We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and atmosphere”
Review of Gusto Italiano

Gusto Italiano
Ranked #17 of 447 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had a great welcome into the restaurant.

We had a brochette for entree, delicious! Pizza and Gnocchi for the main course. All dishes were very good. We were serviced very quickly and didn't wait too much for the food. The wine menu lacked a variety of wines by glass, and not by bottle. The house wine, only option for wine by glass, was average.

Altogether, an excellent restaurant. recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moshe_and_Mor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    164
    35
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berne
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gnocchis”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

i visited bophut for the "walking street market", but instead of eating in the market, i decided to go into a restaurant facing the sea, and i choosed gusto restaurant. i wasnt very hungry, so "only" had a plate of gnocchi al pesto, and they were very tasty and the way gnocchi should be. and also - as previously posted - the expresso was great as well.

the only very small negative point - almost everywhere in the world (including almost every other place i have ever visited in thailand, and i've been to thailand at least 30 times) , you get free drinking water, but not here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nathalieyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cracking Italian restaurant.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We took cover in here for lunch as we were after some respite from the constant requests from shop owners to eat in their establishments.
We had the Italian sausage risotto and a napoletano pizza; both equally delicious..
Great scenery, overly staff and genuinely Italian!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ko samui
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant in Samui..”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Had dinner there last night. Food , service and attention to detail was first class. The bruchetta was great. The bread was crispy and not at all soggy like most places. Home made pasta was also very good, not too heavy. Will surely dine here again and can recommend anyone who wants a break from thai food. Bravo to Khun Roberta!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rrayKoSamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gusto, Fisherman's Village - charming!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

In the middle of our very recent dream 'second honeymoon' on Koh Samui (does 30 years of marriage justify a second honeymoon?), we needed to step out of the humidity, haggling and 'sir, you like our restaurant' of Bophut's Fisherman's Village for a few minutes to draw a breath and put down all our shopping bags. Attracted by the 'fired wood pizza' promised on the blackboard outside, we entered Gusto. And were we glad we did! Welcomed by the lovely Roberta and her team, we were shown to a beachfront balcony table as though we were the most exciting customers that day, looked after with the warmest attention, and made to feel as though there was all the time in the world to choose and enjoy our meal.

A complimentary pre-dinner nibble arrived before our yummy tomato bruschetta, and the house wines (both red and white) were among the nicest we've ever had. We opted to share a pizza as we didn't want anything too large, although we were tempted by the offer of home-made pasta, and it was no trouble at all to accommodate our rather touristy request for a 'half and half' when we couldn't decide between two options. We enjoyed the thin-crusted, lightly topped pizza, although it didn't quite beat others we've had in Australia (if you're used to the mass toppings and heavy-handed cheese dispensing of the pizza chain stores, this is much lighter than that, and much better!), and then opted to treat ourselves to a light dessert. Oh, the panna cotta with berry sauce!! Oh, the chocolate mousse! Heaven on earth indeed.

But the highlight of the visit really was Roberta's warm attention and engaging personality, along with the care and attention of her team. This is a restaurant whose personality and ambience begins with its proprietor and flows on through to all the staff, the atmosphere, the service and the cuisine. Our only regret afterwards was that we realised we probably missed an opportunity to experience some fantastic pasta!

My husband, after seven days in Thailand, was hanging out for a really good coffee, and realising that we'd probably get one at Gusto, we returned the next afternoon. Yep, really good coffee! Happy man. I'm a tea drinker, so skipped the coffee and was presented (beautifully) with a pot of hot water and (joy) a selection of teabags so I could make my choice. Happy lady.

Can you tell? we loooooved the service, atmosphere, personality, vibe, house wine, appetisers, desserts of Gusto, plus we enjoyed the pizza. Should've tried the home-made pasta, methinks! Gusto has only been open four weeks, so has yet to build its reputation and clientele. But if we take another holiday to Koh Samui, we'll definitely be back - and it wouldn't surprise me if Roberta remembered us. It's that sort of place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gusto Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Gusto Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing