We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly, secluded getaway!”
Review of Six Senses Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Six Senses Samui
Ranked #18 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfectly, secluded getaway!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Unpretentious, laid back luxury! You feel as though you are in an opulent tree house in your villa at this resort. I absolutely loved this relaxing, peaceful experience. All the modern day luxuries we could want.. but surrounded by ocean, trees, birds chirping and quietness. The food here is spectacular… but you don’t even have to wear shoes around if you don’t want. A place to come to truly unwind. My husband and I spent 5 nights here and wished we could have stayed for another 200. We have stayed at other six senses properties before so we knew what to expect and we were not disappointed. The staff is so attentive and pleasant. Everyone gets to know you by name. They make any request happen without a problem. We felt as though we were almost the only people on this resort. Our villa was beautiful. Spacious, encased in glass with spectacular views of the ocean and a serene private pool set in the tree tops. The main infinity pool was breathtaking as well. The spa (which we went to everyday) was probably the most gorgeous spa I’ve ever been to. Set along the ocean, the treatment rooms have glass walls and have the most amazing views. The treatments themselves were fantastic. The one thing I thought could use improvement was the dining staffs ability to understand/communicate English. This got quite frustrating when trying to order room service over the phone. I had a difficult time trying to get my food modifications/questions across. We did have a really special dinner at the restaurant on the rocks one night. The food was superb and the setting was so romantic. All in all, we loved our experience at this resort. A true 5star resort!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StephanieAnnBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear StephanieAnnBar,
Thank you for your candid feedback on a visit to Six Senses Samui, we are very pleased to see that we exceeded your expectations, enjoying the tranquil nature of the resort, and the very special ambiance thats created here amongst nature.I have passed on your kind remarks to all my team including our executive chef in regards to the food and how much you enjoyed it, I also appreciate your feedback on the English communication skills, we will certainly make sure our teacher works hard on this point.
I hope that you can visit us again in the future and if there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    157
    57
    38
    22
See reviews for
113
607
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Location makes this hotel private.We stayed with my wife 5 nights and every detail was excellent. Villas are perfect,hotel completely well designed.spa is perfect.
Dining on the rocks is awesome.i cannot say any bad thing about this hotel.if you will go Samui,Six sense is best.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ahmetyldz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear ahmetyldz,
Thank you for your remarks on a recent visit to Six Senses Samui, we are very pleased that you had such a wonderful holiday and that you enjoyed the service, ambiance and detail provided in your villa, I have also passed on your remarks to our Spa Team. I hope that you can visit us again and if there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Six Senses is a wonderful retreat with stunning views, excellent facilities, quality food and drink and most of all, happy and attentive staff. Our butler couldn't have been more helpful, she even went to the shops to buy us a pack of playing cards!

The only criticism would be that some guests did not adhere to the 'no mobile phone' policy in communal areas and staff did not challenge them. Believe me, when in paradise you do not want to be disturbed by someone engaging in FaceTime on the table next to you, whilst you are trying to enjoy a beautiful sunset over the ocean with a glass of champagne. The resort should enforce the policy they have committed to because if they did, it would be perfect.

Room Tip: Chose the ocean view villa with an infinity pool, amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank richarddsmith82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear richarddsmith82,
Thank you for your candid feedback on a recent visit to Six Senses Samui, we are very pleased to see that we exceeded your expectations, especially enjoying the great views, service and quality of the food in each of our restaurants, we have also passed on your remarks to your butler.
We have noted your comment on mobile phone usage, and agree this can be disturbing, we will ensure that the rules are followed in this case to avoid the future disturbance of our guests. We do have a policy, our hosts will be trained to enforce it. I hope that you can visit us again and if there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Here we go again and this time with six senses - koh samui

It won't be strange that when I say if you want to forget about the world around you , just leave it to six senses and live another world experince .


It was not the first time been in samui, but this time yes i consider it the first time because I have been in splendid six senses resort
That makes me love koh samui more and more..

Guys they don't treat us as a customer but a part of family !!
That was cool . Me and my wife felt we are celebrity !!!

Mr. David Ashworth ... Thanks for your warm welcome greeting and for the care that given to us and for everything
My respects and honour to your generous and kindness..

Well .. I will not forget (ink) and chiaki our butlers that handled our staying in the resort .. Thanks for the care ..

The villa (16) with an order from mr. David , was the best experiment I have ever .. In the villa you will not need anything from them except the ice and in-room dining

The resturant ( dining at hill) is nice they offered a good quality of food .. My comments:
- the drinks like mocktails and some juices need some artistic improvement
- Some kinds of foods need the sense of the chef which is lost in..

Unfortunately we lost the opportunity to try the (dining at the rock) which is one of the best fusion resturants in Thailand ..!

The administration need to notice some of the workers like the technicians and some labours not to enter the villa's area without a permission as we faced that with Electrical technicians when the came to the villa for some fixing

In general they are really great and they are ready any time for any thing you request , familiar environment and cute staff and the privacy is guaranteed ,the things that you won't find in any other hotels or resorts ..

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CODE75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear CODE75,
Thank you for your detailed feedback on a recent visit to Six Senses Samui, my team and I are very pleased that you had such a wonderful holiday, enjoying the food quality, service and ambiance of your villa. I have also passed you lovely comments to your butlers K Ink and Chiaki, they enjoyed having the opportunity to take care of you and your family. With regards to the maintenance team we would like to thank you for this remark, we totally accept this and will ensure the team as the correct training to avoid this happening to future guests. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back, and maybe this time round you can enjoy the food at Dining on the Rocks. If there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After staying at their Yao Noi resort, we ended our trip here at their Samui property. They were nice enough to upgrade our room which was very beautiful but we were very disappointed with the quality of their service and food in comparison. Yao Noi was exceptional for service and food and everything else. Samui was average for service and below average for food. I would find a place on Samui that was better than this. Not necessarily worth the premium price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Justin B,
Thank you for your candid feedback on a recent visit to Six Senses Samui, we are pleased to see that you appreciated the room upgrade, but overall you were disappointed with our food and service, we are looking into this in more detail to make sure we exceed all our guests expectations, we fully appreciate your remarks and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you once again in the not to distant future. If there is anything you would like to discuss further please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerly,
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My mom and I both feel so lucky to have met the Six Senses team (especially David and May) and to have had this experience. It was very unique and truly incredible- something that I would recommend everyone to experience if they have the chance!

If you are looking for your typical luxurious resort- then this isn't the place for you but if you are looking for something authentic and special- you must stay at Six Senses! You feel like you are sleeping in your very own private tree house (most of the walls are floor to ceiling windows). I have been fortunate enough to travel to many places around the world and have stayed at some of the nicest resorts (including The Four Seasons in Koh Samui) and this is by far the nicest pool area/view that I have ever seen. The spa was wonderful- definitely take advantage of it while you're there and I also need to note that the breakfast buffet is the best I've seen and tasted to date (in fact all of the meals were incredible)! Feel free to message me with any questions...

Room Tip: If you're able to splurge for the ocean view - it is well worth it!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Alexandra W,
Thank you for your feedback on a recent visit to Six Senses Samui, we are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the authentic ambiance of your pool villa, including the service, food and large breakfast buffet each morning. I hope that you can visit us again and if there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely ,
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was a mom & son hols, a surprise really...we'd already done our annual Bali trip and this was unplanned and last minute... Six Senses touches all the senses and more, it excels and the staff make that happen, nothing is too much trouble, kind, courteous and welcoming. My son is a global traveller for both work and pleasure and adores Thailand, through him I have fallen for the country, its diversity, and its people are the kindest and most generous i have had the honour of meeting. Six Senses was a first for us and what it offers is an exemplar to all... The environment is considered, the local population are appreciated moreover what is offered is high standard at all times. I cannot fault it... We were upgraded to the Presidential Villa, an Ab Fab group of strikingly authentic villas with the very best amenities, watching the sun set with a glass of Bubbly in an outside stone bath is the ultimate joy for me... Six Senses offers the traveller all they desire and I mean desire... I thank my son for this fantastic experience and I have to thank all the staff who made our holiday absolutely outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lili S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Lili S,
Thank you for your feedback on a recent visit to Six Senses Samui, we are very pleased that you enjoyed the tentative service and special ambiance of your villa including the unique surroundings. I hope that you can visit us again and if there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
10.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
8.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,373 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
3.8 mi away
W Retreat Koh Samui
W Retreat Koh Samui
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,025 reviews
6.0 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Samui

Property: Six Senses Samui
Address: 9/10 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#43 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Senses Samui is set on a headland; with glorious panoramas out to the Gulf of Thailand. The 66-villa resort, many with private pools, is 45 minutes south of the Bangkok. The resort serves some of the best food on the island, offering regional and international cuisine and a wine cellar. A Six Senses Spa delivers a comprehensive menu of treatments together with spectacular views across a rock-fringed bay. However one gets around Samui, by foot, elephant or with wheels, a wealth of natural beauty is to be found. Boat trips also show you this most beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Six Senses Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui Hotel Bophut
Six Senses Hideaway Samui
Six Senses Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing