We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tongsai Bay”
Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #4 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
sfo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tongsai Bay”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Tongsai Bay - Koh Samui -

I cant say enough about this property, the management, the staff and above all the GM, Lisa -

This was our second visit to Tongsai Bay and it has surpassed all expectations of any holiday resort that we have ever visited - Being ardent Four Seasons patrons I rate Tongsai's service and attention to detail on par if not better - Thank you Lisa of the efforts and training that you instill in your staff.
From the minute one steps into the car from the airport to the resort the hospitality begins and shows.
The food the service the hospitality is exceptional - Lisa pays attention to every detail of her guests - a service that is limited and exceptional to most GM's -

Tang and his poolside staff are indeed exceptional and the BEST green curry chicken on the island is at Tongsai. If in doubt call Lisa or her managerial staff and they will ensure that your stay is exceptional. Thanks to Lisa and staff we had the best snorkeling experience with a company called 100 degrees - the entire expedition was arranged by the Tongsai Staff under the instructions of Lisa and the experience with 100 degree staff/owner - (Ivan and Chii) was also outstanding-

Thank you for making our second visit the most memorable and Lisa, I will see you soon again at Tongsai - Keep up the great work that you do -

Room Tip: Opt for the Villas or cottages -
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danvillepenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,508
    258
    61
    19
    9
See reviews for
344
1,202
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I went here for a 5 night honeymoon after getting married in the Seychelles. I have to say we were both pretty disappointed with the hotel. I'm a true believer in you get what you pay for, we didn't in the case. We paid a considerable about of money for a pool side villa that was dated, no way 5 star,its really unfair to grade it that high. The photos online are NOT a true reflection of the hotel. The pools were lovely but the beach was awful, really shingly and sore to walk on which was a real shame. My advice would be if you have stayed in a few 5 star hotels and don't mind paying the extra price for that then consider another more lavish hotel where you will get a 5 star experience for your money.

Karen Legge

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just came back from a 5 night stay at Tongsai Bay hotel and I was very impressed. The hotel has been around since the mid/late 80's but it has definitely been renovated a few times since then, so no concerns over dated decor etc. That being said, please bear in mind this is not a super slick, designer hotel with every conceivable luxury and incredible "wow factor".

However, it is very impressive nonetheless. It is charming, has a personal touch, incredible staff and the hotel and gardens are in impeccable condition.

We were in a Seafront cottage, which has an elevated position overlooking the bay and has beautiful views. The room itself, is split on two floors, with the bedroom/bathroom on one floor and the living room and terrace below. Given their location, the seafront cottages are accessed by a number of steps and as such are not suitable for all.

There are two pools, one which is at beach level and the other slightly higher up and is not open to children. We were there when there weren't any kids, so it wasn't an issue. The main pool is large, has plenty of shade and has a variety of loungers around it. There is a gym and ping pong table, as well as a paddling pool for toddlers. The pool boys are very attentive and quick to organise your lounger, towels, cold drinks etc and the restaurant nearby is excellent. Thailand in general has much better food than the Philippines for instance but we were genuinely impressed with the food at the Po Lad restaurant. Fresh ingredients, excellent fish, varied salad dressings which were of a Eurpean standard and in Tang they have first class waiter.

The breakfast at Chef Chom's was fantastic as well, and staffed with a number of brilliant individuals including Pu (the fruit / smoothie lady) and Kak (omlette and pancake/waffle stattion). The staff at Tongsai really do stand out, from the taxi/buggy staff, porters, waiting staff, chefs etc. Other hotels and resorts, could do a lot worse than learn from them.

The sand at their private beach is not super soft...so please don't expect it. It's completely natural but is made up of tiny pebbles and stones, as opposed to very fine, powder like sand.

Leisa the GM was top draw and incredibly helpful when my other half injured herself. They were very quick to go to the pharmacy to get anti inflammatories and pain killers, as well as recommending the best hospital to go to (Bangkok Samui Hospital), which was flawless, clean, excellent staff. Leisa also recommended Zazen as a venue for dinner which was amazing - so make sure to check it out.

Overall, hugely impressed and we're normally fairly fussy, given that my other half works in the luxury industry.

Keep it up guys!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkchris31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 9 days following a stay at Bangkok and were here for our honeymoon.

The hotel is set in the hills on a private beach and prides itself on being environmentally friendly so expect lizards birds insects frogs etc not for non nature lovers!

We had a 1st floor cottage suite which was beautiful and plenty big enough for two!

The hotel pools are lovely and the private beach is idyllic. The hotel is reasonably priced for food, drink and room service.

We went to the hotel BBQ and it was well worth the money great food and entertainment.

Getting to and from the hotel is relatively easy. Cars to the local town are priced at £3 one way and you can easily arrange to be collected by the driver saving the hassle of taxi drivers.

Hotel staff will provide buggies all around the hotel facilities for those who may not be mobile.

The tennis courts are great an the gym adequate for maintaining fitness.

Breakfast is good with food catering for all tastes!

Myself and my husband would definitely return and recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Tongsai Bay - World Class - Idyllic

Koh Samui's environment & world class service of this luxurious hotel was our ideal choice. We booked a seafront cottage suite, amazing views.The friendly & gracious service within the resort was exceptional - every day a smile.
International cuisine at the beachside Po-Lad Bistro or Chef Chom's is one of the island's finest Thai restaurants there was no complaints from this couple. Try out your skills a the twice weekly Thai cooking class & a visit to the resort's produce farm you will really enjoy the day, especially eating your own prepared meal.
Spectacular adults-only half-moon pool looking out across the beach a focal point.
During the day relaxing on beach then indulging yourself with cocktail list at the beachfront bar it was a pleasure. The staff at the beachfront bar 10/10 & fun to be with.
We spent time in the spa hidden amongst the jungle, yes please - heaven. For those more energetic than us a fitness room & tennis court or just go there enjoy & relax
"Delight on the memories, really loved it" Thank you Tongsai Bay! GCD

Room Tip: A seafront cottage suite, amazing views, bath on the patio. GCD
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
583 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

What a great choice we made staying here...best resort I have ever stayed at. Location, restaurants, facilities, atmosphere etc are top notch! Staff are incredible - lovely people that care. The food at the restaurants is excellent.
We stayed as a family of 4 - and we stayed for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom suite - which was good - and the kids were on roll-away beds in the lounge area at night. It was a bit tight - but we expected it. We inquired about a bigger room and were offered the View Point Cottage at a great rate - 2 massive bedrooms, 2 massive bathrooms, and 2 lounge areas - and a great big deck with outside bath. Even a few friendly geckos to keep us company. This cottage is a bit of a walk from the pool and restaurants - but that was good given the great food we were eating - a walk was nice. But if you prefer they have golf buggies to get you around. Views also from this cottage are excellent - as you would expect given the name.
We looked around Samui and one thing we realised was how lucky we were - no crowds here, no hawkers on the private beach, no motorised water sports causing noise pollution, etc,

Perfect in every way! Love this place - will be back!

Room Tip: View Point Cottage is excellent for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LassiComeHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retired
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Me my husband and another couple stay in Tongsai for a week from Sep. 22,2013.
when I endered the property it was a wow, gorgeous view of the bay strait in your eyes. When I entered the room, I was abit disapointed since the hotel is a bit dated when it come to furnishing and amenities. However after one day of stay all was clouded by this beatiful property with 100% private beach and pleasant water that makes it hard for you to get out of them. I did change my room to a vila which was amazing and worth the extra bucks to pay. Serve througout hotel is excellent, food is tasty and reasonably priced.While visiting Ko Samui i made it my business to check other properties i considerd, and was most satisfied with my choice. I find Tongsai Bay to be one of the best resort on the island with a top location while staying away from the Havoc of the o 2 close towns of Chaweng and Buput. I highly recomend this property that I will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: try for the villa. worth the extra money. if not beachfron cottage are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miratvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,570 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
1.3 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#18 of 186 in Bophut
914 reviews
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Property: The Tongsai Bay
Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing