, friendly bungalow style resort, ideal for a relaxing family getaway. The style is best described as contemporary Thai with the architecture following local traditions, but a transformation in 2008 has given a more up-scale look and feel while the prices have remained very reasonable. The resort is well laid out in small buildings, ensuring a more intimate, human scale, while the grounds are tranquil and green, with a restaurant that spills out onto the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Peace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Resort Koh Samui
Peace Hotel Koh Samui
Peace Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing