We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and very relaxing”
Review of Peace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peace Resort
Ranked #36 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Just returned from 10 nights at the Peace Resort on Samui. Flew from Heathrow with EVA and connection with Bangkok airways. Flight out all good. Cheap upgrade to premium at £450 for both of us so I would recomend.

Arrived at the hotel at around 6pm and check in was really easy and swift. Shown to our Garden Villa. Again upgraded from the Superior to delux for only £166 which meant we were nearer the pool and beach. To be honest that was all that seemed to be the difference. I jnow when booking the Beach Villas were nearly £1k extra. From what we saw of them this isnt worth it.

The room was spotlessly clean, good air con, mini bar all the usuals you would expect. Couple of gripes for the room but nothing major, take extra hangers only 5 in the hanging area. Storage space is virtually non exsistant. Its just an alcove with a curtain across. only 1 small draw thats it. But lets be honest not a show stopper. Bathroom good size with a selection on toiletries incase you forgot any.

Pool cleaned everyday and plenty of beds both on beach and round pool, although they are rammed in tight. Would imagine its like sardines if the resort is full.

Massage Sala next to the pool and on the beach where the ladies will pamper you for as little as 300baht. much cheaper than the spa over the road.

Breakfast was ok if a little same day in day out. but plenty to eat you wont go hungry. The usual juice, coffee, friut,. cold meat and cheese. Egg station, bacon etc etc you know the drill.
We ate in the restaurant once in the afternoon and once on the first evening when we arrived. The food is good and tasty, good service but as you would expect an little pricey. The same plate of noodles less that half price down the beach or in the fishermans villiage. But on the first night when your not sure where you are and its late its ok and good food.

Every other lunch time we walked the 100 metres down the beach to the left and ate at the Free House. Noodles and beef 100baht, fish and noodles 120 baht, plenty to chose from and cheap. Lunch with Beer and Soda never more than 500baht and loads of it.

Fishermans village is again only about 400 metres to the right down the beach but be warned we only did it once, my feet were in pieces. The biggest gripe about this place is the beach. the sand is like glass its really really hard and sharp on your feel. not nice at all. Its as easy on the road, as people have said turn left out of the hotel past Anantara and take the side street on your left after the Full Moon restuarant sign. follow round the back of the hotel and you will come out on the main path to Fishermans Village. Its 10 mins walk no more.

Food in the village is plentyful and pay a visit on Friday nights for the street hawkers take over.
Recommendations from us would be.... Karma Sutra for pre dinner drinks and free wifi. We ate there once and was ok but we tended to have a couple of beers catch up on emails then walk for dinner.
Samui Spice was good too. Happy Elephant had good lobster. If you want a cracking steak The Shack is the place. a little expensive but worth it.

A great holiday and place to relax. Shame we lost our bags for 3 days on the way home. Samui is a lovely place to chill out and the people are so happy. Love it

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mad_Man_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,580)
There are newer reviews for Peace Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,096 - 1,102 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2010

Had booked into another resort for 10 days and moved here after spending a day exploring other options. Thanks to Birgit for facilitating our move :) Lovely little cottages set in beautiful gardens. Best lattes in Koh Samui!! Beach is not as lovely as Chaweng, but still beautiful. Short walk along the beach to Fishermans Village and a 300 baht taxi ride to centre of Chaweng. Perfect!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlbcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

The Beach villa that i rented at this resort was exellent. In the morning it was only 5 meters to the sea. The staff did everything to make the stay a plesent one.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrRaptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Nice garden room which was its only little bungalow. Quiet location and room was basic but had all required and was cleaned daily.

Great pool but beach is not fantastic. Hotel breakfast was great but beer and day time food quite expensive - would advise to eat elsewhere like Fisherman village around 15 mins away.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duckyinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

I went to Koh Samui in June with my boyfriend and had a fabulous time.We were worried about a couple of things before we traveled which included the weather (being the rainy season) and catering for me, I have Coeliac Disease - a gluten allergy.

We had a great welcome as we were upgraded a room, for no extra charge. The restaurant manager had already been warned about my allergy and he was fully prepared for my stay. He privately spoke to me every night about things I could and couldn't eat. I was very happy with the room, yes it got a bit hot, but that was not the hotels fault, thats just Thailand. But they had a great air con system that dealt with that problem when you went to sleep.

The Hotel is in my opinion is in a much better position that the main Chaweng resort. You have a bit of everything with this hotel, peace, activities and access to anywhere and the Fishermans village is lovely to go out for a meal. I would not recommend Chaweng beach to stay because when we went to visit it absolutely stank in the streets and it was very very dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful time at peace resort, the staff was extremly friendly and helpful, our room was very quiet, clean and nicely decortated (the only negative aspect was the outside bathtub on the terrace that didn't work properly:-( Breakfast buffet at the beach front was great and offered a daily changing variety. The resort is situated in a quiet area of bophut beach, in a tropical garden. It has a nice pool and beachfront, we would definitely come back again! I can also recommend the spa facilities in peace tropical garden!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_PVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Peace Resort – Bophut (Koh Samui)

Hopefully you’ll find this useful for your visit.

Like everywhere else in Thailand, the people (staff) were very courteous and helpful.

We had a Garden Deluxe Villa (like much of the accomodation - a detached villa). A good size room (huge bed), with roomy bathroom (shower over bath, no need for shower curtain as bathroom had an open air wet room design to it, although not actually open air). Limited hanging space and only one draw for clothing, but a couple of chairs and a stool to drape things over. Air conditioning. Wide screen TV with many English speaking channels. Tea and coffee and bottled water provided each day. Plenty of room in mini bar (fridge) to add own drinks. Rooms kept very clean, with change of sheets every day if you required.
My wife had her birthday whilst we were there and a birthday cake had been left in our room when we returned later in the afternoon. Nice touch!

Other guests were predominately German and in general in the 50+ age bracket. It did mean there was a lot of sun bed saving, you have to join in if you want a choice of beds, but there was never a point where there were no spare beds during the day.

Good selection at breakfast (eggs – how requested, bacon, pancakes, toast, fruit, cold meats, cereal...etc etc...including a few noodle/rice based dishes. Tempura prawns one day!)

Excellent pool, so long as you like it warm. It was like getting in a bath. Jacuzzi pool also.
Took full advantage of massages available at the side of the pool (also other placed overlooking beach). £5/hour for Thai massage (soft (reeraks), medium or hard). Also took advantage of a foot scrub, never had such baby soft feet (well not since being a baby that is).

Fishermans Village – Walked there every night for dinner. Either via beach (well lit), up the steps after Full Moon (Italian restaurant on the beach), or along road (turn down side road just before the Family Mart – about 400m left out of the hotel drive). It’s a 10 minute walk tops either way. Didn’t have a bad meal all week. Karma Sutra (quirky bar with excellent Thai food, ate there twice) would recommend Chicken in sesame seeds. Samui Spice , very good 4 course set menu. Shades, tables on the beach, great Thai food (had a fantastic pizza here to, having decided that it’s possible to have too much of a good thing Thai food wise!). At all of these we never spent more than £20 for the two of us, including beer, cocktail and tip. Great value. Splashed out on birthday night at The Shack. Good steaks, but easily twice the price of any other meal that week. Lots of speciality seafood restaurants, but neither of us are big seafood fans so cannot really comment...other than they looked very good.

Chaweng Beach – Took one of the red pick-up truck taxis (100b each, each way – about £4 return). Ate at The Tree, again very good Thai food at great prices. For the real Thai experience Ninja – a long way down Chaweng Beach road on the lake side of the street. Very busy, very very cheap. Dearest thing on the menu was about £2.50! Glad we went for a look round Chaweng, but very glad we were stopping in Bophut.

This is a great hotel if you're wanting a nice peaceful break. The bird song is as loud as it gets here. If you do need something a little livlier then Chaweng is only a 10 minute ride away.

Loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_Lol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#21 of 184 in Bophut
991 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 184 in Bophut
2,357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 184 in Bophut
1,605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bandara Resort & Spa
Bandara Resort & Spa
#27 of 184 in Bophut
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Resort

Address: 178 Moo 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#27 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £64 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Bophut beach in the northeast of the island, the Peace Resort is a newly refurbished, friendly bungalow style resort, ideal for a relaxing family getaway. The style is best described as contemporary Thai with the architecture following local traditions, but a transformation in 2008 has given a more up-scale look and feel while the prices have remained very reasonable. The resort is well laid out in small buildings, ensuring a more intimate, human scale, while the grounds are tranquil and green, with a restaurant that spills out onto the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Resort Koh Samui
Peace Hotel Koh Samui
Peace Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing