We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Top Sights of Samui City Tour
155

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Big Buddha Temple (Wat Phra Yai)
More Info
Reviews (6,812)
Filter reviews
6,812 results
Traveller rating
2,207
2,567
1,648
300
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,207
2,567
1,648
300
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviews worth a visit souvenir shops koh samui monk bells blessing culture plai dress thai
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 6,812 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2019

This temple is actually located on an island, one have to travel through a Causeway to reach it.

The island Ko Fan is a sacred area of Suwannaram Temple(or Plai Laem Temple), which was used as a burial place for babies or young children younger than 10 years for a long time. Phra Kru Santi Nontakun later developed and decorated this area in 1970 by providing the monasteries and Dharmma practice places in the island.

The construction of the Big Buddha was on 1972, completed in 1974.

The temple is to be used as a sacred place for Buddhists.

Date of experience: August 2019
4  Thank PatrickSatoLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2019 via mobile

If you are staying the the Bo Phut area it will cost you about 800Bht return in a taxi and two hours of your life to visit the Big Buddha Temple. It’s worth seeing and whilst it isn’t the most impressive temple I have seen (by a long way) it would have been a shame to have missed it. Our highlight was a family blessing from the resident monk! He was really cool.

Date of experience: September 2019
3  Thank ARJ2529
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2019

Beautiful viewpoint and many souvenir shop. Recommend to come at sunset time. Very beautiful. There is a parking car. Not far from Chaweng Beach

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank ALITAHOSTELANDBAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2019 via mobile

If you are not used to walking take care as there is alot of steps before you reach the main statue.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank EricMeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2019 via mobile

Not as large as the Phuket or Thimpu Buddha statues, but as wonderful and peaceful. Worth the visit.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank RPGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews