We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near perfect hotel”
Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #5 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2006

Most of the accolades have been used by previous reviewers. it certainly is a very nice hotel.

The resort is built into the hillside and it is not for the feint hearted. Wherever you go there are a large number of steps. My wife and I are quite fit 50+ and steps were beginning to have an adverse effect towards the end of our 12 day stay. Having said that it is a good way to keep fit and work off the calories from the good food. The hotel will pick you up in a golf type buggy if need be.

The quality of the food is good and the staff are exceptional. The hotel has a range of accommodation to suit most pockets.

My only concern (not a complaint) is the breakfast. The choices are priced in bands (ie eggs with bacon etc but no toast. You have to opt for the bakery option for the toast). I understand from the manager (a very helpful european) that they are reviewing this.

I have no hesitation in recommending the resort for a vacation.

Incidently the hotel have a meet and great, and drop off service at the airport. Well worth the 500 baht (£7) because they can expedite matters to some degree and a taxi is 300 baht anyway.

If anybody wants more detailed information on any topic please contact me.

larry.collier@gmail.com

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Lanmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,511 - 1,517 of 1,938 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2006

It was thanks to Trip Advisor that we booked to stay at The Tongsai Bay for 14 nights as part of our Honeymoon, and we certainly made the right decision. I am stunned that anyone could have anything bad to say about this fantastic hotel.

Having read other travellers reviews I was interested to see what the service was really like, and I can honestly say we received the most genuinely friendly service that we have ever experienced. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone. From setting up your sun bed to bringing fresh cold bottled water (free of charge) to you as you laze by the pool to ensuring you get a taxi, the staff at The Tongsai Bay are superb. I even received a hand decorated birthday cake along with a bottle of champagne on my birthday in our room!!!!

The Cottage Suite where we stayed for the majority of our trip was wonderful, rustic, but beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable, however we were upgraded to a Grand Pool Villa for the last few days which was an unexpected suprise. The Grand Villa's are truely magnificent........

The grounds of the hotel are like a nature reserve and the hotels emphasis on keeping things natural is wonderful. As the cottages and villas are quite spread apart you call for a gold buggy to come and pick you up to take you to where you want to go...........so no fumes!!!!!!!!

The prana spa is beautifully although somewhat overpriced when compared to the massages available in Chaweng, where you can receive a full hour massage for around £3.50 however the experience of using the spa once was great.

If you are thinking about staying somewhere special..........then look no further than The Tongsai Bay.............This place is very special

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Eternity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2006

Tongsai Bay is a beautiful place to go and unwind. The staff are first class, the food is excelent and certainly our room very nice indeed. We stayed in a cottage suite and were lucky enough to have our own balcony rather than sharing a balcony with a screen between as some of them have. Walking around the resort it seems there is considerable variation between the size shape and location of the cottage suites. I won't publish the number of ours as I gather it causes them huge problems in everybody chasing the same rooms, but if anyone is really interested email me direct.

Ive not desire to repeat what what has been written by others but the points I would make are:

This is a quite resort with very little in the way of enterainment. This eans it is fantastic to unwind, but if you need entertaining in the evening then you won't find a great deal.

The cottage suites are exactly as shown on various webstes. You could probably find better rooms at the Everson or Satiburi and certainly they are close to being in need of an upgrade. If you are extra fussy about you room then this could be a probablem. We are used to 5* accomodation and didn't find them a problem.

We did the 1/2 day Thai cooking course with Chef Chom who is a wonderfully warm and endearing character. Again highly recomended.

Having had a good look round the Island and the location of other hotels I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as the best place to stay overall. The wonderful staff, beautiful and peacful location and the food are the major plus points.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Andrew&Pippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2006

We loved our stay in tongsai bay. It was our last night in Thailand and it was a bit of a splurge but totally worth it. We got there early on the day we checked in and didn't leave until late the next evening we when flew out of Thailand to get our absolute money's worth. Even the cheapest rooms are beautiful and luxurious. The service is excellent and all the staff members were so nice. Breakfast included personalized pastries! They even had a free cocktail party on the beach the evening we left.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank IngridL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2006

Can’t believe some people don’t like this place - we thought it was amazing and we are very particular about where we stay!

We stayed at Tongsai at the beginning of July. We started our holiday by staying at poppies for 2 nights, then on to Tongsai for 5 nights and then Bangkok for 2 and then stopped off in Dubai for 4 nights on the way home.

We preferred Tongsai to Poppies as Tongsai is in a much quieter and relaxing location. No people trying to sell you things on the beach etc and its perfect for a chilled out holiday. The staff were excellent - much better than poppies and couldn’t do enough for you. There were plenty of restaurants to choose from - we ate at Floyds and Chef Choms and both were amazing.

There are also some free watersports like canoes and sale boats which are fun.

We stayed in a beachfront suite - we did want a cottage villa but there were non available but we were happy with the beachfront and it was a really nice and spacious room - much bigger than poppies!

We also had a look at the grande villas as one night the staff invited us to a free cocktail night in one of the villas - they are amazing if you can afford it!

We also hired a jeep for the day which I would recommend and went around the island - only takes an hour! We did the waterfalls and went elephant trekking which was fantastic!

We also would recommend Cheweng Mon beach for eating which is a 2 minute taxi drive from Tongsai and is a very chilled out and relaxing place. We ate at Bongoes and it was amazing and very cheap! We would also recommend Poppies restaurant - amazing thai food, Prego and the bar across the rood from that 'bar c - great place!, fisherman’s village - went to a nice Italian place there but have forgot the name!, five islands restaurant - amazing views! and the Brazilian place in cheweng.

I initially wanted to stay at the Sala Samui but that was fully booked which I was very disappointed about. We did actually have a look at the Sala Samui but I must admit I didn’t think it was that amazing as none of the rooms had sea views or any view for that matter and seem to be in a bit of a concrete jungle!

Overall I would say this is an excellent place for honeymooners or couple looking for some relaxation and to get away from busy cheweng and would definitely stay here again! There is one bad point and that is the beach – the sand is awful and very hard to walk on but that didn’t bother us at all. I did like Samui although it was allot more commercialised than I expected especially if you have been to the Maldives! McDonalds, Pizza Hut , Tesco on the island spoils it!! Perhaps if you are looking for somewhere less commercialised go to the smaller islands but if you are going to Samui and want a bit of relaxation stay here!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank LouiseandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2006

We have just returned from an 11 day stay at Tongsai Bay. We chose Tongsai as a stopover whilst returning from the UK to Australia for pure R&R. It proved to be an excellent choice.

We can't comment on the quality of the hotel rooms as we booked a "Sea Front" Cottage . Anyone considering staying in a cottage should seriously consider upgrading to a "Sea Front Cottage". The extra THB 1,000 per day is money will spent. We stayed in Room 208 which is ideally located. Extremely private & quiet. We understand Room 209 is a popular cottage as well. As past reviews point out, the cottages are a bit tired but extremely clean and comfortable. The balcony with it's large bath, day beds and unhindered views across the bay make up for other shortcomings. The King size bed was undoubtedly one of the best beds we have slept in. A three minute walk from our room down a steep paved and well stepped path and you're on the beach/pool/restaurants. The climb back up is a little harder however you can always opt for a golf cart to pick you up if so inclined. The gardens are immaculately maintained. The gym is rather small however adequate with modern equipment. The breakfasts were great with a convenient finish time of 10.30 a.m. for those who enjoy a sleep in.

Ate at Chef Choms, Floyds & Butlers restaurants. Butlers was a standout. Floyd's is nice also for midday beach snacks. A lot cheaper and fantastic eating can be found in Chaweng or North at Fishermans Village. All are easily accessible by taxi (THB 300) each way.

As other reviewers point out, Tongsai caters primarily for those looking for a quiet relaxing holiday. Clientelle appeared to be predominatly young couples with a sprinkling of others a little older, like us. There are no noisy motorised water sports or beach vendors in your face. Chaweng beach has these should you wish to up the pace a bit.

The staff at Tongsai make the place work. We could not fault any of them. Two very minor problems, a faulty room safe and cistern were fixed within 15 minutes of reporting them. Great service. One other recommendation. We used Tongsai for our airport transfers. Cost is a mere THB 500 each way compared with a taxi THB 300 each way. Big difference is the Hotel Hostess greets you at the airport and accompanies you to the Hotel. Your holiday at Tongsai starts at the airport with personal service. The same applies upon your departure. The hostess arranges your check in and seat allocation (which coincidentally was at the front of the aircraft, first off once landed!) as well as payment of departure tax. Extremely efficient.

The weather during our stay was great. Perhaps a little more sunshine would have been nice. If you get the opportunity it is well worth hiring a car (jeep) for a day to tour the island proper. Hire a motorbike if you enjoy adventure sports! There appears to be no road rules on Koh Samui nor road rage.

We also had the opportunity to witness, from a disceet distance, the wedding of a previous reviewer from Sheffield, England. Spectacular setting on the beach for such an event.

We had only one regret about our stay at Tongsai and that was watching Australia loose to Italy in the World Cup!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Ashy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2006

I feel compelled to write this review, even though it was late last year when we visited.

Our travel operator has the following hotels graded as deluxe.

Four Seasons - Chiang Mai
Santaburi - Koh Samui
Tongsai Bay - Koh Samui

We arrived at the Tongsai Bay after a wonderful stay at the Fours Seasons, naturally expecting the same very high level of quality we experienced there. As soon as we began the drive up to the hotel, I knew we were in for a major dissapointment, we only stayed one night before transferring to the Santaburi.

To put this hotel in a 'Deluxe' grade is criminal, be warned. Dated property, dated furnishing, level of service far inferior to other 'Deluxe' hotels we have stayed at. The property has recently had a bit of a face lift but I'm reliably informed it's still sadly lacking in any form of serious class.

We all have a certain level of luxury or class we expect from a hotel, some differs from others, obviously. Had this hotel been advertised as 'Medium' I wouldn't have a single complaint. If you work hard all year long and your considering this hotel in Samui and expect a classy, exquisite and luxurious experience, go to the Santaburi.

For the record, even our rep in Samui agreed that the rating was unbelievable for the hotel.

I give a 'Terrible' rating as it's listed as 'Deluxe', it would be an excellent Medium class hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank theManxMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6.5 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
4 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,643 reviews
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,445 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#4 Family Hotel in Bophut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £171 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing