We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #18 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Having stayed at Anantara Phuket, this was a bit of a let down. We drove from Penang to Koh Samui with a one year old and we have informed the hotel in advance. We were drop dead tired upon arriving. Check in was quite a let down. We were told if our room is not ready, we can use the hospitality room but they told us our room will be ready in 15 minutes and hospitality room not available. Fine.... we will wait. After 1/2 hour, they told us they need another 20-30mins and told us to wait at the restaurant. Then i asked if any rooms are available for upgrade. Our request was just ignored.

After an hour (we had our brunch whilst waiting) we were led to our room which was quite small seeing that we need space for the baby cot. The lady we brought us to our room suggested an upgrade which i got quite annoyed coz i already wanted it in the first place! Nevertheless, she was quick to show us a new room which was more than double the size of the first and we took it and quickly settled down.

After that, everything was quite alright... Just that the service level was just not there? Staffs were not as warm as we'd expect. In fact, we found the housekeeping staffs the most hospitable ones.

Our room, a suite had an amazing view! And the bathroom was awesome. A very big tub which was good for our one year old to play in because it rained all afternoons we were there!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank weennee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear weenee

Greetings from Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with us and other readers here on TA.

While we are happy to read that you and your family enjoyed the hotel, its faciltiies and the friendliness of our housekeeping team your comments about your check in experience has not been unnoticed.

After having checked with the front office team it seems there might have been a slight miscommunication from our side. Indeed your inital requested room category was not available at your arrival around 11:30 as the hotel was running a very high occupancy. Your request for an eventual upgrade was not ignored as actually the higher room category was not available either as the room was still occupied at the time you requested (however was cleaned and available at the same time your other room became available) and it seems that our team has not clearly communicated this to you for which i apologize.

We are very happy that overall you and your family had a great and relaxing holiday. We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we could be of any assistance for future bookings.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,238)
There are newer reviews for Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 2,238 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here two nights in July. The hotel itself is attractive, located near the Bophut shopping area (for nightlife people, the hotel is far from where the action is: Chaweng). My room was fine. My critique is this: (1) this hotel bills itself has having lots of activities and things to do. This is simply not the case. There might be one activity a day, and most likely there will be a fee. I wanted to do yoga while I was there, and there were no classes. And for stuff like scuba diving, the hotel itself doesn’t do it, they just hand you a brochure for another company (which in a place like Koh Samui, are everywhere). (2) a had one of the longest check-in times I can remember. It must have been upwards of 15 minutes. I was asked to fill-in stuff I already had online.
Also note: This place is most families and couples.
Overall, the hotel is attractive. But for the cost, you can easily find similar hotels for a lower price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Mo M

Greetings from Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our resort for your recent stay.

Even though we do appreciate that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities it is with regret to read that we have not been able to meet or exceed your expectaitons in some areas.

With the regards to our activities we apologize that on the particular day the Yoga classes was not available. Please rest assured that we will review this with the team. Referring to the Scuba Diving indeed we do use one business partner located in the hotel next to our resort but our concierge team is more than happy to assist with the booking and the Diving company is picking up all guests from our resort.

We have taken note of your comments about the check in procedure and please accept our sincere apologies if our team was not providing you with an efficient service. We have reviewed our procedures and made the necessary amendments.

Thank you very much and we would hope to have the pleasure welcoming you back to our resort .

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Unfortunately I've still yet to experience the perfect hotel stay but this was as close as I've gotten so far.

There are some many positives about this hotel that it is impossible to list them all. I arrived at the hotel after spending five nights in an average hotel in Chaweng (see my review for Banana Fan) and it was clear as soon as the taxi entered the property that this was anything but average. Check in takes place in the air conditioned library and as we arrived early our room wasn't ready but the staff arranged for us to visit the spa to receive our complimentary 15 minutes massages which were most welcome.

Although we were staying in a standard room it was very spacious and modern. The grounds are immaculately maintained and truly beautiful. The pool is huge and there are various seats and water jets throughout. Around the pool there is plenty of waiting staff available to bring both food and drink direct to your bed. There was just about enough beds for everyone but if there's a shortage then there are a number of huge beanbags to rest on.

At breakfast there was a massive selection and there really was something for everyone. Breakfast is served until 10.30am and I was impressed to see staff checking the temperature of the food at 10.15am to ensure that it was still warm despite there only being 15 minutes of the service remaining.

Again the staff overall were nearly perfect, not a single worker (including the gardeners) would pass us without a smile and a hello.

Although the rooms itself wasn't massively expensive one minor gripe I had was at the price of the drinks at the hotel. By the time you factor in the service charge and tax the price of the cocktails was just under £7 (341THB) which is a pretty high price to pay for drinks around the pool. There is a happy hour offer but it isn't great, it's 2 for 1 at the pool bar from 6.30 onwards but only if you order the same drink. I'm pretty sure that if the drinks prices were more reasonable then they would sell a whole lot more of them.

Overall it was an amazing stay and I would highly recommend it for anyone visiting Samui.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewerk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear ewerk 1

Greetings from Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post your reveiw and share your experiences with us and the other readers here at TA.

We are proud to read that we are close to perfection and that the entire team has been able to provide you such a great experience and that all the little details have made the difference.

We are looking very much forward to your next visit (hopefully to make it a perfect stay) to our resort and if we could be of any assistance for future bookings please do not hesitate to contact us directly

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at anantara . Fab hotel. Great breakfast / food . Grounds are so
Unique and well kept. On arrival we were welcomed with bubbly in our room and rose petals around the bed which was a lovely gesture . Staff are very obliging and on top of their game. Would def recommend this hotel . We would come back.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Jessica B

Greetings from Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa

First of all once again congratulations to your recent marriage. We are very glad to read that you have enjoyed your honeymoon with us and that our team has been able to provide you a very memorable experience .

We are looking forward to welcome you back to your anniversary

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I am mainly rating my dining experience at Eclipse Bar which is inside Anatara Bophut. It was good value for money and would certainly recommend the green curry chicken! I took a walk around the vicinity and indeed, they were like what the pictures say. Indeed look romantic and grand at first glance.

Room Tip: This place is filled with Western travellers. If you are Asian, be prepared to feel a bit of a fish...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PennySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear PennySingapore

Thank you very much for having visited our Eclipse Bar during your stay in Koh Samui. I will pass your comments about our Green Chicken Curry to our culinary team who will be delighted to read that their dish has received such great comments.

We would hope to welcome you as our guest during your next visit to Koh Samui

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is amazing, really beautiful, relaxing and always focused on their guests. It has a great location, near to the Fisherman's Village. You can get there in a 2 min walk. In the village there are a lot of restaurant(we recommend The Address) with great food and cheap prices. Coming back to the hotel, we felt like we were in a huge spa. It's impossible not to relax. The rooms are beautiful and very clean, with a nice balcony were you can stay during the evening and admire the nature around. Just stunning! All the staff was extremely nice, making our stay even more pleasant. If there is a place were I would come back without second thoughts that's Anantara Bophut Resort!

Room Tip: We got a 3rd floor room, which was perfect and we had a seaview even if the room category was garden...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Sim E

Thank you very much for such a nice review.

it is always nice to see that the tranquil and relaxing atmosphere in our resort is what makes the difference.

Your comments about our team members are not unnoticed and will be shared with the entire team which motivates them even more to constantly provide the best service possible to all our guests.

We are looking forward to your next visit to our resort.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I chose Anantara Bophut after too much time and research but in the end we loved the choice. We wanted our honeymoon to be perfect and Anantara helped make it one of the best trips we've ever been on.

Room: We stayed in the Jr. Garden View Suite (Room 121). The room was very nice and newly renovated. It was large enough for us. The bed was large and very comfy. The shower was also huge and the rainshower was great. We didn't really have a view (looked out to garden through a walkway) but it was nice to just stroll out of the room every morning without having to deal with steps.

Grounds: Simply amazing! There is groundskeepers constantly working on it and you can tell. Bophut is pretty busy on the ring road but you wouldn't know it when you are in the hotel on the grounds. All you hear are frogs, birds, and the trickle of the water flowing through the pond. It looks terrific when the crew lights the torches. It really takes you away from reality being on those grounds.

Staff: Equally amazing. Everyone always says hello and has a smile. We had 2 random requests...my wife dropped her phone in the Gulf at Ang Thong. We asked for a bowl of rice so she could get some of the water out. Even with some language barriers, they came through a few minutes later with a large bowl of rice which helped save the phone. I busted my flip flop and they gave me some tape to help keep it together for a day. The staff definitely made the stay better.

Location: The beach is not the best. The sand is a little coarse and the water is a bit dark but for us it was good enough to sit on a chair and relax. Definitely not the white sand and clear water like Chaweng Noi but still nice enough for us. But the best part was the proximity to Fisherman's Village. It is literally a 5 minute walk to the middle of the village where there's a lot of restaurants and bars located right on the beach. Plus plenty of shopping. Perfect location to enjoy some local food and some nicer places too. And not nearly as loud or smelly as central Chaweng.

Pool: It gets busy later in the day with families, but its a perfect spot to just relax and look out to the beach and beautiful views of the water and islands in the distance. It's a good vacation pool.

Food: We ate breakfast every morning in the restaurant and it was very good. Plenty of choices from western style foods (French toast, bacon, breads, etc...) to Asian choices (noodles, dim sum etc...). It was always good. We also tried the BBQ on the beach. Eh..to me, not worth the $. It was quite expensive and the food was decent but not great. Eating on the beach is always nice and the fire show was cool but we could've gone to FV and had a good meal for half the price.

As a whole, the 8 night stay was terrific. My only suggestion would be to have a more consistent room cleaning situation. One day they could come at 9am, the next at 3pm. We tried to time it up so we would be out of the room but 4 or 5 times we were wrong so the staff would come while we were in the room getting ready to go out. But that's a pretty minor issue for an 8 night stay. Definitely would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Jr. Garden View Suite is a little dark (lots of shadows in the bathrooms) but it's big enough wi...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Jeffe82

Greetings from Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa.

First of all once again we would like to congratulate you to your recent marriage and also thanking you for having chosen our resort to spend your honemyoon.

We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review and share your great experience with us and all other readers here on TA.

it is nice to see that our guests enjoy the tranquil ambience of our resort and I am glad to read that the team were able to provide you such an excellent experiencve with us .

We have shared your comments with our Housekeeping team and please rest assured this has been addressed .

We would hope to have the pleaure welcoming you for your first aanniversary next year.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
3.7 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 184 in Bophut
1,602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 184 in Bophut
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
6.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,402 reviews
3.7 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#20 of 184 in Bophut
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort

Address: 99 / 9 Bophut Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bophut
#11 Family Hotel in Bophut
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#13 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £108 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a tranquil stretch of sand, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa offers guests inimitable luxury comforts coupled with world renowned Thai hospitality. Enjoy water sports on the Gulf of Thailand's placid warm waters whilst residing at our elegant Samui resort. Soak in the sun by Anantara's elegant beachfront pool with stunning sea views or on Bophut's peaceful beach. Unwind with one of our specially developed Anantara spa packages. Dine on fiery Thai curries and handmade Italian pastas overlooking the ocean. Anantara Bophut presents a Koh Samui resort lifestyle that is quite unlike any other, from Bill Bensley designed tropical gardens which complement the charms of Fisherman's Cove on Bophut Beach, to southern Thai architecture which reflects our local cultural heritage, and world class amenities enhanced by Anantara's unique design touches. A wealth of leisure facilities and experiences from windsurfing and sailing to spa, beach yoga, tennis, cooking classes and area excursions help you to make the most of Koh Samui's stunning natural and cultural attractions. While complimentary Wi-Fi Internet at our Lobby and Library, in the Eclipse Bar, High Tide and Full Moon restaurants, as well as poolside, allows you to keep up to date with the world. In short, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa brings you all of the island's riches with Anantara's distinctive gracefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Holiday Gems, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Travelbag, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bophut Hotel Bophut
Anantara Bophut Resort And Spa
Anantara Koh Samui Hotel
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing