We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Authentic Thai Food”
Review of Tumzaab

Tumzaab
Ranked #338 of 444 Restaurants in Bophut
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Authentic Thai Food”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

To find this fantastic restaurant you need to be on the main ring road heading south in Chaweng, past the lights near Tesco Lotus towards Lamai and it's on your left 100 or so meters down. Not too hard to find and worth the effort.

My thai girlfriend and I were recommended this place by a local friend of hers and have eaten there twice in the last 3 nights it's so good.

The massaman curry is their supposed best dish, I loved it, as well as the duck curry, lab moo and steamed mussels in a clay pot.

There are 4 pages on the menu written only in thai so if you can't read thai but are feeling adventerous order by picture, it's bound to be great.

Cost wise we've found it very affordable, sure it's not the cheapest and it all depends on what dishes you order but for dinner last night we had:
5 dishes + steamed rice
1 large beer
1 Coconut drink
1 Water
For under 1000 baht.

As to the review that complained about bones in the fish, all fish have bones and since the vast majority of Samui restaurants serve whole fish, bones are to be expected. Pretty simple really.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
482 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood & Good Barbeque”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

It took us about 10 minutes of waiting for a table @ The Tumzaab Restaurant on Chaweng walkway; which is another great Restaurant specializing in Fresh Seafood & barbeque dishes, especially Pork.
The service is fast from the hard working team of the restaurant, which would suggest to you; on the different ways/choices of cooking your seafood dishes and of course their specialty of the day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Poor venue”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Worst experience I had in Koh Samui. Bad service, staff were very unfriendly. Ordered fish which cost 450 baht and was full of bones. Would not recommend this place. No value for money

Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“A resident of Samui said this was their favorite Thai Restaurant on the island...”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

So, although I have a home on Koh Samui, there are so many restaurants I haven't tried. Yesterday a new friend on the island told me I "HAD" to go have a meal at Tumzaab, which she said is her "absolute favorite" local Thai Restaurant on Koh Samui. So today we went---and you know what, she was right! From the delicious fresh shrimp with chile paste to the Fried Red Snapper with Tamarind Sauce, every bite was fantastic and the entire menu looked so good that we'll be back very shortly to try everything else on the menu looked great. A definite thumbs up recommendation for Tumzaab!

To find it, if you're going South on the Ring Road from Bophut (towards Lamai), you go just past Tesco/Lotus (on your right), past the traffic light (that leads you into Chaweng) and it's about 200 yards down on the left----.

You will not be disappointed---or at least we weren't on our first meal there but we know it's consistently wonderful per what our friends have told us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Good Thai food”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

About 10 mins Tuk Tuk ride from the centre of Chaweng brings you to this restaurant. The restaurant is open air and has quite a lot of tables. When we arrived unannounced and asked for a table for 7 we were shown to an 8 seater that was free(at that time).

Anyway, the hostess was upon us immediately and took our order professionally. The order was very eclectic and it came to our table exactly as we had ordered it, no mistakes.

Very good traditional Thai food, good atmosphere and a fairly good location means that we will be going back there in the future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ascott5956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tumzaab also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Tumzaab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing