We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best small hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

We spent 5 nights at the Anantara whilst on honeymoon. This is a fantastic small hotel and the attention to detail is superb.

Our first night was spent in an excellent suite, after that we had a standard room but this was superb and we had plenty of space.

It's the little touches with this hotel that make it so special, each night they leave a fresh green leaf on the bed which has the next days weather written on it.

The breakfast was overpriced and not worth the expense. There are plenty of restaurants just a short walk away in 'Fishermans Village'.

However the Italian restaurant the overlooks the pool at night had a great menu and teh food was first class.

We would certainly head back to this hotel.

Tip - If you are looking for a great place to eat try 'The Library' in Chaweng.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Scudamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,314
    450
    161
    51
    24
See reviews for
516
1,093
49
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2008

We stayed at the Anatara for 5 nights on our 2 week honeymoon. We loved the place, we stayed in a suite with large bath and bed. Little treaures were left on our bed each night which included bananas and dipping chocolate, fresh fruit and petals to name a few. Room was very clean and spacious. Get up early and reserve your sun spot with towel and book (not supposed to but everyone did). Breakfast is yummy and the hotel resturants ok.
Staff were wonderful and it was great to have a bit of luxrury on our honeymoon - Phuket was next which wasn't as relaxing. All in all a memorible honeymoon and would love to go back there again!

  • Liked — view from pool
  • Disliked — not much to do outside hotel
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in November in a Royal Anantara Suite, which I can highly recommend. It is located on the very end of the hotel closest to the beach and we found it quite spacious with a lovely big bed, a sitting area, bar area, huge bath and separate shower and toilet, along with 2 balconies, one which looked over the pool and the other that looked over the beach. We spend a lot of time on the balconies when we didn't feel like going down to the pool. Breakfast had a lot of variety and the food was very fresh but didn't enjoy the hard sell from some of the staff regarding their activities. We had dinner at both restaurants and enjoyed the thai the most - we had the chef prepare the soup next to us at the table which was very interesting. We also enjoyed "Dining by Design" in one of their sala's which was very romantic and highly recommended. Another couple had theirs on the beach on another night and that looked beautifully set up also. The pool and jacuzzi area was very pleasant although I think if you are the sort of person who likes a sunbed in the full sun they may be hard to come by but we didn't have a problem. To summarise, we enjoyed it immensely but may not rush back.

  • Liked — The room & location
  • Disliked — The mosquitoes!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2008

the anantara hotel is a top class hotel in the best location on the island the staff were very good and the rooms fine the pool area fantastic and i would recommed this resort to any one 400 barts to airport 3oo barts to cheawang

  • Liked — location staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank evin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2008

I stayed at the Anantara for a couple of days in early March and loved the place.

The hotel is ideally located: not too far from the (cute) airport but far enough away from the crowds.

The staff are fantastic: to be met at the door and greeted by name is impressive and makes for a great start to the stay. In-fact the majority of the front office staff always made a point of addressing me by name which is I'm sure down to the excellent management.

The gardens are very relaxing and I spent a blissful couple of hours dozing in one of the Sala's. A member of staff came up to me just as I awoke to ask if I needed a refreshing drink. Attention to detail without being obtrusive!

I spent a full day around the pool - there was was plenty of space and loungers even at the "peak" time. The pool itself was never busy. The beach was perfectly good - safe swimming from what I could tell. I reccommend a walk along to Fisherman's Village for a bit of variety.

I had breakfast both mornings in the restaurant - no problems at all - a good selection on the buffet and the "hot" station for eggs etc. Again the staff were charming.

The one negative .... I wasn't able to spend more time there!

  • Liked — The quality of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qualitytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
downtown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

we 've just came back from our holiday. although there were some noisy from construction (out side), it was great. the staff were quite friendly.it is not so far from the airport. we like the swimming pool and the garden, in the evening it was romantic. you should go...

  • Liked — swimming pool, garden
  • Disliked — bar
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2008

We stayed at Anantara 7-14 March 2008. First time to Koh Samui. Previously twice to Phuket.
The hotel is smaller than some we've stayed at but not an issue. The staff were the best yet. The grounds and pool fantastic although some bugs about due to all the greenery and water features. Sprays etc supplied but be prepared.
Breakfasts were great. Other meals expensive and we ate out. Plenty of restaurants on road to Fishermans Vilage (5 minutes walk). We like Shades and Smiley particularly for Thai food (also western) and the Shack for the best steak ever had. Avoid the Italian in Fishermans Village - it's a rip off!
Rooms were fine, but the bed is very low and on a platform ... could be awkward if not too mobile.
We had no problems (as reported by some previous reviewers) with taking supplies into room, or of agressive marketing of spa facilities.
Yes the sand is a bit gritty but no two beaches are the same ... and for previous reviewers who say the beach is small - the 'allocated' section may be a bit small but you also have a mile or so either side !
We went into Chaweng once (300 baht taxi). That was enough ! You can get everything you want/need in Fishermans Village and along the street outside the hotel.
Great time, great hotel.

  • Liked — Staff, grounds
  • Disliked — Cost of meals, spa
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JerryBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
3.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
0.1 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
3.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
3.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort

Property: Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Address: 99 / 9 Bophut Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bophut
#11 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#11 Family Hotel in Bophut
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a tranquil stretch of sand, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa offers guests inimitable luxury comforts coupled with world renowned Thai hospitality. Enjoy water sports on the Gulf of Thailand's placid warm waters whilst residing at our elegant Samui resort. Soak in the sun by Anantara's elegant beachfront pool with stunning sea views or on Bophut's peaceful beach. Unwind with one of our specially developed Anantara spa packages. Dine on fiery Thai curries and handmade Italian pastas overlooking the ocean. Anantara Bophut presents a Koh Samui resort lifestyle that is quite unlike any other, from Bill Bensley designed tropical gardens which complement the charms of Fisherman's Cove on Bophut Beach, to southern Thai architecture which reflects our local cultural heritage, and world class amenities enhanced by Anantara's unique design touches. A wealth of leisure facilities and experiences from windsurfing and sailing to spa, beach yoga, tennis, cooking classes and area excursions help you to make the most of Koh Samui's stunning natural and cultural attractions. While complimentary Wi-Fi Internet at our Lobby and Library, in the Eclipse Bar, High Tide and Full Moon restaurants, as well as poolside, allows you to keep up to date with the world. In short, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa brings you all of the island's riches with Anantara's distinctive gracefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bophut Hotel Bophut
Anantara Bophut Resort And Spa
Anantara Koh Samui Hotel
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing