We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$49
View deal
eDreams
Expedia.com
US$49
View deal
Hotels.comUS$49
CheapTicketsUS$49
TravelocityUS$49
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
138
138
34
27
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
138
138
34
27
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bars and restaurants thailand island beach choengmon chaweng
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Unfortunately this hotel lets itself down. Situated in a fantastic location with the beach on its doorstep preceded by a lovely pool and restaurant, the room in this hotel was poor.
This is the first time I've found it necessary to describe a room as poor.
Nothing worked. This included the door key, the TV,the bath tap and a sliding door to the bathroom that didn't slide. The sun loungers were very " weathered" to say the least.
We needed grappling hooks to enter the shower which on reflection is a dangerous manoeuvre
However, all that's needed is maintenance. The reception area is lovely and the walk to the rooms through a little private rainforest is delightful.

Room tip: Check your room before unpacking. You may wish to change it
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill186383
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Certainly not the Ritz, but for what you pay....Room was large & clean, staff were friendly, bed was comfy and aircon worked perfectly. The restaurant food exceeded our expectations by a wide margin - it was Chef quality & presentation. For families I would think the layout of pool>bar>beach all within sight would work well. If you're on a budget you could do a lot worst.

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Barneyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We selected the White House for its great beachside location and local reputation for quality, our first visit to the hotel but not to Choeng Mon, we weren't disappointed. The room, number 9, was in the older Thai style, much larger than those of more recent build, showed little sign of age and the bathroom surprisingly large, without a bath but a good strong shower. House keeping services were excellent, breakfasts sufficiently varied and it was a pleasant experience to view the beach at close range whilst eating. Hotel management was attentive to requests yet left you alone to enjoy your stay. An unusual personal touch, Bangkok Post and Nation newspapers delivered to our door daily! The pool, well suited to younger ages, really could be better maintained, simply daily cleaning up tiles and checking ph water levels did little to improve the smaller build up of debris from surrounding vegetation which was clearly visible, not that it spoilt daily usage. A good experience and one we hope to repeat on our next visit.

Room tip: Beers, ordered from the beach sun loungers, come in ice filled buckets keeping them cooler for longer
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MansfieldTopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We have been visiting Koh Samui, and the other islands, for several years and normally split our time in between 3 different locations on different islands. Traditionally, we have always stayed next door at Choengmon "Hotel", which is great value for money but this time booked into the White House as a special treat. It was lovely to be greated with an ice-cold flannel and a fresh coconut by the lovely staff dressed in traditional Thai dress. The atmosphere is calm, the furniture in the lobby areas appears antique, it has old fashioned charm and the location is first class - right in the middle of one of the best beaches on the island.

The bathrooms are in need for refurbishment however, I quite appreciated having a bath instead of a shower (once they had found a plug for me). You are expected to sit in the bath to have a shower with the hand-held shower attachment and the water does go all over the raised wooden platform.

However, we all enjoyed our experience. The cost was not prohibitive, the pool lovely, the breakfasts delicious, the jungle walkway cool (they spray it daily for the midges) and the service on the front desk very personal. Let's hope they get those bathrooms refurbished soon!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adventurosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We chose Cheongmon Beach because it is away from the main tourist strip of Chewang but still offered a good selection of beach restaurants & shopping. It's only about 10 minutes from the busy Chaweng but so much quieter. We chose the White House Hotel because of location and price and were not disappointed. While the rooms could use a make-over, they were clean,quiet and serviced daily. The shower went from hot to cold & back again frequently but there was plenty of water pressure. The bathroom does need updating but it is spacious. Air-con worked well and the bed & furnishings were good. The staff were great and most spoke adequate English. Breakfast was included with a very good selection of hot & cold dishes. The pool is large & very clean. The gardens are a delight. There are very comfortable sun lounges for use on the beach and it's not difficult to attract the attention of staff to order food and drinks. We found the guests to be of mature age, mostly Russian & French and some with children. It was the beginning of the "Off Season" so the place was not busy and we found our stay everything we wanted. Relaxing & enjoyable. We would stay there again.

Room tip: Rooms are on 2 levels. we stayed on the ground floor and happy we did. Don't get a room close to the pool because it may get noisy.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews