We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTION.”
Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #6 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
dundee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“PERFECTION.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I guess to sum this place up think about the golden ticket in the chocolate bar. If you are lucky enough to grab a chance to stay here all your dreams and expectations of what is magical and perfection will come true.
Marcello I don,t know what Tongsai Bay you stayed at but your comments regarding the staff couldn,t be further from the truth.
If you are choosing between Banyan Tree, 6 Senses and Four Seasons and this magnificent place choose Tongsai. You will enjoy the most luxurious time of your life!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank connorhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,482
    258
    60
    19
    9
See reviews for
338
1,184
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

First time in Samui and went for the safe (TA recommended) option! Very happy with the hotel as it was luxurious but comfortable at same time. All staff we encountered were helpful and happy with pleasant personalities. The location is really perfect as we were close to everything but always felt peaceful and quiet back at the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I went to Tongsai with a friend for a weekend away. It's located about 20 minutes away from the airport.

We stayed in a Grand Villa which we were driven to from the lobby in a buggy. In fact, every time we left the room, the buggy picked us up. In true Thai style, the room was huge, with a beautiful bathroom and our patio was big enough to host a dinner for 8. The outdoor bathtub was a fun feature.

I can't fault the service and housekeeping unexpectedly brought us fruit and sandwiches after we didn't turn up from breakfast. I suspect they wanted to make sure we were still alive from the night before!

Room Tip: The Grand Villa was very nice, especially with the outdoor jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loudecruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral, england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Tongsai Bay has a a history of great tripadviser reviews which is why we chose it and we were not disappointed.
The location, food quality, rooms and staff are all 5 star and is incredibly good value for money.
In the past 5 years, we have stayed in the Carribean, Maldives, Dubai, a cruise, Israel, Paris and Mauritius and Tongsai Bay has been the best of them all.
The hotel is well managed, the staff are efficient and friendly.
We booked a beachfront basic room which exceeded expectations and was a better room than the more expensive and higher cost rooms that we had stayed in elsewhere. It had a large outdoor terrace with a bath and 2 recliners. A comfortable seating area, a bedroom area and a large bathroom. The shower tiling was a fraction tired but other than that minor niggle, it was lovely.
Everyday freshh fruit was provided with biscuits and little meringues-all complimentary and flowers in the room too!
Then 3 days before we were coming home we were up graded to a villa with it's own pool and a terrace bigger than most hotel suites! Look at the hotel web pictures to see how fantastic these villas are!
Views from all the resort are beautiful. The half moon pool is absolutely stunning. The gym is fine as is the main pool. unlimited bottle water works a treat and is genuinely unlimited and continuously provided.
Breakfast is as good as any other hotel one and PU produces amazing fresh juices.(the waffles are fabulous too) All breads and rolls are freshly made on site and even though i'm vegetarian, the hotel looked after me superbly. We spent roughly £20 per head per night for dinner and ate in the hotel each night. (Their buffets and BBQs are amazing)
We will go back as soon as we can. You should go there too!

Room Tip: The pool villas are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stitchWirral_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

As first time visitors to Thailand, my husband and I were unsure what to expect from both the country and our choice of location and accommodation. We needn't have worried as our holiday far exceeded expectation. After three crazy days in Bangkok (Songkran began the day we arrived!) we took the short flight out to Samui.

Tongsai Bay was actually our last choice, we had wanted to stay at two other hotels on the island but both were fully booked. We are so glad they were! From the moment we arrived to the day we left we were bowled over by the warmth and hospitality of all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone genuinely appeared happy to be there.

The layout of the resort is fantastic, lots of little cottages dotted about a beautiful, natural hillside leading to a private beach and possibly the warmest pool we have ever been in. We chose to stay in the main block and requested a high floor room which was granted. The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom was large with a great shower. The bed was a little on the firm side but it just encouraged us to get up a little earlier and start the day by taking in the stunning view from the balcony. Fresh fruit and small sweet treats were left each day along with plenty of bottled drinking water.

We had no problems with animals or insects in the room as mentioned by other reviewers unless you count the visit from Gordon our friendly gecko who occasionally stopped by to say hello! The birds can be a little vocal at times put it's nothing that earplugs can't fix and is a small price to pay for a week or two in paradise.

The food at the Tongsai was excellent. The choice at breakfast was extensive, freshly cooked and tasty and the Thai restaurant was delicious. Service at both was quick and friendly. Although we didn't eat at the beach restaurant the menu did look appetising and the setting was lovely. We did make happy hour however and again the bar staff were great. The weekly cocktail party was also great, free drinks and live music along with the opportunity to chat to Mark the manager, a friendly, down to earth Man United supporter from Preston!

Our main concern prior to booking was the location of the hotel as it appeared to be isolated and we were worried we would be confined to the resort. The location turned out to be one of the best things about Tongsai, peaceful and relaxing during the day and a short taxi ride to Chaweng or Fisherman's village at night, perfect!

We could continue to sing the hotel's praises but unless you visit Tongsai Bay you won't truly appreciate just how special it is.

What are you waiting for?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spotcat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This is our first tripadvisor review. We are a young, well travelled couple, and have stayed in many luxurious hotels around the world but this hotel is in a different league. We looked at a few hotels on the island before booking this one and were a little apprehensive as to whether we had made the right decision, but boy, did we make the right decision!

From the moment we entered the grounds we realised we were in for a treat. The hotel itself is comprised of cottages and villas set in a secluded nature reserve located on a private cove.

Cottage

We opted for a sea view cottage which came with extras such as a bath on the balcony and a four poster bed. The view from the balcony took our breath away and the inside was clean, nicely decorated and roomy. We had previously read on tripadvisor that the interiors were dated; we didn't find this to be the case at all as the cottage fit in perfectly with its surroundings and all its amenities were modern and up to date. We had also read a review that stated that animals and creepy crawlies were rife in the rooms. This was also not the case. The room was cleaned twice a day and if you did have any unwanted guests (such as the small toad that came to say hello to us) the staff were more than happy to come and remove it for you.

Food.

The breakfast buffet is the nicest breakfast we have ever had. Everything is fresh and the catering staff are all incredibly friendly and eager to please. The choice is incredible ranging from freshly cooked pancakes and waffles, eggs cooked to order, cereals, fruits, bread, Full English, Thai, cheese, yoghurts etc etc.

There are also a number of restaurants to choose from within the hotel. Our favourite was the beach restaurant (Po-Lad) which served a range of both western and eastern dishes; all of which were delicious. There's something special about candle lit dining on your own private beach :)

Pool

There were 2 pools, the main pool and the infinity pool. Even though the hotel was at full capacity neither pool ever felt crowded and sun beds were always available. Iced water, fruit and cold towels were frequently brought to our beds by the excellent pool staff.

The hotel has its own private beach which can only be accessed through the hotel and is for guests only. The sand is corse but didn't bother us in the slightest. We were delighted to discover that the hotel provides a range of free non motorised water activities such as kayaks, wind surfs and sailing boats (you can even get free sailing lessons from the beach staff!)

The grounds

The hotel is set in a huge wooded area with rooms set back on the hillside. However this is not a problem as golf buggys are always available to take you around the hotel at your convenience.

Staff

All the staff at Tongsai bay are incredible. We have never experienced such a genuine desire to please. We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. My wife lost her wedding ring under the decking whilst we were having a drink one evening. The waitress was literally going to unscrew the entire decking the retrieve the decking. Luckily she created a hook out of paper clips and chopsticks and managed to retrieve it. My wife was also ill at one point. The staff seemed genuinely concerned and delivered breakfast in bed to our room. The hotel manager, Mark, is very approachable and down to earth and couldn't do enough to help us.

Location

Cheong mon is the local town and is a 15 minute walk away (taxis are available from the hotel and cost 150 baht each way if you don't fancy the walk). We found the restaurants here to be great value for money and the beach front bars are worth a visit.

We also visited Bophut (the Fishermans Village is a must see especially on a Friday which is market day) and Chaweng where we saw Thai boxing at the local stadium. Both of these are a 10-15 minute drive away and cost 400 baht each way via the hotel taxi service.

To conclude, if you want a private paradise on a beautiful island with gourmet food and world class service you will be hard pressed to find anywhere better than here. A truly magical experience we are already saving to go back!






Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Pboyhooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a very beautiful hotel with the cottages spread out in the hillside along the bay. The staff undoubtably make this place, from the welcoming check in with a chat from the manager Mark to the excellent service in the restaurants and around the pool. They always had a smile and were ready to help. The buggy service was quick and the security guards helpful at night when we arrived back in taxis.
Our room was generous with a wonderful balcony and had a stunning view but that really was the only problem we had all week, when we first arrived I was horrified by the number of steps to climb up to our room and in the heat and humidity we found it exhausting. The view was amazing and that was the reason we didn't ask for a move but as the holiday went on we really wished we had booked a lower room which was more accessible. From leaving for breakfast to the end of the day we didn't return to our room, it was just too difficult. Also, the restaurants have no air conditioning which didn't make for pleasant mealtimes, just a few inefficient fans.
In all we had a lovely time here but if we were to recommend it to others it would be to make sure you are ready to tackle the number of steps here.

Room Tip: Be careful which room you book, hillside cottages are private but remote with many steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ka_bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
1.3 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Property: The Tongsai Bay
Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing