We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #17 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 17 July 2007

Relaxing hotel. Not too big. Quiet. On the beach , but the beach is just average as it is not exclusive to the hotel and u can get dogs wandering on it. The security is good and they always have a guard on duty just watching the beach and that entrance to the hotel. The staff were fine. We were upgraded to a suite which was a good size- but the regular rms are a bit small for a resort like this. I liked the place as it was not big and I could find members of my family easily. Spa was good- yr regular Thai spa.

  • Liked — close tooo beach, turn down service
  • Disliked — marble can be slippery
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ho_sik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,420
    496
    174
    54
    24
See reviews for
572
1,175
53
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cape town south africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

My husband and I and our daughter of 24 and son of 16 stayed at the Anantara on Koh Samui for ten nights in July 2007. We had standard rooms on the top floor with balconies. Our own room no was 337, which must be one of the best standard rooms. Wonderful views of the beach and pool area and garden. I did not think the garden rooms would be my choice.
I did a lot of research on tripadvisor to choose a resort and am I happy with our choice! We went to look at other hotels I considered and Anantara was much nicer. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, the restaurants and food were wonderful. Little touches, like fruit sticks and cold towels at the pool, made our stay even nicer. The Full Moon restaurant is so beautifully situated that eating there is an experience. The breakfasts were out of this world, with a vast choice. We had dinner at a smart highly acclaimed new hotel in Chaweng one night, which was a disaster. Ants, falling wild almonds, a mouse running out of the kitchen and more expensive food. The pool is large and magnificent and I swam laps early some mornings. Fisherman's village was a delight to visit. We had suits made up at a tailor recommended by the manager at the hotel. Really inexpensive and a perfect fit. Give the Happy Elephant a miss. We all agreed that the situation of the hotel, away from the frantic activity of Chaweng was a blessing. But, if you want to experience Chaweng, it is a Baht 300 taxi trip of about 15 min. The hotel offers all the activities we required. We even had a hotel guide taking us on a mountain bike expedition to see the temples and Buddhas. My son enjoyed the water scooters infront of the hotel, although they are not really recommended. While we were there, there was a wedding, which looked beautiful. We thought all the views were so exceptional, we could not stop taking photographs. All in all, we had a wonderful time and will definately return. One word of warning: It was very hot and humid. Only beach gear required. Go with empty suitcases and buy goods at Chaweng.

  • Liked — situation, pool, gardens
  • Disliked — liquor was too expensive, room was a bit small,
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank elizesteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2007

Anantara is beautiful. It is quite small and very quiet although they were operating at about 80% capacity so I am not sure what it would be like during the high season.

The staff are wonderful, food is amazing and the service is A1. All the rooms are beautifully apponted and the restaurants are lovely. You can also have a dinner in a private sala which I can recommend for a special evening.

We were married there and their event coordinator Kris Pa went above and beyond the call of duty to make our day the most wonderful and memorable time. If you are thinking of getting married then this is the place.

If you are not going to book a suite then make sure you get a garden access room close to the pool and the beach.

Visually this hotel is stunning with lovely garden features and soft lighting. The rooms are very comfortable and easy to lounge around in all day!

We loved it and plan to go back there again next year. Treat yourself!

  • Liked — Design, beauty, food and staff
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SEBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

We stayed here on our honeymoon, and it was fantastic. From the moment we arrived the staff gave us individual attention, and nothing was too much trouble. The concierge was absolutely brilliant - she spent time with us going over things we could do on the island and making sure we had a great stay. All the staff were very attentive without being obtrusive. The food was also fantastic. Our room was not very large, but was very nice - we had just booked a standard room and therefore didn't expect a fancy honeymoon suite - but the hotel still added some nice extras for us. The spa at the resort was blissful, with a great range of treatments on offer. The resort is in a great location as it is away from the madness of Chaweng, and therefore nice and relaxing to be at. We would not hestitate to recommend this place or stay again.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2007

We have just returned from our Koh Samui vaccation. We stayed at the Anantara Suite for 5 days. Although we thought the suite was perfect: comfortable bed, huge bath tub, cool TV cabinet that swivels 360 degrees so you can basically watch TV anywhere in the room. The negative points have to be the Eclipse Bar service. On our first day there, we headed down for our complimentary drinks (part of the Suite package), but were met with some very grumpy staff. We were told we could not get complimentary drinks unless we stayed at the suites. When we told the waitress we did infact stay at the suite and gave her our room number, she came back with an accusing look saying no one was staying at that room. I told her to go and check with the reception before accusing us that we did not stay at that room. Finally after she checked with the reception, she said it was all sorted out. We were then met with another waitress who did not smile the entire time. She took our drinks order, delivered our drinks and the entire time she displayed a very grumpy face. Is it that hard to train your staff to smile? The reception staff on the other hand were very good. They were professional, although sometimes it was hard to find anyone manning the concierge desk or the reception area. On several occassions we had to wait before one of the reception staff, or concierge staff came out to help us. I would definitely not rate this hotel a five star. Not even a four star. If it wasn't for the Suite room, we would have moved to another hotel. Even the Full Moon restaurant is over hyped. We could not figure out why it had won an award and what all the fuss was about. The food was only average compared to the other restaurants that we ate at during our stay in Samui - The Cliff, and Sala Thai to name the top notch restaurants definitely worth your money. If we could go back, we would stay at Bho Phut Resort and Spa where the Sala Thai restaurant is located. It is slightly more expensive than the Anantara Suite, but I would happily pay that for the service. The reception staff at Bho Phut were first class. Even the decor of the hotel was of a different class to the Anantara. Then there's the pool area at the Anantara: small infinity pool and the deck chairs were so closely packed together - the lack of space was an issue for us. The fruit table at breakfast was swarming with small flies. I picked up a piece of cut pineapple and all these small flies came out - it was truly disgusting. I've never seen that before in all my many trips abroad. All-in-all, we would not stay at this hotel again. We have stayed at many top notch hotels throughout Asia, and this one ranks very low on our scales.

  • Liked — the suite
  • Disliked — staff service at the bar
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim-Bob-HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2007

This was an excellent 1st class hotel with 1st class service. Accommadation was very good and staff were faultless. Yes its toward top end budget wise but you get good value for your money. It is much quieter than chwang beach area but Boh Put fishing village is only a shoft walk away. At the end of our 2 week stay we had nothing at all to say on how the service could be imporved. Food and drink in the hotel was toward top prices but not excessively so. Headline price for breakfast appeared high, but it was all in. I had cause to go into Boh Put early one day and went for a supposedly cheap breafast. But it did not turn out so cheap when you had to pay for a second cup of coffee, fruit juice and had a glass of water. We had some meals in Boh Put for as little as £15 and had excellent dinners in the hotel with wine for £70. There were good places to eat walking in either direction up the beach if you wanted a change from gorme cooking. Seriously if you are looking for a quiet 1st class get away, the anatara is a good choice. If you want more of a busy, bustly, late night place then choose a hotel on Chwang beach. Suba diving was mediocre at best. Took my own gear to end up going just theone day.

  • Liked — Location, quality of hotel facilities, standard of service from staff
  • Disliked — Wine was more expensive than expecetd
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2007

My wife, myself and the In-laws have just returned from a wonderful 2 week holiday in thailand. After spending 3 nights in Bangkok we stayed at the anantara in Koh Samui for 10 nights and what a pleasant experience it was!
From the minute you arrive you are greeted by possibly the nicest poeple I have ever met. The entrance to the 'Floating' reception is magnificent and got better as we walked through the stunning lush green gardens to get to our room. The room was again just perfect with the sliding doors by the bath allowing the room to become one open space (and letting me watch the football whilst lying in it!) The balcony is great especially for relaxing in after a night out to lie beneath the stars. Try to get a top level room so that you are not staring at the underside of the balcony above!
The Infinity pool with its bubble beds and swim up bar is a fantastic place to relax during the day with the private beach below if you prefer the sea. There is an outstanding spa,albeit a bit pricey, and the two resturants are very nice although it is better to walk 10 minutes down the road to fishermans cove for a far varied and cheaper meal. Make sure you get the breakfast included as it is very impressive.
All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is after a quiet,relaxing time and can keep themselves amused as being a boutique hotel there is obviously no proper entertainment arranged. I cannot fault the service and as i mentioned before the Thai staff are very friendly and love to talk to the guests.
One last note is to bargain like mad in the street markets as the traders will generally start at a ridiculous price and you should expect to pay no more than a third of that!!!

  • Liked — Grounds
  • Disliked — power cuts!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BonoHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,570 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
0.1 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 186 in Bophut
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
3.7 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#18 of 186 in Bophut
915 reviews
3.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort

Property: Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Address: 99 / 9 Bophut Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bophut
#11 Family Hotel in Bophut
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#12 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a tranquil stretch of sand, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa offers guests inimitable luxury comforts coupled with world renowned Thai hospitality. Enjoy water sports on the Gulf of Thailand's placid warm waters whilst residing at our elegant Samui resort. Soak in the sun by Anantara's elegant beachfront pool with stunning sea views or on Bophut's peaceful beach. Unwind with one of our specially developed Anantara spa packages. Dine on fiery Thai curries and handmade Italian pastas overlooking the ocean. Anantara Bophut presents a Koh Samui resort lifestyle that is quite unlike any other, from Bill Bensley designed tropical gardens which complement the charms of Fisherman's Cove on Bophut Beach, to southern Thai architecture which reflects our local cultural heritage, and world class amenities enhanced by Anantara's unique design touches. A wealth of leisure facilities and experiences from windsurfing and sailing to spa, beach yoga, tennis, cooking classes and area excursions help you to make the most of Koh Samui's stunning natural and cultural attractions. While complimentary Wi-Fi Internet at our Lobby and Library, in the Eclipse Bar, High Tide and Full Moon restaurants, as well as poolside, allows you to keep up to date with the world. In short, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa brings you all of the island's riches with Anantara's distinctive gracefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelbag, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bophut Resort And Spa
Anantara Bophut Hotel Bophut
Anantara Koh Samui Hotel
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing