We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Six Senses Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Six Senses Samui
Ranked #30 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We went to six senses hideaway for our honeymoon in feb 2010, what can i say it was beautiful the most romantic setting ever we stayed in a beautiful suite with 2 bathrooms plus outside shower, huge living room huge bedroom seperate closets, outside we had a large day bed two sun loungers dinning table and large eating area that could sit 8 people and our own private pool! to say the rooms were luxuary is a understatment i loved them! we did not often go out of it you didnt need to! when we ordered our evening meal they would bring it to us set the table light the candles make it really special for us! we ate in the resturant a few nights and the food was beautiful i could not fault it! we went into town a couple of times and had beautiful meals there to! there is some really nice bars on the beach the setting is to die for! the only tiny thing that i was not that keen on was your own butler, i found it a little intrusive she would just walk into your suite at any time without warning and try and get us to go on trips, i know she was proberbly trying to make our stay more enjoyable but the constant presents of her i found to much, seen as though she had given us her personal number to contact her if we needed anything! but people may not mind this i did! never the less a stunning place to go and cannot wait to go back! ps this hotel is very eco friendly i loved every little detail that has been put into it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manchesternicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 940 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2010

My wife and I spent 8 days at the best place in the world, Six Sences Hidaway resort
in Koh Samui from the moment we arrrived we were treated like royalty, we were met at reception by the General Manager David, nothing was too hard and I every whim was fullfilled with a genuine enthusiasm. The food was to die for Mark The head chef is ammazing even breakfast which is usually a good buffet fails in comparison to the unbeleilable spread every morning every single taste was catered for. I can,t say enough about the resort and the people who run it we will be going back every year to see are great friends
Mark & Helen Dainton Sydney Australia

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markdainton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

one of the nicest beach resort hotel I have ever stayed.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank MaikoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Great place and great service but it is very excluded that you miss some company after a while...

Great Staff...

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We spent 7 nights here at the end of March/beginning of April 2010. Koh Samui suffers from overdevelopment but this is a quiet bolthole which seems quite remote from it all and yet is no more than 15 minutes away from the nightlife of Chaweng or Bophut if that's what you fancy. We loved it.
The staff were so friendly and helpful. Our "butler" (that is a silly title, they are really in house guides) Pia was especially helpful.
The location is gorgeous - so are the grounds and the food. We never dined there in the evening but the food at both breakfast and lunch was excellent as were the always smiling staff. It is easy to get to town for dinner in the evening and there is a huge range of restaurants to choose from. We liked the Thai restaurants best but it is definitely worth trying the Page restaurant at the Library hotel if only for the setting and the cool vibe. We thought the Library looked so stylish but we were glad that we were not staying there as Chaweng is endlessly noisy with fireworks going off well into the early hours.
There is noise too at Six Senses - the constant chatter of insects and birds but that is heaven compared with the mayhem of Chaweng.
It is true that the air conditioners are noisy at night and we found them difficult to regulate but I think the noise is to be expected when you have individual villas like this -each one with its own air conditioning machine.
The villas themselves are very attractive with wonderful views across the sea from huge picture windows. We had a pool villa suite which was very spacious and had its own private pool. I had thought in advance that a pool of this size would not be up to much but was very pleasantly surprised. You really can swim in it although if you prefer there is a full size pool on site with stunning views across the sea towards Koh Phangan.
It is true that the villas are not insect proof and we were bitten quite a lot but I think that happened more in open air restaurants at night off site than it did in the villas (where there is a constant supply of repellant of various kinds available).
One thing to note is that this is a very hilly resort. There must have been 40 or more steps down to our villa and about 80 or so down to the pretty beach. In the tropical heat that can be a little tiring but it's a small price to pay for such a wonderful setting. This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever encountered and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irishguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

This was my first Six Senses experience having stayed at many other luxury properties/resorts worldwide and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived at Koh Samui airport where we were met by the hotel representative until they dropped us back to the airport following our nine day stay the service and quality was outstanding. The pool villa was stunning with a secluded location and amazing views. I cannot compliment the staff highly enough the service was unobtrusive, sincere and outstanding. We were also very impressed with the management team who seemed to have a constant presence around the resort whether helping to clear tables after breakfast or just chatting to staff and guests. The spa area is beautiful and although I only used it once the experience was excellent. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and as people who know and appreciate good food we were more than impressed (takes a lot). The quality and service in the restaurants was also excellent and although prices were certainly a little higher than in the local villages it was still very good value for the quality of food and choice of dishes available and well worth it as the resort is so relaxing you do not want to leave in the evening. Dining on the Rocks is an amazing restaurant with fantastic views and excellent quality imaginative food, Dining on the Hill is equally excellent in a more casual setting.

One thing to watch though, the tours and excursions booked though the hotel are totally totally overpriced and in my opinion not worth the money unless you want to pay for a very expensive babysitter, don’t get me wrong the guides are lovely but you really do not need a guide on Koh Samui and you can book excellent trips in the local towns by just doing a little research before you travel for a tenth of the price. You can also book the hotel cars to take you and collect you from anywhere on the island.

All in all a wonderful experience – we have a number of preferred hotel groups worldwide and Six Senses have definitely joined our top five. Thank you Six Senses Hideaway Samui and we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GGKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

What can I say. From the time we arrived we were greated with friendly smiles. The Resident Manager was there and went through the resort and facilities. We were then introduced to our extremely polite Butler who showed us to our Villa.
The resort itself is mind blowing. If you want to get away and relax.....this is the place.
The food was world class. A word of warning though....you must go on a diet prior to arriving as you will not stop eating once you get there.
We had an incident one night where our power went out. The resident manager found us at breakfast the following day and gave us a nights accommodation credit for the inconvenience. Totally unexpected and thrilled.

The service in general was brilliant. The resort manager has this place running like clockwork. What blew me away is that the majority of the staff were aware of your movements including all the dinner reservation times and even the car hire details. Just amazing.

I'll be booking again for next year....and the year after...and the year after that.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6.0 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
3.8 mi away
W Koh Samui
W Koh Samui
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,123 reviews
8.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
15.3 mi away
Conrad Koh Samui
Conrad Koh Samui
#24 of 317 in Ko Samui
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Samui

Address: 9/10 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#22 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#43 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £286 - £815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Senses Samui is set on a headland; with glorious panoramas out to the Gulf of Thailand. The 66-villa resort, many with private pools, is 45 minutes south of the Bangkok. The resort serves some of the best food on the island, offering regional and international cuisine and a wine cellar. A Six Senses Spa delivers a comprehensive menu of treatments together with spectacular views across a rock-fringed bay. However one gets around Samui, by foot, elephant or with wheels, a wealth of natural beauty is to be found. Boat trips also show you this most beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Six Senses Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui Hotel Bophut
Six Senses Hideaway Samui
Six Senses Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing