We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,018)
Filter reviews
1,018 results
Traveller rating
722
170
62
38
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
722
170
62
38
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining on the rocks hideaway villa pool villa our honeymoon hill restaurant personal butler guest experience maker outdoor shower koh samui ocean front main pool main restaurant mosquito net luxury resort overlooking the sea buggy service cocktail party
Filter
Updating list...
658 - 663 of 1,018 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We stayed here from 8th – 17th March 2010. The resort is about 15mins from the airport and occupies a remote hilly peninsula on the north eastern corner of the Island. Expect some aircraft noise, but it’s not very intrusive.

The check-in process was discrete and efficient. Our “butler” (host) – Pui, then drove us to our villa in one of the little golf buggies that buzz around the resort. She explained how everything worked in the Villa, and was from then on our single point of contact for anything we needed for the duration of our stay. She was brilliant. All the staff, and there were many of them , all wear beautiful casual linen “uniforms” which helped give the resort a relaxed informal but nonetheless “classy” atmosphere. Service overall was attentive but not intrusive.

We had booked a Pool Villa Suite and were allocated #29, which was on the” sunset side” of the resort. (I would say try and book a Villa on the sunset side as the “sunrise side” tends to be windier.) The villa was amazing; beautiful, very large, and totally private… The resort opened in 2004, but the interior design of the villas is timeless - classic dark indigenous woods and neutral tones. The outside space was the main event – all 3,000sq ft of it including a private infinity edge pool. We honestly couldn’t criticise any aspect of it at all. You can decide when the room is serviced (twice a day) when you want ice delivered, what you want your mini bar stocked with, what type of pillows you might need etc etc... The only thing we could have done with was a drinks fridge outside by the pool!

Room Service was efficient and the selection huge. We never ate the same thing twice. As you might expect, the Thai food was better than the European food. Nothing took longer than 20mins to arrive, and they would set the table and come back later and clear it.

The beach is small and shared with another small hotel, but it was very quiet. The resort has a huge and very beautiful infinity edge pool surrounded by terraces with daybeds, so the beach isn’t really necessary unless you want to go sailing or kayaking.

The restaurants and bar were very quiet all of the time we were there, with very little atmosphere. People tended to whisper to each other across their dinner tables - it was so quiet! The bar especially could have done with some music in the evenings. We were told the resort was 80% full when we were there and hardly saw anyone apart from at breakfast. “Dining on the Hill” is the main restaurant, it’s all “al-fresco” with various “food themed” evenings. The only themed evening with any kind of turnout was the Thai evening with traditional dancers. Breakfast was very good – with almost everything you can imagine available “buffet style”, but with Eggs, Pancakes, Waffles and many other hot items cooked to order.

The signature restaurant is “Dining on the Rocks” which opens evenings only. It comprises multilevel decks with panoramic views of the sea, but because it opens only at night, there is no view to look at as its pitch black! This restaurant was very disappointing. The food was pretentious beyond belief, and badly executed, and the service terribly slow. And it was very expensive indeed. (Michelin star prices and then some...)

Three times a week the resort management host a cocktail party for an hour at 6pm. Drinks are free, and I would advise making the most of it, because drinks are very expensive. The Thai government slaps a 400% tax on wine, which makes it ridiculously expensive. (The cheapest bottle was about the equivalent of £30) Singha beer is about £4 a bottle. Strangely, spirits and cocktails are not so expensive…

We were not particularly troubled by mosquitoes – the resort is “fogged” (as its called) each afternoon with a non chemical “mist” derived from rapeseed oil which keeps must of the insect life at bay.

Finally, this is certainly not a child or OAP friendly place; there are precarious walkways and steps everywhere, and we can’t comment on the Spa as we never went!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

What a dream come true. I have never experienced anything even half way near to what I experienced at the Hide away in Samui. It really is an amazing place. The staff are truly world class, we had a Japanese private butler who was out of this world, the rooms (we had a private pool villa for about 1,000 U.S.D per night) were out of this world and the food was to die for!!

What ever you want this place has it, all i can say is that it is more than a hotel, it is a place where you really do forget all your worries and can totally relax, listening to Cafe Del Mar on the radio, drinking champagne in your pool and chilling out.

The SPA is amazing, the masseuse are very professional and the selection of styles of massage will blow your mind. We started with a romantic private herbal bath in the jungle over looking the sea, followed by a sensual couples massage then I had an Indian head massage while my partner had an oil massage.

This is the best service I have EVER experienced and we wanted to stay for longer, sadly after almost a week we had to leave, but the memory of Hide away will always be with us.

For someone that wants the best of the best, this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiamSpearo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Reviews are useful only if you know who is telling. We got recommendation from a friend, so we assumed that we would like it too, and we did! I read some reviews, and I think that some things might be issues for someone, but we did not concidered them as problems.
- It is nice to have own pool in villa
- beach is quiet and nice. For me, length of the sand is not so important.
- in our villa privacy was good enough
- food was good, versatile breakfast
- cocktail happening was nice, too bad we took part only twice
- service was friendly
- dinner on the rock was ok, there was enough light, but it can be too windy. Menu is good selection of dishes. Some innovative and even funny things.
- mosqitos were not a problem for me, but I am quite used to them. I know that couple of mosqitos are too much for someone. There was a few of them during our stay in Feb.
- not air-conditioned bathroom and shower outside... that was ok, I am not complaining. We noticed that clean clothes that we unpacked to closet, were not so fresh after couple of days.
- seaviews and villas are perhaps the best single thing in this hotel
- very relaxing atmosfere

Value for money.. Ok I think.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We stayed at the beginning of February and having been anxious propr to travelling that we would like the hotel, any worries were very quickly erased. From the cold towels wrapped around sticks of lemon grass on arrival to a member of staff travelling to the airport to help with check in on the way home, it was a wonderful holiday. We really didn't want to come home.

The rooms do differ in the the amount of privacy they offer, depending on location, but they offer wonderful views. We stayed in a hideaway pool villa on the sunrise side and it is great to have your own little personal pool to cool down in after climbing up the steps from the beach. It is not a resort for anyone with walking difficulties! The villa pool even has a wide shallow ledge with sloping sides one end so you can just laze in the water. Everything is provided in the room, even down to a fresh lime to slice into any drinks you may wish to make. Drinking water is supplied in the rooms by the hotel.

The outdoor shower has two shower heads and is a great idea to prevent the main bathroom becoming steamy. The bathroom is huge but can get quite warm, although there is a fan. We used to open the sliding doors while getting ready for dinner to keep it a bit cooler in there and then close them off when we went out so as to keep it cool in the bedroom for nightime. In the mornings we used to open the shutters in the bathroom to let the breeze flow through - the bugs can't get in as there are fly screens in the bathroom.

The main pool offers superb views across the bay and is stunning at sunset. Whether you settle on a sun lounger by the pool or on the beach, fresh towels and drinking water are brought to you. You can order food on the beach and the staff carry it all the way down the steps and serve you on your sun lounger.

We like to snorkel but it seems overfishing has robbed Koh Samui of most its marine life (except for the sea slugs). We did, however, go on a boat trip to Koh Tao and had some very good snorkelling there along with feeding the fish with bread by hand!

The beach at Six Senses is on a fairly small but pretty bay. The sea if fairly shallow (as in a lot of Thailand) and its not all sandy in the water so you have to watch where you put your feet in order to avoid stubbing your toe on a rock. There are hotel kayaks and sail boats to take out from the beach and the beach staff are ready and willing to help, even if you just want to move your sun lounger in or out from the shade of the umbrella.

Every morning at the Spa you can do yoga, tai chi or similar but its not promoted very much. Everything is low key. We had a massage and the spa staff are very good.

At the beginning of our stay there were three managers cocktail parties a week but they then increased this to five times a week! They are only 45 minutes long (sometimes running for longer) but the managers all mingle among the guests to get any feed back to make sure everything is running as it should. The spa staff sometimes come round to give free shoulder massages while you are having your drink.

Dining on the Hill, the main restaurant, offers excellent food. Even if there is themed buffet evening, you can still order al a carte. Wine is expensive throughout Thailand due to taxes so it does bump the price of a meal up somewhat. We ate out at Fisherman's Village a few times and had good, very reasonably priced meals. Starfish & coffee offeres beachfront dining, although the tables are fairly close together.

We ate at Dining on the Rocks one evening (the five course selection) and although the food was good we couldn't see what we were eating. The low lighting policy of Six Senses meant the efforts of the chef were almost wasted. We used the light given to us to read the menu to shine on our food before eating it so see it clearly.

Breakfast, as mentioned by other reviews, offers plenty of variety; from every type of nut to top off your cereal to sushi or thai soup etc etc. Egg & bacon etc are cooked to order.

The staff are always smiling and very helpful - you only have to ask.

It was one of the best holidays we have had; we would go again and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorisReading_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed at the Six Senses Hideaway for a week after a few days in Bangkok. In summary, it is a good place for a relaxing break but there are a few minor problems (mostly with the service) which may be irritating at this price.

The setting on a hillside is very nice and gives great views of the sea from the villa and the public areas of the resort and the overall effect is very calming. Our first impression was that the public areas and the villa had seen better days and needed some TLC - wooden furniture water marked and a bit grubby in the bar, main pool floor has rusty marks etc. We stopped noticing this after the first day and in fairness the soft furnishings, linens etc were all clean.

We liked the bathroom with the outdoor shower and had no problems with mosquitoes here. We did, however, pick up a few bites in the evening at the bar / restaurant even with repellent and a burner under our feet but this is to be expected and was no different than dining in Bophut or Chaweng.

As stated in previous reviews the villas seemed to be only semi-private - you can see the villas on both sides if you open all the blinds and you can certainly hear the neighbouring villas' choice of music, showering, pool, air-con units etc. Skinny dippers beware.

The beach is not the main attraction here - it is small and shared with another resort but when we were there it was quiet and not at all crowded. The main pool is also very nice with a good view of the sea.

The food at Dining on the Hill was reasonably priced and there was enough selection to eat there a few times without struggling for choices (even for vegetarians). Breakfast was good with lots of live-cook options but we were wary of the sushi, meat and cheese cold options which stood around unrefrigerated from 7am when breakfast began.
Service was only average even when you had the staff's attention but the main problem was that in striking the balance between privacy and attentiveness they seemed to err on the side of privacy. It can be a bit frustrating to see groups of staff chatting in the entrance to the restaurant and not be able to attract their attention. This would probably be less of a problem if they anticipated that you would want to order a drink within 15 minutes of sitting down, or that you would need cutlery to eat your meal etc but this was not our experience. More training needed to fix this.

The location is really convenient for the airport which unfortunately also means plane noise at least once every hour all day and into the evening (but you probably will not hear this in your villa over the noise of the air-conditioning unit - I thought previous reviews were exaggerating but it is hard to sleep with this level of noise).

Leaving the resort means hiring a hotel car. The pricing was fine (350-500 baht) each way but we did not like the pressure from one of the drivers to let him recommend a bar / restaurant - this tuk tuk trick was not something we expected from a hotel car service.

Other than the guest service manager in our experience management were absent during our stay.

The service from our butler and the front of house staff was very good - requests dealt with promptly and service professional and friendly.

The spa treatments were very good but overpriced for Thailand (London prices) and the setting is similar to the villa settings so nothing special in that either. Similarly, the excursions were overpriced - more than double the cost of other companies in Ko Samui.

We did like the resort, the eco-friendly style and the relaxed setting a lot but we could not quite overlook the various glitches in service and the fact that the resort looks a bit tired in places. We would recommend the place but only if you had a good deal on the price and with these caveats.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettiblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews