We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buddha Lounge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buddha Lounge
Ranked #34 of 151 Bophut B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the lounge 29th dec in preparation for NYE on Koh phangan. The hostel was booked up so bookings are recommended. We had booked 3 nights over the new year period to chill out and nurse our hangovers! We booked a double superior air con room. When we got to the hotel the English speaking owners (Adam from Manchester and his girlfriend Greta from America) were Super friendly and welcoming greeting us warmly and showing us the common room and kitchen and straight up to our room. It's safe to say our room was sparse - literally just a bed and a wardrobe in a pretty big room. It was very empty and we expected bed side tables or a desk at least! The bathroom was basic but clean and quite big. The only issue we had was that the shower drain was partially blocked and the floor was flat so the water instantaneously flooded after the shortest of showers and sometimes leaked into the bedroom but with tiled floors and such hot weather it dried quickly. The location was not excellent, a 5-7 minute walk to bangrak beach but we soon realised that Chaweng was the best location on samui. The walk Ito town was wet and pot holey but bangrak beach was nice and quiet and chilled - what we wanted. All in all, a nice place. We ended up staying 8 nights so pretty decent! Friendliest owners around though hands down. Thanks Adam and Greta!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meganpu18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    20
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
8
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I stayed in this hostel for one night waiting for my flight the next day.
I just planned to sleep there, but then I met nice people in the communal kitchen which is next to every dorm room. The kitchen has all you need, even a flat tv.
The rooms and the bathroom were really nice and clean and the stuff was so kind!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fukuoka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Arrived at this hostel only to realise we had booked another hostel. Wish we could have stayed here instead.
We were given free breakfast and the owners drove us to the hostel which we had booked.
Large dorms all with communal areas.

Would recomment this hostel to anyone looking to have a comfortable stay and take full advantage of all the social areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Quite far out from the place you want to be in Koh Samui but a lovely hostel. The lady that runs it couldn't be more friendly, and the dorms are huge with comfy beds. There is a kitchen in each set of dorms which has all you need to make food. Makes a nice change to having to go out. Hostel is close to a beach which isn't as popular as the main one on Koh Samui but is nice all the same.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

The rooms are clean and modern, however doesn't have any character but guessing that's because it's brand new. The staff are helpful and friendly. It wasn't very busy during our stay so seemed very quiet. The hostel is far away from chaweng beach and any night life.....general life. It's hard to find and drivers don't generally know it. Even though it's cheaper than most hostels on the island, the money you spend on transport adds up so didn't save us any money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkEmily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

New dorm style accommodation, large common room with fridge, TV, couches, kitchen offering free breakfast. Dorms are of a high standard and the staff very knowledgeable of the surrounding area offering motorbike hire, trips, transfers and good advice. Fantastic base for the full moon party only a short boat ride to haad rin beach.

Set back off the main road so not the best location if u want to be on the main strip but i think that ads to the charm of the place. Try Robs bar on the way to the beach you have to pass, call in for a few cold drinks, game of pool and some friendly banter.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

One of the nicest dormitories I have stayed in & the common area is great. The only thing is the location - I wouldn't recommend it for a single traveller as its so far from everything. The taxi driver also found it hard to find due to lack of sign posting.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie14_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
2.1 mi away
Free House Bungalow
Free House Bungalow
#107 of 187 in Bophut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
6.7 mi away
Green Canyon Hip & Cheap Resort
0.6 mi away
Samui Backpacker Hotel
Samui Backpacker Hotel
#22 of 214 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Us Hostel
Us Hostel
#11 of 214 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Nest Samui
The Nest Samui
#1 of 214 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha Lounge

Property: Buddha Lounge
Address: 77/20, Moo 4, Boonma Road | Soi Sumkorkawe, Bang Rak, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Buddha Lounge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Buddha Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddha Lounge Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing