We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampering at its best”
Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #5 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pampering at its best”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We splurged on a pool villa for a week in January, and had an absolutely wonderful experience at Tongsai Bay. The staff is terrific, friendly, helpful and welcoming. We had great luck booking a sailing charter with the help of the tours desk, and enjoyed the personal greetings from general manager, Mark. We loved the cooking class, with a tour of the organic gardens with Head Chef Robert, and thoroughly loved preparing a five-course meal on the gorgeous deck with Senior Sous-Chef Kak.
The hotel and facilities are excellent, so well maintained you wouldn't know it's an older property. Our villa was lovely, spacious inside and even more so outside, with a huge deck with dining table, loungers, good-sized pool, huge bathtub and sleeping gazebo. The property is tucked into a private cove in the quieter north end of Samui, but the hotel is a quick ten minute walk into the village of Cheong Mon for a change of scenery.
The restaurants are all excellent, and work hard to provide a variety of experiences throughout the course of a week so that you don't become tired of dining in.
All in all, a great place for a relaxing holiday with all the perks!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CDNgirlDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,511
    258
    61
    19
    9
See reviews for
345
1,203
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at the wonderful Tongsai Bay during December and cannot recommend it enough. We stayed in the Hideaway Cottage which was idyllic - the views were to die for, the room space was amazing and the terrace was magnificent. However, what really made Tongsai special were the staff - their smiles, courtesy and friendliness really did make our stay special. A BIG thank you to Pik our cleaner who did a fantastic job, the juice lady whose smile we shall never forget and the chef who completely understood what eggs over medium should look and taste like!
Yes Tongsai isn't a contemporary hotel, yes it does have some steep steps to climb and yes it does have coarse sand, however, the service, rooms, private beach, views and above all the staff really do make you feel like you're in heaven. If you're looking for a romantic, classy, away from the madding crowds and special holiday in Samui, you won't regret staying at Tongsai. We will definitely be back Tongsai!

Room Tip: The sea view cottages are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweet_taboo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Pros: Beautiful place! The villa with a private infiniti pool had an unobstructed view of the sea. Food was great. They gave us a bottle of champagne as we were on honeymoon. Very well maintained and clean rooms. Breakfast was superb. Highly recommended for romantic trip / honeymoon.
Cons: Nothing really.... but for the record, the airport pick-up from the hotel was late. We had to wait 10-15 minutes at the airport for the driver to show up.

Room Tip: Go for a cottage / villa with a seaview. The views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StoneCold1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is highly recommend to honeymooners and couple, we had a free upgrade to an amazing cottage with sea view, the service was excellent from the time we check in till our check out. The cottages are spacious and the half moon pool is perfect if you need some quite time. Don't forget to order some of their cockatiels and also try their Thai massage on the beach or the spa.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

9 days on holiday with my son in awe - inspiring surroundings. Twin share sea view cottage was clean and comfortable. Lovely bedding but firm bed. Remember to bring your shoes in at night or risk loosing them to hungry night creatures. We saw one dog but luckily none at the beach. Fortunate to see monitor lizard (?), squirrels, a green snake on our balcony, many many frogs in and on the lily pads, The beach is gravelly but not a problem. It is clean and private. Never had an issue with finding a beach lounge and loved the huge white towels. Appreciated the regular top ups of cold water at the beach and all F +B outlets. Twice a day room maintenance. We looked forward to the cookies and fruit each day. Staff were always attentive and polite. Never intrusive.
We ate at the resort everyday. Lunches were around A$35 and dinners about A$55 depending on drinks. We only ate from the Thai menu and loved them all. A bit spicy (chili) in some instances but not an issue for us.
Factor in taxi costs if you venture beyond the resort. I am no good in the heat but enjoyed lounging by the beach and cooling off in the pool. My son enjoyed bogie boarding further out. Didn't get the chance to kayak though. Non-motorized sea sport equipment is free. Two stormy days still saw me by the beach enjoying the change in temperature and scenery.
A ceiling fan in the lounge would be appreciated. My request for two stand fans was quickly met. I placed one in the bathroom that was not well ventilated and warm especially after climbing all those stairs! Hint - take regular breaks and enjoy the view while you catch your breath.
Loved all the weekly roster of activities especially the different forms of live music. Brilliant breakfast that makes me glad for the 200 or so steps to our cottage. I was very impressed by the clean toilet by the beach. Smelled beautiful and always looked like Housekeeping had just visited. No paper towels but lovely small white hand towels added to the feel of luxury.

We thoroughly enjoyed our first tropical resort holiday. This experience has raised the bar for future holiday destinations. Pinch yourself when you get here. Thank you everyone at Tongsai Bay :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The resort and hotel facilities are everything you would expect from a 5* rating.What sets this place apart is the service which is truly world class.

As with most of Thailand staff are extremely politely and friendly, but what makes the service different at Tongsai Bay is the attention to detail and extra touches.

Pool staff are over to you in a flash to provide fresh towels as soon as you arrive along with bringing round ice cold water and fresh fruit throughout the day.

House keeping is twice a day and provide excellent service.

Nothing is ever to much trouble for the restaurant staff and are always genuinely pleased to welcome you, and the admin staff take care of everything, including checking your flight is on time the day before your departure.

My wife and I stayed in a seafront cottage suite which was well worth the extra money as the view was stunning and the balcony extremely private.

This really is a luxurious paradise made so by the staff and all their hard work.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I took an extended vacation to Koh Samui in December 2013 and on the strength of TripAdvisor reviews we decided on the Tongsai Bay. This is a really lovely place to stay for several reasons:

1) The staff are outstanding. Everybody takes a great deal of pride in the service they're giving; from the reception staff to security to bar staff to management. Everybody seemed to know our names, which makes the place feel like a home from home. The GM was there to meet us when we arrived, took time to have a drink with us during our stay and was there to wave us off when we left. Really very personal service.

2) The grounds are amazing. If it's lush greenery you're after, it's lush greenery you'll get. You get an amazing sense of privacy at this place because of the gardens which in places feel like full on jungle. We stayed in room (I think it was 204) for the first half of our stay, which was a seaview villa (not a pool villa) which is set back into the "jungle" on the edge of the resort which has a deck with a 180 degree view of the sea, it overlooks nothing but ocean and isn't overlooked at all. It had the most incredible sense of seclusion, quite literally the best place in the world to have a bath is in the outside tub on the terrace listening to the sea on the rocks 30 feet away. Incredible.

3) The villas! Apparently they've recently refurbished the place. They've done a really good job. We upgraded to a pool villa for the second half of our stay. We stayed in 315 (I think) which is absolutely unbelievable. Very large terrace with a pavilion bed, outdoor tub, dining room and infinity pool. Room itself has a large sitting room, walk in closet, bathroom with a Jacuzzi. Goodness knows what it is in square meters, needless to say it is LARGE. The footprint of that villa must be 250 square meters, and it is beautiful.

The food is good in the hotel with plenty of variety with one of the best Thai restuarants on Koh Samui. You can walk down to Chong Mai village in about 10 minutes (or get the hotel to run you down) where there is good street food, excellent massage on the beach and plenty of restaurants to choose from.

If you want to get away from the world for a few weeks you literally cannot do better than this place. While on the island we visited some of the other hotels (we stayed at Tongsai for 10 days and were on Koh Samui for almost 27). This property has better facilities and outlook than The W, Nikki Beach and either Anantara.

Little touches we liked a lot. Each room has it's own Wifi router, the whole resort has free wifi. It must be running at 20Mbps. If you need to work while you're away you'll have no problems here.

They have DVD players in every room and a large DVD library in a selection of languages.

While we were in the villa they would bring us free sandwiches and cakes during the day mid afternoon and they don't charge you for mineral water.

I cannot think of anything I would want to change about this place. The fact that it is a privately owned 5 star hotel really comes through. There are plenty of hotels out there that describe themselves as a boutique, when they really are not. This place is and is certainly worth the visit. We'll definitely head back at some point.

Room Tip: The villas are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frankie3591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,373 reviews
1.3 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#18 of 186 in Bophut
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Property: The Tongsai Bay
Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing