We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only came home to book to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #19 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2008

Where to begin?
Thought we should write this review after reading some indifferent reviews. My wife and I have been to many high class hotels in the past and have both come to the conclusion this is the best we have stayed in.
On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by assistant front desk manager and shown to the library where we were given cold towels and a welcome drink whilst we were checked in.
We then met with the front desk manager who told us about the resturants and bars and gave us our room key and took us to our room.
Porters brought up our luggage after about 2 minutes.
We stayed in a deluxe room which looks just as on the web site/brochure. Massive bath for 2 with sliding glass doors into the main room. Very nice huge bed which stands on a platform, mini bar, tea/coffee maker,tv with dvd player,large double wardrobe with plenty of hangers,safe,hair drier,bath robes, slippers and flip flops. Sliding glass doors open on to balcony with table and chairs and built i large sofa over looking the gardens. Everything was spotless and kept clean very well during our stay by our cleaner who always left towel sculptures or sweets. She also replenished the mini bar. The bed was turned down every evening with tomorrows weather forecast written on a leaf left on the bed. (Wife looked forward to the leaf every night when we returned to the room). Food/drinks were of outstanding quality from pool snacks to "Dining By Design". Staff were always helpful and met you with a smile. Make sure to look out for Lily(f and b concierge)-we wanted to bring her home. Some people have mentioned about the price of food but you can not put a price on that sort of quality. Everything was perfect especially the valentines night dinner. We had ours in a pavillion in the grounds with our own chef cooking on the stove and our own waitress for the night. Beautiful 3 course dinner and champagne cost about £190 and worth every penny.(picture of main course attached). Had a free head and neck massage at the spa. The wife had a few more treatments while we were there and said they were well worth the money. Swimming pool very clean with plenty of sun beds. Even though the hotel was 100% full there were still empty beds at 10am. The beach is not brilliant but is plenty good enough to lay out and get a nice tan. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from Fishermans village where there are many shops, bars and resturants. Only went two places, The Shack is a very busy grill house with great food and the other was a bar called sirocco, friendly british couple owned , with live entertainment.
From check in to check out the whole stay was amazing.
We will be going back to the travel agent monday to book for Thai new year next year in April. Can't wait.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank diggerdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,245)
There are newer reviews for Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,680 - 1,686 of 2,245 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2008

I had read a lot of reviews. Some had highlighted the negatives pretty well. But I forgot all that when I reached there. It was awesome.
The reception was very friendly. They went out of their to help us on every possible occasion. It was the most relaxed time I've had since long.
Postives
- Great service
- Awesome infinity pool
- I stayed on the ground floor deluxe room opening into the garden. Loved it.
- Close to fisherman's village.

Negatives
- The beach is so-so. Coarse sand
- Expensive place. especially the spa. But this need not be a concern since there are hundreds of others around the place

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank m340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2008

Firstly I will point out we did Legends Mauritius in 2006 (we gave a 5*) then Melia Cayo Santa Maria in Cuba in 2007 (we gave a 3*) so I may make comparisons.

I am giving this hotel a 4* plus because it's nearly as good as Legends but not quite and much much better than the Melia.

I will start with the negatives first (only slight ones).

1. This hotel needs to go adult only. For the last 3 days of our stay, a family of about 7 or 8 (4 kids) turned up and were running around shouting through the corridors and using the jacuzzi as a kids play pool. The ignorant parents/nanny of these kids had absolutely no consideration for other guests at the Hotel. I'm ashamed to say they were from the UK but no doubt have more than one passport if you catch my drift.

2. I wasn't too keen on the items in the room that were "for sale". they need to be there for free or not at all.

3. Hotel Restaurants - very expensive.

4. There is a building site next door so you need to be at the left hand side of the hotel (looking at the hotel as you arrive). Please be aware that if you are off to the left the building site will not impact on your holiday at all, however if you are off to the right then I imagine you may end up being disappointed.


Anyway he positives

1. Very peaceful (until the last 3 days) it was so relaxing, lovely pool and friendly staff and the theme was very much of relaxation and peace.

2. Rooms, top quality and the attention to detail is fantastic, the staff deliver gifts (free) to your room every night with the weather forecast written on a leaf for the following day. The bath is huge and the bed is bigger than kingsize. TV (with a good choice of channels)and DVD players are in the rooms. Balcony facing both onto the beach and into the gardens....amazing.

3. Pool - lovely and warm with a unique style of tiling and decoration.

4. Nice quiet beach front but pretty unremarkable.

5. Food in Hotel although expensive is some of the best food I have ever eaten in particular the full moon restaurant.

6. Location is fantastic a 5 minute walk to the Fishermans village with some good little restaurants and bars and is nice and quiet and clean....not like Chaweng which is noisy and stinks and the beach is dirty there too. Take my advice Bhoput is the place to go and if you want to party then a 100 baht tuk tuk will get you to Chaweng in 10 mins should you want to.

7. Staff are genuinely nice people and you can tell that it is part of the Thai makeup as opposed to people "just doing their job"


Please feel free to contact me should you need to know more about this hotel...I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Sessay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2008

The Anantara is an amazing experience in itself. It's in a lovely quite resort of Bhoput, with some fab restaurants around the vicinity. Eating in the hotel itself was quite expensive, especially compared to Thailand prices, nevertheless it was fantastic food! The hospitality and the service is superb. We went there for our honeymoon and it was romantic and so so relaxing. Attention to small details made the Anantara stand out from other hotels. Rose petals in our bath (and on our bed_, chocolate cake upon arrival etc.
Finally a visit to the Elemis spa is essential. I had a 2 hour package. Although expensive compared to a massage on the beach, it was the most amazing experience. I can't wait to go again!
Definitely recommended.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank skipthesunshineloer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2008

ANATARA is exclusive 5 star resort on the Bo Phut beach.
Attractive prices from Baht 8'000.- (Deluxe room) to 24'000.-

www.anantara.com

Quite unique entrance of resort from outside main road, and great lobby entrance.
3 super restaurants... Very nice garden.
Great swimming pool ( I like the bar inside the swimming pool)
Very nice decorated rooms.

ANATARA is 5 minutes walk from Fisherman Village, where
you can find many excellent local restaurants, bars and shops
just located at the end of Bo Phut beach.

15 minutes transfer from Ko Samui airport

Overall excellent resort.. Will definitvely come back to ANANTARA .

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sushi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2008

Very overpriced, rooms are of a low standard (more 3 star Motel than its 5 star Hotel price tag) and hotel management not responsive. We arrived on Christmas eve and while we were told that there was compulsory dinner that evening did not expect to pay a ridiculous $360+tax for a meal that was probably worth $100! We had to have our room changed because the first room had a few carpentry problems. However, we ran out of hot water in the second room and the bathroom door would not close, they did sort out the hot water issue, but then the toilet began to leak! This was not fixed! One night the hotel immediately next to Anantara had a party where the loud music carried on until 5am and during a spa treatment we had to endure the sounds of cement mixers. When we requested to see the manager to complain personally on check out, he was 'not available' and the junior manager who did come out was not quite as responsive as we would have liked but this is probably due to him being junior. The general staff are however very polite.

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank BarbieJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

This is a really nice hotel in a great location fronting a lovely beach. There are nice gardens and a good size pool. But it is expensive and not up to 5 star standard. The rooms are nice, but not great, with a huge marble bath and the service particularly at the front desk is excellent and friendly which you would expect from the Thai people.

I did feel a little harassed by the staff though over breakfast when they approach you about spa treatments and dinner reservations while I had breakfast each morning. I don't think it appropriate that they try to sell services while you are having a meal. I also strongly objected to the notice in the room which stated that there would be a 500 baht fee (fine) if outside food and drink was brought into the room.

Food costs are very high. I was there over Christmas and it was compulsory to attend the Christmas dinner at about US$220 per head. They then charged for drinks on top of that - maybe they could have supplied soft drinks and water to be included in the meal cost. Breakfasts are great but make sure they are included in your room rate otherwise they are expensive.

The Siam banquet with a bit of a culture show was double the cost of a similar meal / show at a 5 star hotel in Bangkok.

The Fishing Village just a short walk away has a great selection of good quality restaurants. I would recommend people eat there or one of the restaurants along the beach in the opposite direction to the Fishing Village.

Overall the location is great and I think one of the prettiest beaches on the island but there are better places to stay such as the Peace Resort & Spa. I had high expectations but was a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ozallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
3.7 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 184 in Bophut
1,603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 184 in Bophut
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
6.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,405 reviews
3.7 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#17 of 184 in Bophut
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort

Address: 99 / 9 Bophut Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bophut
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#11 Family Hotel in Bophut
#14 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £109 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a tranquil stretch of sand, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa offers guests inimitable luxury comforts coupled with world renowned Thai hospitality. Enjoy water sports on the Gulf of Thailand's placid warm waters whilst residing at our elegant Samui resort. Soak in the sun by Anantara's elegant beachfront pool with stunning sea views or on Bophut's peaceful beach. Unwind with one of our specially developed Anantara spa packages. Dine on fiery Thai curries and handmade Italian pastas overlooking the ocean. Anantara Bophut presents a Koh Samui resort lifestyle that is quite unlike any other, from Bill Bensley designed tropical gardens which complement the charms of Fisherman's Cove on Bophut Beach, to southern Thai architecture which reflects our local cultural heritage, and world class amenities enhanced by Anantara's unique design touches. A wealth of leisure facilities and experiences from windsurfing and sailing to spa, beach yoga, tennis, cooking classes and area excursions help you to make the most of Koh Samui's stunning natural and cultural attractions. While complimentary Wi-Fi Internet at our Lobby and Library, in the Eclipse Bar, High Tide and Full Moon restaurants, as well as poolside, allows you to keep up to date with the world. In short, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa brings you all of the island's riches with Anantara's distinctive gracefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, TravelUp, Travelbag, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bophut Hotel Bophut
Anantara Bophut Resort And Spa
Anantara Koh Samui Hotel
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing