We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A story to tell”

Ton Sai Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #278 of 444 Restaurants in Bophut
Cuisines: European, Thai
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A story to tell”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have recently been over to Koh Samui for a holiday and while we were there stumbled across the Ton Sai Cafe.
We were always greeted with an ice cold glass and a friendly smile. The food was superb and the menu extensive without being confusing.
After befriending Robert, the landlord we were entertained by his story, a really interesting and knowledgeable man who was only too happy to guide us to the best places on the island to go and how to get there.
Although we didn't, you can hire a car from here and it is very reasonable.
In closing, I would say that this cafe,restaurant played a major part in making our holiday the success that it was and want to thank Robert for all of his help while we were there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn6304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place in Nathon”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

If you are in Nathon - you must visit Ton Sai Cafe. The food is deilicious, service - friendly and warm, and most importantly - they serve super cold beers in chilled glasses. No doubt my favourite place for lazy afternoon after some shopping. Good for breakfast as well if you are leaving Koh Samui from Nathon pier. Robert and Da will take care of you any time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Agne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppers Crossing, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bali in Thailand”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A friend found this restaurant a couple of years ago, we went to go there last year but was closed finally got there this year & the wait was well worth it. Have been to bali a lot & love the sate so 5 out of 7 of us ordered sate & it was just like bali, "magnificent". It sure is a little gem & if you catch the ferry across its right on the Main Street. We will be going back there again this week for more sate. Also had a few shakes & they are delicious & the beer is cold. Highly recommend if your in Koh samui go for a ride to Nathon find this little gem & have a feed there, it's peaceful & delicious, the owners & staff are friendly & welcoming.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirtymitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Home from Home.”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The best recommendation I can give Ton Sai is that my wife and I eat there every other day.Robert,Da and Gai are there to welcome you so sit back and relax and as somebody said enjoy a little gem!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susquosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eerbeek, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem in paradise!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Found this beautiful little place in Nathon town hiding underneath two giant Ficus trees (Ton Saai in Thai, the owner told me) which gives a nice shadow where it's about 5 degrees cooler.
You're beeing welcomed with a nice refreshing cold towel. The shakes and juices are freshly made and are to die for. The food is amazing and is also daily fresh. Especially the Indonesian style saté I can recommend, the Big Mouth Burger is also must have. The prices are good and the service is superb. I would recommend everyone to visit this little gem which is on Koh Samui, even if you are on the other side of the island it's just a 30 minute ride.
I will definitely come back! Thanks for everything!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ton Sai Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ang Thong, Ko Samui
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Ton Sai Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing