We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tongsai Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Beach Resort(Choeng Mon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,011)
Filter reviews
2,011 results
Traveller rating
1,648
271
62
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,648
271
62
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscottage suitehalf moonpo ladgrand villaprivate beachchef chomsseafront cottageprana spaour honeymoonbeach bistrothe cottagesoutdoor bathkoh samuifresh fruitgolf buggiesthai restaurantsplit level
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
783 - 788 of 2,011 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here for the last 3 nights of our honeymoon and loved it and hope to come back. The staff were all really nice, always smiling and the service was faultless. They upgraded us and brought us sparkling wine on our first day. The terrace was amazing and the view of the sea great. The whole suite was perfect.

We had a really good lunch at the beach bistro and superb tapas (Thai style) at Butlers Restaurant. The cocktails down by the beach on the comfy sofas were also very nice.

Everything was clean and the pools and other communal areas were never busy so you could relax and do what you wanted.

The hotel restaurants weren't cheap compared to our previous experiences of Thailand but given the standard of hotel and the excellent quality very much worth the cost.

We find it hard to think of anything that could be improved. As others have said we were looked after as though we were special guests from when we arrived to when we left.

Room Tip: We had a grand villa which was very private and quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fi_London2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We splurged on a pool villa for a week in January, and had an absolutely wonderful experience at Tongsai Bay. The staff is terrific, friendly, helpful and welcoming. We had great luck booking a sailing charter with the help of the tours desk, and enjoyed the personal greetings from general manager, Mark. We loved the cooking class, with a tour of the organic gardens with Head Chef Robert, and thoroughly loved preparing a five-course meal on the gorgeous deck with Senior Sous-Chef Kak.
The hotel and facilities are excellent, so well maintained you wouldn't know it's an older property. Our villa was lovely, spacious inside and even more so outside, with a huge deck with dining table, loungers, good-sized pool, huge bathtub and sleeping gazebo. The property is tucked into a private cove in the quieter north end of Samui, but the hotel is a quick ten minute walk into the village of Cheong Mon for a change of scenery.
The restaurants are all excellent, and work hard to provide a variety of experiences throughout the course of a week so that you don't become tired of dining in.
All in all, a great place for a relaxing holiday with all the perks!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CDNgirlDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at the wonderful Tongsai Bay during December and cannot recommend it enough. We stayed in the Hideaway Cottage which was idyllic - the views were to die for, the room space was amazing and the terrace was magnificent. However, what really made Tongsai special were the staff - their smiles, courtesy and friendliness really did make our stay special. A BIG thank you to Pik our cleaner who did a fantastic job, the juice lady whose smile we shall never forget and the chef who completely understood what eggs over medium should look and taste like!
Yes Tongsai isn't a contemporary hotel, yes it does have some steep steps to climb and yes it does have coarse sand, however, the service, rooms, private beach, views and above all the staff really do make you feel like you're in heaven. If you're looking for a romantic, classy, away from the madding crowds and special holiday in Samui, you won't regret staying at Tongsai. We will definitely be back Tongsai!

Room Tip: The sea view cottages are fabulous.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweet_taboo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Pros: Beautiful place! The villa with a private infiniti pool had an unobstructed view of the sea. Food was great. They gave us a bottle of champagne as we were on honeymoon. Very well maintained and clean rooms. Breakfast was superb. Highly recommended for romantic trip / honeymoon.
Cons: Nothing really.... but for the record, the airport pick-up from the hotel was late. We had to wait 10-15 minutes at the airport for the driver to show up.

Room Tip: Go for a cottage / villa with a seaview. The views are amazing!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StoneCold1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is highly recommend to honeymooners and couple, we had a free upgrade to an amazing cottage with sea view, the service was excellent from the time we check in till our check out. The cottages are spacious and the half moon pool is perfect if you need some quite time. Don't forget to order some of their cockatiels and also try their Thai massage on the beach or the spa.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Omar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews