We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House guesthouses should be!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Little Austria Tams Guesthouse
Ranked #38 of 151 Bophut B&B and Inns
Niederkruechten, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“House guesthouses should be!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a hectic but fun stay in samui. A group of 10 of us attended the tattoo convention and after a detailed search I decided to book us in to Tams guest house. It was exactly what it said on the tin. The owners were great and nothing was a problem. We only booked 2 rooms but a lot more of us came and it wasn't a problem. We were given cold water on arrival and well attended. We hired bike for our 4 day stay at a fraction of the price and overall everyone in the party was happy. We all booked private double rooms and they were massive with brand new fridges which kept everything fantastically cold. I have no complaints with this place, we were left to it but always greeted with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble and my boyfriend and I will certainly book again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kate84_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    11
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
2
16
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived here after 10 hours of travel for the owner to openly admit he doesn't have a room because he doubled booked to make sure he was full. Even though we had fully paid for our 4 nights in advanced. However he did take us to another place and collect us the next day... The staff was nice enough but the hotel is on the main road and is extremely noisy. Our 1st night there we had a room at the front (I didn't sleep a wink) luckily the next day they had another room at the back of the hotel so we asked to be moved, which they agreed. The rooms were clean and quite spacious, but the beds were very hard. The shower was hit and miss with hot water. A nice touch was they had beer in the fridge and snacks so you just paid if you used them.... They have a restaurant down stairs and a bar but it was always very smokey so we never ate there. It is also a very long walk (about 20-25 minutes) to the main shops and markets and the beaches...

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Tam's guesthouse was excellent value for money. My boyfriend and I stayed in a private double which was very spacious, very clean and had a TV, fridge and a nice bathroom. The fridge is a minibar which is pretty reasonable (and they include two bottles of free water everyday), but can also be used to keep your own stuff. The restaurant downstairs is great too- If you're missing European food try the goulash! Dee who works there was great for giving advise about trips and where to move on to next, and all the rest of the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AislingMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed at Tams by chance. Originally my stay was for 2 nights but i felt comfortable and welcomed so stayed 1 more night. Tam and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. Albin, Tams husband was at hand to help me with a few tours, which i found useful. The food was always delicious and fresh. Ok, they have just opened up and as with any buisness, had a few teething problems but they were willing to listen keenly to put the little snags right, and they did just that. Overall i enjoyed my stay and will have no hesitation staying there again when i go back to Samui next year. Thank you all at Tams.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Hi there!

We stayed at Tams Guesthouse after booking at the last moment through Agoda website. The Guesthouse has a European ambience was very relaxed with a friendly and helpful owner who is originally from Austria and has lived in Thailand for many years and suggested some activities and the best beach areas to swim.

The room was very spacious and clean and we had a hot water shower. The rooms at the back are a bit quieter than the ones which look out on the main road.

It is very easy to hire a motorbike from the owner (you don't have to leave your passport !). In other places in Chaweng you had to leave the passport which I would not do personally.

I definitely recommend Tams Guesthouse and if you hire a bike it is only 5 mins to Chaweng shopping street and the beach. It is very cheap and comfortable! We paid only 800 baht per night (high season price since it was early January). Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms facing away from the main road are the best as quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariska N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Me and my friend came here purley for the great price as we are travelling on a tight budget, so we didn't expect much and were completely supprised with how lucky we were when we arrived. The rooms are a very good size (cleanest we've had since we got to Thailand), lovely breakfast included, about a 10 minute walk to the beach and 5 mins to Chaweng main strip.
We felt very welcome and everyone there is always up for a laugh and a bit of banter.
There is no swimming pool but one down the road. There is a gym opposite.

Room Tip: Cheap and cheerful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellivicemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Not a great place to stay, 20 minutes by taxi and 100 baht to the main town it was inconvenient to be so far away. the owner wasn't concerned about telling me and my fellow female travellers that we were in a dorm of old german men,one bathroom and no bed sheets. it wasn't the greatest experience and i wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annapil93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albinsamui, Owner at Little Austria Tams Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Many thanks for your comments on your recent stay at Tams guesthouse. Our apologies for the delay in replying, because the owners native language is not English, I am dee and will reply translating on behalf of the owner......
This is a new backpacker guesthouse and we welcome all feedback:
We do not discriminate on nationality, sex or age of people booking the dormitory style sleeping accomodation and is normal for one bahroom to be shared, however, thank you we can add this in our information.
Thailand is a hot country and normally only bedsheets are supplied but we do have blankets on request if people are cold in the evenings - again, thank you we will include this in our information for the future. We do have a company car available if you would like to request ( subject to availability)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.0 mi away
MM House
MM House
#49 of 104 in Chaweng
27 reviews
1.3 mi away
Behind The Scene Hotel Club @ Samui
0.6 mi away
DD Guest House & Backpacker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Samui Poshtel
Samui Poshtel
#42 of 219 in Bophut
13 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Guest House
Holiday Guest House
#72 of 151 in Bophut
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Penzy Guesthouse
Penzy Guesthouse
#8 of 65 in Chaweng
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Austria Tams Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Austria Tams Guesthouse

Property: Little Austria Tams Guesthouse
Address: 109/40 Moo 6 | Kohsamui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tams Guesthouse)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Little Austria Tams Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each air-conditioned guestroom is fully furnished and fitted with a range of amenities with your comfort in mind.Entertainment from television with various satellite television channels, fridge and wireless internet access are available in all rooms for you. In-house facilities include austrian & international restaurant, airport transfer, jeep and motorbike rentals, and laundry service as many more. Our in-house room-service will be happy to serve you in Austrian tradition and only with the very best quality. Whether you like only a quick snack or a 3 course menuAll the helpful well-trained staff is also there to assist you with various activities and tour arrangements during your holiday on Koh Samui. Our well cheap room-rates attracting budget travellers for a longer traveling on Koh Samui. Please get in contact with us if you planning a longer stay on Koh Samui. We can offer you special discounts for monthly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Little Austria Tams Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Austria Tams Guesthouse Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing