We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solitude and Serenity...pure BLISS (and GREAT WiFi)!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Nest Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Nest Samui
Ranked #2 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Solitude and Serenity...pure BLISS (and GREAT WiFi)!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife & I are now enjoying the ninth day of our stay here at The Nest, and we could not be ANY happier with our choice of accommodation for this, our third trip to Koh Samui (the others being in 1991 - Imperial Samui Beach Resort, Chaweng; and 2009 – Renaissance, Lamai).

When we began planning this trip in late 2013, my wife spent significant time researching dozens of places for us to stay in the Mae Nam, Bangrak, and Bophut areas on Koh Samui. Because of the unanimous “excellent” reviews of The Nest here on TripAdvisor, we finally decided that we would stay at The Nest. Margaret then booked our stay directly via The Nest’s website.

Service at The Nest is EXACTLY as other reviewers have described: attentive, friendly and helpful. Charlie, Mali, and Matt all go out of their way to provide information, advice, and assistance whenever requested to do so, whether it be to give recommendations on places to visit and things to do on Koh Samui, or in other locations convenient to here. They're also quite good with recommendations for local restaurants...!

Matt picked Margaret & me up following our arrival at Koh Samui airport, and drove us to The Nest. Later that evening, when we wanted to go shopping in Chaweng to stock up on some provisions for our room (which is equipped with a kitchenette: sink, and a good-sized refrigerator), Matt drove us to the new Central Festival shopping complex (http://www.centralfestival.co.th/samui/about-1.html), dropped us off there, and then came back to pick us up a couple hours later after we phoned to let him know we were ready to return to The Nest (all three of these transfers cost us only what they would have had we taken a taxi each time).

The Nest is located less than 100 metres down a gravel street/laneway (directly opposite the Big Buddha Pier) that runs off the main road that connects Bophut to Chaweng.

Staying at The Nest is like being in a "mini-Villa": you are in a secluded and well-secure walled compound, with only five individual and well-separated rooms, sharing a pool that is kept IMMACULATELY clean at all times.

Along with the pool, the rooms, bathrooms, and grounds of The Nest are kept immaculately clean also (if you want to know details, please message me).

Water pressure in the shower (which can sometimes be “hit and miss” in Thailand – even in five star properties at times) is fantastic at The Nest, and hot water is in abundance (we have friends who stayed in a resort on Koh Samui during Easter 2013, and they were without water – full stop, hot or cold – for almost two days).

On the first full day of our stay at The Nest, a kettle was brought to our room for us to make coffee and tea before our continental breakfast (freshly cut fruit, croissants, and coffee and tea) is delivered every morning. Our room has been replenished daily with two bottles of water, as well as coffee and tea.

One morning after breakfast, as we were getting ready to leave The Nest for the day, and with light rain beginning to fall, one of the two housekeeping attendants (who are on site every day from around 8:00AM until approximately 5:00PM) – without being asked – brought an umbrella to our room. Another time, one afternoon after we had returned to The Nest and were getting ready to go to enjoy the pool, one of the attendants went and put cushions on two sun loungers and turned the spa jets on for us. Talk about “intuitive service”!

Since The Nest is not on the beach (if it was, you’d be paying at least two to three times the price), for those guests who wish to enjoy the absolutely beautiful Bangrak Beach (which is, IMHO, very much nicer than the beaches at either Bophut or Lamai), they have an informal arrangement with Secret Garden Beach Resort (http://secretgardensamui.com/en/), a lovely beach bungalow complex with restaurant/beer garden (live music every Sunday) that is about a five minute walk from The Nest.

Matt took Margaret & me to Secret Garden on the first full day of our stay on Koh Samui, introduced us to the staff, and we were told that they would look after us if ever we went there to use their facilities on the beach (sun loungers and umbrellas)…as long as we bought a drink or had something to eat. Secret Garden VERY quickly became our “home away from home”, and has some of the best Thai food we’ve ever eaten on Koh Samui!

If you are seeking a restful, relaxing, EXCEPTIONALLY clean, and QUIET place to stay on Koh Samui, with comfortable beds, as well as one that offers a location that is convenient to a beautiful beach, and close to many good and affordable restaurants, you absolutely can’t go past The Nest, which is very well deserving of its #1 ranking here on TripAdvisor.

Please feel free to message me if you have any questions about The Nest.

Room Tip: If staying for an extended period, #3 has a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNestSamui, Manager at The Nest Samui, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hi Charles, thank you for your staying with us and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I believe many users will find your review helpful with such a minute details about The Nest and surroundings. We at The Nest is to have you around and hope to see you again in future.

-Matt & family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
88
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

4 days of pure pleasure. If you don´t know the island before, start your trip here. You will get a great perspective of the do´s and don´ts of Koh Samui thank´s of the Thong family. The Nest it self, is hidden in a small road from the main street and is completely different from the environment surrounding it, with that saying; perfectly clean, organized, quiet and with raked gravel paths. European/Asian style, a grate mix of both and the owner have thought of everything. There is one room smaller (and cheaper) then the others where we stayed, for a few nights thats all you need, but if you stay longer it is to recommend the bigger one. The bed were really comfortable and the air condition quit and effective. For the first time on our holiday we also had a perfectly good enough pressure in the shower. Breakfast wise its not a buffè, but it will give you a great start of the day.
All in all, being travelers this is definitely one of the best places you can come to.

Charlie,Mali and Matt thank you for a fantastic staying - You are 100% good hart!

/S and A

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stina e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNestSamui, Manager at The Nest Samui, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Hi S & A, thank you for sharing your experience staying with us. It was an interesting 4 days to experience what Samui is locally. We hope to see you again in future and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We were living there 4 months and love it very much! Owners are very friendly, the territory and villa are modern and clean. There are a lot of restorans, bars, massage cafe near this place, beach also good. We strongly recommend this place to long and short vacation! Everything was perfect.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNestSamui, Manager at The Nest Samui, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Hi Anna, thank you for staying with us for the past 4 months. It was pleasure to meet you and your family and hope to see you again in future.
-Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I cannot report anything negative about The Nest because the are none. Probably the cleanest place I have ever stayed. It is small so please go there to relax. Thank you Matt, Charlie and Mali for making me feel comfortable as a solo traveler. All of you advice for tours and beaches were good.

Room Tip: The superior room was good for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMV57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNestSamui, Manager at The Nest Samui, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We at The Nest are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in future. Thank you for staying with us.
-Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here early February and it was like staying with friends. Nothing was too much trouble for Charlie Matt and Mali the owners. Our room was very clean comfortable beds a lovely place to stay thank you

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heff62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNestSamui, Manager at The Nest Samui, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi Heff62,

Thank you for staying with us and I'm glad you enjoy company. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Koh Samui.

Best Regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just off the main road and opposite the Big Buddah pier is a small unmade road that leads you to the incredible Nest. The small complex of just 5 rooms ooze simplicity and calm.
We stayed in a deluxe room overlooking the pool ( kept spotlessly clean ) and were extremely impressed with the comfort, cleanliness and high quality finish.
Charlies help and advice was invaluable in enabling us to make the most of our eleven day stay on the island and we enjoyed our morning chats over breakfast.
Charlie,Malee and Matt make a great team and their warmth and friendliness made it an unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlie t, Manager at The Nest Samui, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Kingsmuir,
Thank you for your great review in TripAdvisor.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your eleven days in Koh Samui at The Nest.
It is a pleasure to know that you have a great and a memorable holiday in Koh Samui while staying with us.
Thank you and hope to see both of you again in the coming years.

Warmest regards,
Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We started out our honeymoon in The Nest. We chose to stay here as we saw the great reviews. We extended our stay as it's so nice. The room was lovely, the bed is so comfy and the shower is great too, All the area's are spotless, the rooms are well equipped and laid out. It's a place where you really can relax after a busy time sightseeing. Charlie and his family went out of their way to make sure we had a fabulous time, They made great recommendations for places to eat, and places to see. They arranged taxi's, gave us great tips about the Island, ways to see it. If you go, make sure to catch the Fisherman's Market on a Friday night, well worth sticking around for! We rented a motor bike, which is a great way to see the island. Matt is a fantastic photographer, so ask him to take some shots of you. The one's he took of us are amazing, and some of the only ones of the two of us together for the entire honeymoon.

Thanks Charlie, Mei, and Matthew
We loved the Nest!
Lisa & David

Room Tip: we were in room 5, bet all rooms are as nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNestSamui, Owner at The Nest Samui, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Hi David & Lisa,

Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad you enjoy our recommendations and hospitality. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
The Privilege Hotel Ezra Beach Club
2.3 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
2.2 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nest Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nest Samui

Property: The Nest Samui
Address: 30/33 Moo 4, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nest Samui 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nest is a small family base resort in Koh Samui with only 5 rooms and maximum occupancy at any time is only 11 people. Our hotel is just 2 minutes from the center of Bangrak where you can find many shops, restaurants, pharmacy and piers around within the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nest Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nest Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing