We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unbiased review, but earns it”
Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #5 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Bathgate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unbiased review, but earns it”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Just got back from Tongsai bay after a wonderful honeymoon. Will run over a few points,

The food was amazing, breakfast a a large choice everything from pancakes, yogurts, bacon, egg, sausage to noodle soup. The lunch that could be had was also lovely, something as a simple sandwich turned out to be lovely. The dinners that we had ranged from the buffet meals, which were very well stocked and tasted lovely. We used to butlers tapas resturant as well and again highly recomended. We unfortunatly didnt use chef chows thai resturant so we cant comment on the service level there. Also with room service we didnt use. The only bad part of eating at this hotel is the fact there are no areas to sit in an air conditioned area it was all outdoors, but the made little differance with the lovely sea breeze.

The room we had was a semi-detached bungalow like others have said it does look a bit dated and dark but this only affected my partner on getting ready for an evening. The only thing i would say is there are a lot of critters and birds that can be loud and if you are a light sleeper they could have an impact on your sleep, i however loved the noises from the trees.

The grounds were stunning lovely trees, the rooms/cottages all built round the landscape trying to remain hidden and blend in. Again as others have said there can be a lot of steps and walking so if there are any problems with walking this could be an issue. The walk to breakfast felt good after a few days lol. The only bad thing regarding the grounds was the beach, my partner had no problems with it but to me it felt like walking on broken glass, very painfull sharp feeling stones rather than soft sand, but this would be nature, not the hotel.

The location of the hotel for what we wanted was perfect, around 15 mins from cheweng and around 20 from bophut. You have to use the hotels own taxi service to get to these places for 400 baht. The hotel is within walking distance to the nearest built up area were there are banks, shops and other resturants.

To sum up, the worst points i could think of would be the beach, no aircon whilst eating and the amount of walking up hills and steps. Other than these very minor things this is one of the best hotels with the warmest caring staff i have stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmac788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,522
    260
    61
    19
    9
See reviews for
353
1,205
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We spent our Honeymoon at the Tongsai in mid march, IT WAS PERFECT.

things one needs to know prior to going;
1; tongsai bay like its name states is a group of cottages and villas so expect to be doing a bit of walking to and from your room/villa and up and down the hill.
2: this is NOT a brand new marble clad hotel, so if thats what you want go to the hilton.

with those two thing in mind we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, that please has a very calm and private ambiance and the walk from our room (211) up on the cliff top over looking the bay and islands was great. We loved the 4 post bed with daily greetings written on the covers in pedals by the staff and a sizable balcony with a couple of ly-low lounges and a bath .... whats not to like.

both pools on the facility are well kept and nicely separated by kids and non-kids for those who just want to unwind.

i've actually got too much to say about the beach bar and restaurant and the main restaurant so im just going to give them both a 9/10 and the EXTREMELY friendly staff 10/10. oh and definitely remember to hit the beach bar for twice nightly happy hours ahhh bliss.

we did a cooking class too, which was much better than we expected, and we expected it to be great. not only did we make a 5 course meal, for two people, after not being able to eat it all the kitchen staff stored the meals and re-delivered them with fresh rice etc etc to our room that night.

6 nights in the resort felt like 2-3 weeks i would recommend it to anyone wanting a romantic get away or relaxing retreat.

A1

Room Tip: rooms to the left of the pool facing the beach are very quiet and get great vistas over the rocks an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mr_Gentile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javea, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A previous reviewer mentioned this hotel grows on you - they are so right. First impressions our bungalow room perhaps a bit dated but good quality. The staff though are unbelievably good - they made our stay. The grounds, pools etc are lovely. A highlight was the Thai cookery class which was brilliant! A very friendly well run hotel of quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 8 nights at the Tongsai Bay. The charms of this resort continued to grow on us day by day. We stayed in a cottage and then were upgraded to a villa. Both had beautiful views and a bathtub on the deck. The cottage was a bit further away and the steps took a bit of getting used to, but there were golf carts available to drive us around whenever we wanted them. At first I thought that the furnishings in the rooms looked a little dated, but this was far outweighed by the beautiful surroundings, stunning view and privacy. The beach and pools are lovely and we particularly enjoyed the cocktail evening and beach restaurant BBQ. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful and made us feel very welcome and at home. We are definitely hoping to return in the future.

Room Tip: If you're not keen on steps asked for a room closer to the main part of the hotel. If you are af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJF1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend last week for three nights, we were lucky enough to stay in one of their pool villas with sea view after the staff kindly upgraded us for free - we didn't ask for it but that summed up the place, they just want you to have the best time possible! When we arrived all we could say was 'Wow', the view over the hotels private beach was amazing and things just got better. When we first saw our room we were speechless, the patio area was bigger than most of the rooms we have stayed it, an outside double bed, large bath and gorgeous pool overlooking the sea - it was perfect. The room was equally lovely. We were there around 20 minutes before a member of staff brought us some cheese sandwiches which was a lovely touch. This happened every day, biscuits or spring rolls or little meringues were brought to us, they didn't have to but the Tongsai just try that little bit harder!

The breakfasts were lovely, eggs cooked to your liking, smoothies made for you, staff once again were incredibly attentive and all seemed to remember you and were genuinely trying to do anything they could to help. Lunches by the sea were fantastic, great choice of food. Dinner was also of a very high standard and wasn't too pricey either. Cocktails were very good, very tasty and very alcoholic :)

The whole experience was nothing short of exceptional, we will be going back for sure. We got engaged whilst in Thailand last week and I think this could be an ideal honeymoon venue!

In terms of the hotel location, its not really very close to anywhere if you want to walk to places - so don't, just relax as this is what this resort is all about! I'd be amazed if you were not to like Tongsai Bay. A special thank you to Mark who was helpful, informative and made us feel at home.

It was a little pricey but it was honestly worth every single penny. Ratings out of ten - I'd give it 11, 20, 50 - I can't talk highly enough of this place. A little bit of heaven on earth. Thank you!

Room Tip: All I can say is that the pool villa was totally incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We came here 23 years ago, had happy memories and so decided to give it another go. We booked with Trailfinders, as we always do, and when I said where we wanted to stay, Ryan the agent said he'd spent his honeymoon there and it had been a great success. Well that was encouraging. Not surprisingly the place and been revamped but much in the original style. Most people stay in cottages on the hillside overlooking the beach. These are all a little different but follow a basic format: secluded veranda with a huge bath to wallow in; indoor living area with seating, TV, bar fridge, brewing equipment; huge and very comfy bed often four poster; and a modern bathroom with two basins, large shower etc and a dressing area. What more to want? Snacks and fruit are replenished daily and room service is very prompt. The three dining areas provide a variety of excellent quality Asian and European food to suit all tastes. The staff are all quite charming and some are enchanting. Look out for Khun Klin. There are few caveats. Don't expect a Caribbean sea. The water can be a little rough and therefore cloudy, but the accompanying breeze keeps you cool. If you decide to go for a boating expedition check with Mark or Leisa, who run the establishment, rather than rely on the advice of your local agent. Don't expect too much of the local villages. Samui is Tong Sai. Some people have been back ten times and we will come again. I just hope Klin will still be there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardofrushall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I am writing this review from the prospective of someone who has been in the hotel industry for 30+ years:

My experience at Tongsai Bay was a 5++++. Leesa, Mark and their team exceeded all of my expectations. The villa was awesome. It had beautiful views of the beach and the bay. I would recommend spending the extra money to upgrade to the villa.

Getting a massage on the deck of your own villa next to your private pool with the ocean sounds in the background: PRICELESS!

It is worth every dollar in relaxation and comfort. We enjoyed all of the food and beverage outlets: The beach restaurant, Butlers for Tapas and the main dining room for breakfast. The food and the service were the best I have experienced in all of my travels.

The spa services were best in class. I recommend Hong (sp) to do your massage. All the knots were gone by the time she was done.

They have figured out at Tongsai Bay...You are welcomed as a guest in their home. They treat their staff like family and it shows in the committment to making your stay memorable and relaxing.

The only critique I have is that they could not find a way to get me more time off so I could stay for a month. Oh well no one is perfect!

Room Tip: Spend the money to get a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,592 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
1.3 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#23 of 186 in Bophut
921 reviews
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Property: The Tongsai Bay
Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing