We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #39 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

nice place and I like the swimming pool and the beaches

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aong101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

Had a lovely time at Samui Palm Beach, clean, beautiful grounds, it really is huge with some really lovely touches but seems like a "ghost town" hotel! The rooms are lovely and clean and the service you receive is excellent, a gentle knock on your door each night to give you clean beach towels, the free bus shuttle into and back from Chaweng Beach and lovely smiles from all staff, (apart from restaurant, not the friendliest bunch! We only ate in there once.) pools are a little tired looking on closer inspection but are beautifully set. There is no real bar area for you to sit and have a drink in which is really odd, hence, no entertainment, socialising etc. It is situated in the restaurant, and each time we went there, there was no-one in there! The pool bar area was desolate, looked like it had never been used. We ate in a couple of the restaurants along the beach which runs alongside the hotel and had no complaints about any of them. The beach "looky lookys" are lovely and friendly and DO take no for an answer, no hassling, just smile and shake your head no if you are not interested and they leave you alone.
All in all, I would definitely recommend for a "quiet" stay in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TAMJLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Fantastic resort- lovely staff, great position outside of busy Chaweng, 2 of the 3 pools a little old but all beautiful and clean

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We "walked" In off the beach having been disappointed in the hotel we had booked for our holiday. The Receptionist was very helpful and showed us the rooms available. The gardens are very well maintained and plenty of space gives a lovely feel to the resort. We had a room one back from the beach which was very peaceful but near enough to restaurant and pool.

The room was well maintained though the shower in the bath could be improved. Staff and service were excellent and plenty of choice for breakfast. We also ate lunch in the restaurant and this was good value.

Pool very good and plenty of lounges always available. Someone to go round offering drinks would be a welcome addition.

Free bus into town available but Fishermans Village only a 20 Minute walk along the beach.

Room Tip: Would go for one either on the beach or one row back.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lamorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed at Samui Palm Beach for 8 days. Had a good stay. The rooms are a bit old, but nice. They sort of have a mildew smell, but that doesn't matter because you should be outside in Samui. The resort has 2 pools, a big long winding one, and a smaller one. Its also right on a beautiful beach. Has a good restaurant, good breakfast. Fast wifi for cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikkel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Found our stay a pleasure even though a freak monsoon his the region for our stay (in the dry season too).
Great location without being in a manic spot. We had a bungalow just one row back and could hear the waves lapping down on the beach, bliss! Rooms with character if slightly dated. Great to have fresh towels delivered daily. Restaurant food was great, staff mostly friendly (couple of non-smile's in the restaurant).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SidneyBernstiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We were in the new-ish Royal Wing, which had good sized rooms. Room was very quiet with little outside noise audible. Room a bit minimalist in design but not too bare and had a nice gold coloured wood carving on one side and a ornate gold coloured mirror on the other side. Enough power points including a few multi country points on the skirting board so one didn't need an extra adapter. The room had a sofa, 2 armchairs & 1 desk/table with 1 desk chair, which were fine but not really comfy - but Thai's generally don't understand the concept of comfortable furniture, tends to be more practical or attractive rather than comfy! Also 2 chairs on decent size balcony, ours overlooked the main pool. A clothes drying rack was also on the balcony. Beds are fine, mattresses a bit on the hard side but bearable, as are pillows. Room was extremely clean and clearly well maintained. Good space for hanging clothes plus drawers/shelves for clothes and other items. Curtains have good backing so means room remains dark in the mornings, even when the sun comes higher. Lots of good lighting in the room and bathroom, including some of the biggest bedside lamps (Celadon style) I have seen in a hotel – so good lighting to read by, brill. Aircon was also excellent quality, though turned off when one opened the patio door more than a centimetre. Small mini-bar, good sized mini safe, tea/coffee making facilities in room. There was even a hotel torch and an umbrella provided. Bathroom part divided into sink, toilet and separate shower and a bath. Good range of shampoos etc. Shower pressure a bit on the low side but adequate. TV CRT rather than flat screen but picture quality fine. Had cable TV and has about 20 channels, of which half in Thai and half in various European Languages. Has both CNN and BBC News 24.
Each room main door has on the outside a large (half the door) painting of a traditional Northern Thai rural scene, very pleasant, especially for me as generally in the scene were 1 or 2 topless, or near topless Thai women, eg dressing, bathing etc. Every room in the Royal Wing at least (not the villas) had these doors Best hotel corridors I have ever walked down, I can say. Almost worth staying at the hotel just for the doors! The bathroom door in our room also had a large painting on wood though that was of a more boring rural theme. The layout of the hotel was a bit confusing at first but OK when one got used to it.
The main 'infinity style' pool is meant to be the longest hotel pool in Samui and it certainly was long, though more in an elongated S shape with one end being a shallow kids section. Main pool was around 1.6m deep except at the kids end. Water very clean and pool looked in excellent condition. Some leaves in the pool but not much and can't be helped as there are many trees and shrubs along the sides of the pool - which makes this pool far more attractive than the awful very sterile pools that you see at so many hotels elsewhere. No lifeguards of course but plenty of lifebelts around the pool in case anyone got into difficulties. Also another more conventional sized 'infinity style' pool by the Trade Winds Restaurant which we didn't try but it also looked clean and in good condition. Lots of sun lounger chairs around both the main pools and along the edge of the property by the beach. Beach looked clean and attractive though we didn't try swimming in the sea as some reviewers had said it had a muddy bottom at Bophut. Bophut beach itself though was far nicer than Chawaeng Beach or Lamai Beach, in our opinion.
The main, Trade Winds, restaurant was very pleasantly done, overlooking the sea on one side and the gardens on another, with large wooden shutters instead of windows, which were mainly kept open so often a nice breeze. Buffet breakfast in the Trade Winds was quite decent, although not wonderful. Had about 12 hot dishes, Thai and European, of which about half changed daily. Plus cereals, fresh bread (inc rye), croissant, pastries etc and a range of cold meats and usually 2 cheeses, plus a good choice of fresh fruit. Also one of the chefs did omelets or poached/fried egg to order. Coffee a bit strong but OK. Also had dinner there the first night which was fine, quality reasonable and prices higher than on the main road of course but just about exactly what we would have expected to pay in a 4 star hotel. There are 2 other restaurants at the hotel, including a Chinese, but they only operate in peak season so were closed when we were there.
Very nice 'Residents Lounge' area with aircon and sofas and chairs and a TV with DVD player plus current newspapers. Also had half a dozen PCs available in the Lounge. I had brought my own laptop so just bought a WIFI Access card for Unlimited Usage for 7 days – they had other options available. At only 300 baht for the week I thought that very reasonably priced. WiFi reception in our bedroom was good and access speeds acceptable. The hotel also had a decent sized car park, a massage service in a villa in the garden, as well as in house tailor and a tours desk in the main building – though we didn't use any of those. Nor did we use any of the various lifts they had in different parts of the hotel as only one of them was actually working! Ah well, at least with only 3 stories to the top floor it wasn't too difficult for us to use the stairs. At the east end near the beach there was also an OK equipped gym and an open sided pool table with bar area and seating – and another small swimming pool! All the staff that we met were friendly and very helpful. Maybe not the most polished but more than acceptable.
Airport pick up arranged for us at 500 baht per van/mini-bus, about the same as a taxi from the airport to Bophut area according to the airport web site. Also the hotel had a free shuttle to the main beach, Chawaeng, every evening, out at 1900 and return at 2300 – though we didn't use as it was too late in the evening for us. I think the hotel is actually owned by Bangkok Airways and it was obvious it was used as their staff hotel as lots of Bangkok Airways pilots and cabin staff around in the mornings. Plus much of the crockery had the Bangkok Airways logo on it!
So, an excellent hotel in our opinion and well worthy of its 4 star status. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: No rooms look out over the sea that we could see except Villas A01-A09 & A29 which are by the be...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Arthurrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#18 of 184 in Bophut
991 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#45 of 184 in Bophut
1,599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#36 of 184 in Bophut
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lawana Resort
Lawana Resort
#78 of 184 in Bophut
341 reviews
2.7 mi away
Saboey Resort and Villas
Saboey Resort and Villas
#42 of 184 in Bophut
491 reviews
2.3 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#10 of 184 in Bophut
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: 175/3 Thaveerat-Pakdee Road | Suratthani, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#30 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#45 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £46 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Palm Beach Resort is located just 15 minutes from the airport on Bophut beach on the north of the island. With stunning views of Koh Phangan Island our beach is one of the most beautiful settings you will ever encounter. At 270 meters, it is the longest beach-front of any resort on the island. There are a total of 127 rooms, separated to 2 zones. Deluxe has 90 Rooms and Deluxe Triple 12 Rooms with own terrace and balcony. Villas 24 Rooms and 1 Royal Villas with Garden & Sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Palm Beach Hotel Bophut
Samui Palm Beach Resort And Hotel
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing