We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing 2 week break with the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
World Resort Bungalow
Ranked #103 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in for 2 weeks at this resort, on our first night; we were given the smallest bungalow to accommodate two adults, a 4 year old and a 22 month old. The room only had a double bed and a cot so nowhere for my eldest to sleep. We asked to change rooms only to be told to wait until morning to see what other rooms they could offer.

We decided to pay extra as we were staying there for 2 weeks and get a family room, which was a million times better. This bungalow consisted of a double bed and 2 single beds with plenty of floor space for the children to run around!

The grounds of the resort are immaculate as mentioned in other reviews; it’s a shame that the bungalows do not mirror this. Yes, they are all clean but just look dated inside and could do with a few modern touches, like hooks on the doors to hang clothes, and the shower head did not had an adjuster so you had to hold it all the time when washing.

Going down to breakfast in the morning was my favourite bit, the lovely walk through the lush greenery of the resort and seeing the beautiful sea view. There was plenty of choice during breakfast, yes it was the same food out every day but you could mix it up. One morning I would just eat Thai food, next morning, fresh pancakes, etc. The coffee machine was great; you press a button and it grinds the beans just for your cup so it was very good and strong coffee which you could enjoy whilst taking in the wonderful view of the beach with the sun on your back.

The children enjoyed spending most of their time in the swimming pool, the smallest pool was quite deep for my youngest, it was up to his neck so not really safe for me to lie on the sun lounger as one slip and he would go under. They really enjoyed their time at the resort and it felt safe for them to run around with everyone looking out for one another. There is a small park next door in Ibis which we used a few time and their paddling pool.

All staffs were generally friendly; the cleaner did an amazing job, everyday she made my bed with the tightest hospital corners I have ever seen! The drinks are replenished for free in the fridge and of course new bottles of water were provided every day so that was a nice touch. The one thing I did not like about the restaurant is that they add 7% tax on to everything which bumps the total price of the bill up to match prices I usually pay back home!

I would definitely recommend this resort if you want to stay in Bophut (despite being on the main busy ring road) and be in natural surroundings with all the trees and sounds of birds around you. It is at the far end of the beach, next to the Ibis. There are a few restaurants across the road from the resort or if you want to do the long walk (or get a taxi) into Fisherman village there are ample of places to eat/drink there.

Room Tip: If you have the money, then get a bungalow nearer to the beach as they looked more modern than the o...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhia2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for World Resort Bungalow
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

The World Resort in Samui celebrated this year its 35th birthday. When you walk the premises you can see the age. Some of the bungalows look this old. They look old but there is a lot of stuff working to keep them in order. The stuff is kind and helpful. The restaurant offers a good breakfast with the choice of European and Asian food.
It is also directly at the beach. This is clean and the water can be reached easily there are no rocks in the way. The whole place is quiet and so it is easy to relax. By car fisherman village, a place with a lot of restaurants can be reached in about 5 minutes. As the resort is located at the ring road there is no problem to go anywhere on the island.
The price for one room is not to high we paid for one night around Eastern about 1900 baht.
There is also a pool near this pool is a small spa.


When you don't expect much action you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chainsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

had a lovely week stay here, staff are so friendly and nothing is too much for them, little thai lady at the pool bar was great, place is spotless, can not fault it, bungalow well equipt, we stayed in superior bungalow, would stay here again for sure, breakfast was really nice with plenty of choice , there is nice little bar next to dinning room outside, gardens at this resort are well kept and so pretty, pool nice and clean

Room Tip: superior bungalow or delux are better as bigger and have large patio area, closer to the beach
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poppy003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Would encourage anyone to stay here. Koh Samui is hectic but the second you arrive on the premises it is quiet and relaxing. We stayed in the bungalows and it was a clean decent value. The resteraunt was clean and right on the beach. Besides the breakfast we had dinner there and it was also well prepared and reasonably priced. We didn't care for the beach (course sand) but the view was nice and the bay nice for swimming. The pool was also nice with mostly older German visitors lounging about. The hotel was within walking distance to fisherman village for shopping and more resteraunts. Took a taxi one day to Chaweng and were glad to return to World Resort :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here 2 times in September 2013. For the price paid (around £24 per night Bed and Breakfast) we could not complain and were more than happy.

The hotel is located on Bophut Beach which is great if you like to chill out and not have the madness of Chaweng bearing down on you. That said, Chaweng is only a short ride away, about 10-15 mins so.

The staff were extremely attentive, picked us up from Koh Samui airport and took us safely to World Resort, where our bags were taken promptly to the rooms. We had a regular air con bungalow, which was set fairly back from the beach but a maximum 90 second walk so hardly a problem! The rooms were large and comfortable, the bathroom was a bit like an annexe, similar to other rooms in Thailand, everything worked and was clean. Happy days. The pool was close and very clean. Refreshing, given the humidity.

Although our stay here was very brief, I would be more than happy to spend a week here enjoying the relaxing Bophut area and exploring Koh Samui. Hope to be back again soon!

Room Tip: Only fork out for the expensive rooms if you cannot do without a sea view!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed here in august 2012. It is well set out and the rooms are very good. The beach is only 10-50 metres away and good for swimming.The kids loved the pool, while the adults ordered poolside drinks! The restaurant is really good but a bit overpriced compared to local eateries . The staff were great and even supplied a fantastic ice cream cake for my son's 4th birthday! We were all blown away! ( and we didn't have to pay for it!)
Would highly recommend for a family holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulineMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

What a fantastic resort this is. We intended to stay just for three nights but ended up staying eleven.
We were in a bungalow close to the reception but had no issues with noise as others have said.
The staff are amazing, they are so nice and they couldn't have been more helpful. The weather wasn't so good while we were there, with strong winds and big waves, but still we had a terrific time. We would definitely return to Koh Samui in the future and our preferred accommodation will be World Resort.
We'll done to all the staff and Management. You gave us a holiday we will never forget. Chris and Olga Edwards, Wrexham, Wales, UK.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Free House Bungalow
Free House Bungalow
#114 of 184 in Bophut
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#45 of 184 in Bophut
1,592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cactus Bungalow
Cactus Bungalow
#7 of 157 in Bophut
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lawana Resort
Lawana Resort
#75 of 184 in Bophut
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Resort Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Resort Bungalow

Address: 175/1 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Bophut
Hotel Class:3 star — World Resort Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your World Resort Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
World Resort Bungalow Hotel Koh Samui
World Hotel Koh Samui
World Resort Bungalow Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing