We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Stairs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui
Ranked #158 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Holy moly - the stairs could actually do someone in, especially in the heat! When you leave your room double check you have everything you need because you will NOT want make that trip more than you need to. We were in room 120 - it was so far up the hillside that you could't actually see the top of the stairs until you were about 2/3 of the way up them.

The pool closes at 6 pm and then they put a chemical cleaning paste in it so an evening dip is out of the question.

The poll table is an adventure... The wonkiest table ever! Don't even think about trying a serious game on it

Pretty basic and probably would spend a bit more and go elsewhere next time but wouldn't say I'd never go back.

Room Tip: Try and get a room close to the pool or reception NOT up the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 83JoFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here a couple of times in the past 2 years and can't really fault the hotel itself.
The location is a bit of a walk about 10 mins from the centre of Chaweng but it's nice to get away from it all and have some quiet.
The rooms are clean and reasonably big and the beds comfortable.
The pool area is great, it's what sells the place for me.
Now for the only bad thing... The receptionist on the front desk is possibly the most unhappy and rude person I have ever met, tried to raise a smile out of her a few times but eventually gave up.
If it wasn't for her I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hubbabubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks at the nova samui resort, it was clean and comfortable with a good pool area. Though it's fair to say the hotel is a little dated. It may not suit all as the rooms are all up steps, and the farther away from reception the more steps you have to climb. Before you consider a holiday at chewing, it's worth pointing out it's going through a change. Five years ago it was typical Thailand, but now there is a shopping centre, with new shop fronts going up in the Main Street. The beach has a party bar that blasts out music from 2pm, often we were kept awake by music till well into the early hours of the morning by music from bars that were not even close to the hotel.
But if this is not a problem for you then you will still find great food and hospitality from the Thai people. A good restaurant being the onion and also the orchid. You can get a good breakfast at tropical murphys.
If you wish to do a trip then shop around. We did a trip to an island with kayaking for the day for 1200 baths each, the original price being 1850 baths. Also if you require a taxi from the hotel to town then only pay 100 baht. Before you have a drink in a bar, just check there is no service charge, the Aussie bar will add this to the price of your drink. Good value bars are legends and tropical murphys. If you are a beach goer then be carful about laying on sun beds, the price can vary greatly, we only paid 100baht per sunbed, some will try to charge 300 baht each.
Take English money with you and change a little at the airport, then change money as you require at money exchange kiosks in town, you will get a far better rate. All in all it was a good stay at chewing beach, but don't think we will return due to the pace of change taking place, this has to coincide with the Russian and Chinese tourist now flocking to the resort.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

For the price this place is great compared with similar priced resorts in Chaweng. 10 min walk to the beach if you know the short cut, so location is fine. Rooms are awesome for the price - heaps of steps though... don't be lazy exercise is good for you! Burn off the Changs. Really relaxed vibe away from the party area and defo recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pete89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We are on a 2 month winter holiday traveling all over Thailand. This is one of our stays.

If you are looking for a luxury resort, look elsewhere. This appears to have been a very nice resort years ago, but was never maintained. Everything is dated, old, and worn. If that and the fact that it is located on the side of a mountain 139 steps from car park to our room, then it is a nice place with a nice pool.

Staff service was just ok, as was everything else.

They have a pool table behind the reception desk, I have never played on a table that was so crappy, every ball rolled until it lie next to the rail because the center of the table was high.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rocco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

This resort is a very good quality/price. Very well located, away from the noise of the Main Street but close enough to walk to the beach and main attractions.
Quiet and clean, perfect place to stay for great relaxing holidays.
A lot of stairs yes but the friendly personal (and they speak English well) will Cary the baggages for you.
Me and my mum stayed there 5 nights, we have nothing to complain about, in fact If I come back at koh Samui I will be back here! Beautiful and big swimming pool!
The food is very basic, we had breakfast included and it was ok but nothing Thai and limited.. I would advise to eat for lunch and dinner and one if the many restaurant/markets around.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Emilie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the nova samui for 2 nights.

The hotel was clean and the staff were helpful. The pool area was nice to relax.

We also booked a tour through the reception staff and experienced no problems at all.

We enjoyed our stay and thought that the rooms were good value.

The food was pretty basic but the hotel puts on a free shuttle to chaweng beach every 30 minutes so you can head to the mean town and beach area for food and drinks.


Shopping in the mean town is also good but make sure you haggle!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.4 mi away
Behind The Scene Hotel Club @ Samui
2.4 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#84 of 184 in Bophut
211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cher Ville Boutique Resort
Cher Ville Boutique Resort
#176 of 184 in Bophut
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#26 of 103 in Chaweng
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
D Varee Diva Avenue Samui
D Varee Diva Avenue Samui
#94 of 103 in Chaweng
197 reviews
1.2 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui

Address: 147/3 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Price Range: £21 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novasamui Resort Koh Samui Hotel Bophut
Novasamui Hotel Bophut
Novasamui Hotel Koh Samui
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing