We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tongsai Bay
Nearby Hotels
Bandara Resort & Spa(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peace Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bo Phut Resort & Spa(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
US$378
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$161
OZOHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poppies Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,031)
Filter reviews
2,031 results
Traveller rating
1,665
274
62
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,665
274
62
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscottage suitehalf moonpo ladgrand villaprivate beachchef chomsseafront cottageprana spaour honeymoonbeach bistrothe cottagesoutdoor bathkoh samuifresh fruitgolf buggiesthai restaurantsplit level
Filter
Updating list...
747 - 752 of 2,031 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was our ninth visit to the Tongsai Bay and certainly won't be our last! The place simply gets better with age! Thanks so much to Mark Harrison, Hotel Manager and the wonderful team for taking care of us over the past 9 years - making sure that everything is perfect from the minute we arrive to the moment we leave - nothing is ever too much trouble! Unlike some of the other 5-star resorts on the island Tongsai Bay not only delivers luxury but has real soul - that is largely down to the amazing staff who welcome us back every year like old friends. We are already looking forward to returning next year for our 10th visit!! Kevin and Richard.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I've stayed in many 5* hotels across the world with business and leisure but I have to say the service in this hotel is by far the best i've ever stayed in. Every single member of staff that we came across genuinely loves what they do there and wants to provide you with the best possible service!

Breakfast - Amazing - the choice of food was excellent from a full english to thai breakfast, the variety was brilliant. The waffles were amazing! The smoothie lady... what a character! She was brilliant, had everyone smiling in the morning... well worth a visit.

Dinner - Great choice in the 3 different restaurants. We ate at the beach restaurant 3 nights, again, the service was fantastic, they remembered our names and always came to speak to us in the evening to ask about our stay and give recommendations of things to do.

Rooms - We stayed in room 318 a sea view cottage. The room was lovely with a great view over the ocean. The room maids were fantastic, leaving fresh fruit and biscuits in a jar in our room every day. Turn down service was at approx 8pm where more goodies were left for us. I know that many people have commented on the reviews about stairs to the cottages..I think our room was the furthest one away with lots of stairs. It took us about 10 mins each night to walk up them from the beach. Buggies are available when you call for them.

Location - perfect. On a private bay so the only people that have access are the hotel guests. There isn't much within walking distance from the hotel but the hotel does provide its own taxi's to the nearby attractions. The cost is also charged to your room so you don't need to worry about the cash. 400 bht to Chawang, 400 bht to the airport and 450 to The Cliff Restaurant.

Hotel - Plenty to do there, the gym is pretty average for those who wish to use. 1 main pool for families and then another infinity pool overlooking the ocean for adults only. Cold water and fruit brought to you daily which is complimentary. Water sports available to the hotel guests - free of change, we used this daily.
We also attended the movie night after dinner one evening. A nearly released film to watch on the beach under the stars, they even come round and give you popcorn.

Overall I can't rate this hotel enough, it was an amazing place to stay and I can't wait to come back, hopefully Xmas! I'd recommend a cottage as they are more private, spacious and have better rooms than the standard rooms. Thank you Tongsai for a great stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have stayed in some of the best places in the world... but this has it all ...It really IS paradise with a very relaxed and laid back atmosphere and we keep coming back here for more. It's set in its own private bay and all the rooms have sea views ...some with their own pools and all set in lush tropical gardens. Meet Mark Harrison the great manager who really runs this place well and whose team of staff are second to none for their friendly and attentive service. Can't wait to go back and did I mention he food ? It's all wonderful !

Room Tip: If you can afford it book a grand villas .......
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here on the second part of our honeymoon in Thailand. After a busy three days in Bangkok this was the ideal place to relax for a week. On arrival we were upgraded from the main building to a cottage suite. This was an unexpected but much appreciated surprise. The staff were very welcoming and escorted us to our room and showed us around. The views were stunning and we enjoyed them from our terrace with the complementary sparkling wine. The facilities in the room were excellent and kept with the traditional feel of the island. Rooms were serviced twice daily and water and ice topped up each time along with other little treats. Breakfast was amazing and provided a wide selection to choose from. We also enjoyed 2 barbeque buffets in the Po Lad Beach Bistro which had an excellent variety of food to sample both traditional Thai and Western. The half moon pool provided a great place to relax and enjoy the tranquillity of the surroundings whilst the main pool was located right beside the private beach with stunning views. The pool staff were constantly on hand to assist and kept our glasses topped up with iced water ... much appreciated in the 30 degree heat. Overall this hotel was perfect for our honeymoon and lived up to and exceeded all our expectations. Thank you to the staff and management for making our honeymoon an amazing one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

At the northern end of the island away from the hordes this lovely property consists of many 'cottages' and low level buildings. The pool is very large and the sea generally safe for swimming. They have two hobicats for free use. Breakfast is outstanding, a vast selection of excellent food both Thai and Western.
The hotel grounds are large and guests are transported by golf carts. We had room 207 which is very private and quiet with a lovely sea view. Our first room was too far from the pool and beach and the hotel changed our accommodation and were very helpful and even set a bottle of wine with their apology. Comfortable beds and good sheets. Staff are incredibly helpful and polite and service was five star. Two limitations. First the property looks a bit tired although very well maintained things are dated by modern hotel standards. Second the beach is like gravel and uncomfortable to walk on.

Room Tip: Room 207 is lovely
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JNWSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews