We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place a little let down by location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A great place to stay overall. The rooms are clean and well designed, and the surrounding restaurant, spa, etc. are very well designed and run well. The facilities overall are fantastic yet not great value for money as it is expensive overall, but the quality of service certainly matched the prices. The staff were fantasitc overall and were very helpful. We had stayed in the most perfect villa in Koh Jum prior to this stay so maybe we were a little spoilt, yet on the downside there was a few quirky areas that would put me off rating Zazen excellent; mainly the outside bathroom area being overlooked by next door, the beach is shared by other resorts (and stray dogs), not well controlled regarding mosquitoes plus the rest of the beach is not tranquil and dominated by 'shabby' hotels. A fantastic and special place for couples to retreat, but let down by not being in the ideal location once you venture literally one step from the resort. The spa was amazing and one of the best massages I have ever had, with a price tag to match.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazfjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our Resort.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at Zazen Boutique Resort and Spa.

We are sorry that you did not appreciate our outside tropical bathroom, which is a feature often appreciated by our Guests. We understand your disappointment about the beach, which is in rainy season not as beautiful as during the rest of the year. I hope you understand that mosquitoes are part of the tropical island experience, although we are doing our utmost to fight them with weekly pest control and various mosquito repellant displayed in the Resort.

In regards to the other resorts on the beach, there is unfortunately nothing we can do. However, our Resort is located at the end of the beach and is therefore secluded in comparison to other properties.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our award-winning spa!

Thank you so much for your great feedback, which has been shared with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you in Samui soon.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

My Wife and I have just spent 5 days at the Zazen
I have been in Koh Samui many times we holiday in Samui 2-3 times a year and have eaten dinner at the Zazen Restaurant on a number of occasions ,this trip we decided to stay at the Hotel .
I have also read many of the reviews on the Zazen but I have also stayed in many of the hotels on the island as a frequent visitor to Koh Samui .
My comments: The hotel layout is beautiful, rooms are most comfortable.
The amount of detail and thought that has gone into the design of the hotel has created a serene and unique environment.
The Beach area is not good ,there is very little room from the hotel to the beach ,this beach section of Samui is not one of the best on the island .
The garden area of the hotel is lovely ,the pool area is small but adequate for the hotel .

The beauty of holidaying in Thailand is not only the hotels and beaches but the service that you experience. I have always found that the service and attention makes the holiday and that has always been my experience especially on Koh Samui. This is a small island and there are many hotels to choose from .
In this area I was disappointed with the Zazen .
The level of the service was far from what I expected .The front desk staff are mediocre .
This is the first impression you have when arriving at the hotel also when leaving .
The Staff in the restaurant and bar area do their job ,but the friendly attitude that you normally experience in Thailand is most certainly lacking throughout the hotel .
Would I stay again at the Zazen ,probably not , I would visit the hotel for dinner as the restaurant is very good .There are many hotels on the island with a better location on better beaches and most certainly better service that we, and most travelers have come to expect when holidaying in Thailand .

Room Tip: The Garden rooms are the pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TBGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your opinion about our Resort.

I am very sorry to read that your experience was not up to your expectations. Indeed, at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, we do our utmost to provide our guest with a relaxing holiday with high service standards.

In regard to your comment about the beach, please note that during rainy season, the tide is very high and therefore the beach is much smaller than the rest of the year.

Your remark about our service quality in the reception and the restaurant is taken extremely seriously and we will take appropriate action to resolve this issue. I apologize that we were not up to our usual standards, which are normally praised by our guests.

We are most certainly looking forward to welcoming you soon in our Restaurant, where I hope I will have the chance to meet you in person to further discuss your feedback. On the other hand I would be delighted to organize something special in order to make it up for your disagreement.

Sunny regards

Adrien Grob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed 12 nights in a Garden deluxe room, we were less than 20 metres from the beach and had an idyllic break. The staff and facilities were fantastic and we will be back! Fisherman's village was just a short walk down the beach for lots of meal options and an excellent market on Friday nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedrothewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Pedro,

Thank you for taking the time of writing such a nice comment of your experience with us.

We are happy to know that you appreciated our hotel and it is a pleasure to note that our staff has been kind and useful.

We would be more than happy to welcome you again in our Resort.

Best regards,

The Zazen Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at Zazen for 6 nights at the end of September 2013. We had a garden deluxe villa which provided more of a living area for our family of 3 than the garden bungalow which we had originally booked. The villa itself was beautifully furnished and maintained and was extremely comfortable. The villas are further away from the pool and restaurant than the bungalows, but had a lovely garden view and were very peaceful. It was especially beautiful at night to walk down the winding garden path to the restaurant with the trees lit up with fairy lights.

The resort was fairly full when we stayed but it was so calm and peaceful you wouldn't know it. There were mostly couples and virtually no children, but no matter as our 11 year old daughter was able to entertain herself in the pool and with us. The pool is small but lovely and very clean. There is excellent poolside service, with fruit skewers served free of charge in the afternoon, and you may order lunch and drinks to be served there. We enjoyed kayaking out on the bay which is free of charge. It is probably a half hour walk along the beach to Fisherman's Village from the resort, so it can be a bit warm if you leave it too late in the morning, however taxis are plentiful. The markets in the village on a Friday night are a lot of fun-best to go early and then have a meal in the village. We ate at The Shack Bar and Grill, which doesn't have a beach view but has excellent steaks and food and a view onto the main street in the village, so it's interesting to watch the world go by.

The food at Zazen was excellent; breakfast, lunch and dinner had wonderful variety and was delicious, whether Western or Thai food. We enjoyed doing a Thai cooking class also with the lovely Thai chef.

What sets Zazen apart from so many other places is the service. It is generous, caring and hospitable. Whether it was the wait staff, reception/concierge staff, housekeeping, spa staff or the gardeners who were always so busy caring for the resort, there was always a smile that was genuine and a desire to provide gracious and warm service. My daughter felt unwell during the Thai cooking class and immediately there were staff to help with cool towels, water and a fan. They followed up later in the day to see that she was ok. A tour of the island was easily organized by the reception staff with a Zazen driver in a minibus and it was made even better with his local knowledge and insight into the life of the local people. The spa staff were gentle and kind and made you feel special. The wait staff remembered that my husband was coeliac, so made sure he had no gluten in his meals. I am so sorry that I cannot remember their names.

It is this wonderful service from the heart that makes Zazen a truly special place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank threepossums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear valued Guest ,

Greetings from Koh Samui !

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for spending your holiday. We were glad to welcome your daughter as we are a family ran business.

We also thank you for your time invested to compliment our Resort.
We hopefully will see you very soon!

Kindest regards,

The Zazen Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Me and my husband spent a long time planning our honeymoon, as we wanted to make sure we would get the best honeymoon possible.
After countless hours of research, the choice landed on Thailand.

We chose Zazen based on thorough research and tripadvisor reviews, and were counting down the time for 10 days in a Garden Villa.

From the moment we were picked up at the airport, we realised that we had made an amazing choice. The hotel is like a magical garden/forest with the most amazing smells and sounds, our Villa litterally brought a tear to my eye, what an amazing sight! Being our honeymoon the room had been decorated beautifully, and we were both in awe during our tour around our villa and the property.

This was the beginning of 10 days in paradise on earth!
The staff was so friendly and helpful, we did not have a single bad experience whilst staying here.
The breakfast is one of the things that stands our the most, aside from our villa and location/surroundings, we are big foodies and the breakfast was AMAZING!
The fresh juices, fruit, breads, danish, spreads, the breakfast made-to-order menu and the view... Wow!

Every monday the managment arranges a meet and greet, where they serve drinks and canapees while mingling with their guests, a great idea and a really lovely touch.

On our last night we decided to dress up and have a proper dinner at the restaurant, I had the lobster decadence menu whilst my husband chose the discover thailand meat menu - the food was to die for!!!
We would absolutely reccomend the restaurant for an amazing meal!!

We truly cannot fault anything, but would prepare guests for the occational visit from a gekko or two in the bathroom (which we just found charming), and slightly murky water on the beach. This did not deterierate our visit one bit, we are definately coming back!!

Thank you so much Zazen for giving us a truly amazing honeymoon, upon departure day to Phangan we were terrified that our next hotel would not come close to perfection, as Zazen did.

Our only regret is that we were unable to arrange shipping with thai post for the wooden ladder placed in the bathroom (and sold in the shop), as we would have LOVED to bring that piece home as a physical, lasting memory of our honeymoon in heaven on earth.

With love,
Mr & Mrs Theodorou

Room Tip: When we return, we will choose a garden villa again, great size and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeleneGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Theodorou,

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for celebrating your honeymoon.

We are glad to read that you and your guests enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team. It is very special to be organizing someone's honeymoon and we always keep very good memories, which make you part of the Zazen family!

Again, many thanks for the positive feedback and we hope that you will chose us again for your anniversary celebration!

With best regards,

The Zazen Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Not very often I am enthused enough to write travel reviews, however this place is special.
We are Australian but have spent the past 17 years based in Hong Kong and have travelled extensively throughout Asia. Thailand is our favourite asia destination and we have stayed at many, many resorts around Thailand.
Zazen has been outstanding and I suggest is the "gold standard" for boutique beach resorts.
To begin with the award winning restaurant exceeded our expectations. Thai dining with an imaginitive contemporary presentation, the French chef and his team are sensational.

It is small (29 villa's ), we stayed in a garden villa which we thought would be more private than the Beach bungalows. It is clear that the management team are constantly casting a critical eye over all aspects of this resort, the villa's are modern, well presented, very well maintained (often a problem area in asia)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Gerry,

Thank you for taking the time of writing such a good review about your experience at Zazen. We are truly glad to hear that after travelling around different resorts in Asia you found Zazen outstanding. Indeed, we try to offer personalized service and it is a pleasure to see that these little details that we enjoy taking care off have been appreciated. Your compliments regarding the restaurant have been shared and thanked by the Kitchen team.

Please let us know if you come back, we would be very happy to welcome you again here at Zazen.

Best Regards,

The Zazen Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

In Dec 2012, we visited many resorts in Samui, finally selecting Zazen as our wedding venue. We had our dream destination wedding in Oct 2013 with guests flying in from Australia, Japan and Malaysia. We planned our wedding from Australia mostly via email and it was very manageable due to the level of attention from the wedding team. Our wedding day was seamless, with a high degree of flexibility and full support from the wedding team. The quality of the food at the reception and level of service was certainly the highlight for us. Zazen delivered everything we had asked for with charming hospitality and because of that, we were really able to enjoy our wedding day and all of our time spent at Zazen. The ambiance of this resort is really special, especially at night! In our opinion, the style and theming for this resort is tasteful and unique, and this extended to every last detail for the wedding. It was very important to us that all of our guests had a fantastic experience and we received nothing but high praise. AND..The breakfast here was the best we've had in Samui by far! We would highly recommend Zazen as a destination wedding resort and as one of the best resort experiences on the island of Samui. Thank you Zazen !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussellPetersW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Preema,

Greetings from Koh Samui!

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for celebrating your wedding. It has been a very special moment for us as well !

We also thank you for your time invested to compliment our Resort.
We sincerely hope to be able to host your wedding anniversary in the future!

Kindest regards,

The Zazen Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,646 reviews
4.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
8.1 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 51 in Lamai Beach
2,085 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#2 of 185 in Bophut
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: 177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bophut
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#9 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £95 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zazen is a stylish true Boutique Resort located on the beautiful Bophut Beach. Perfect for a relaxing holiday and a romantic honeymoon. Zazen offers 26 stylish villas, and 2 of the most popular restaurants on the island with traditional Thai cuisine and fine French / Mediterranean dining. Le Spa Zen will help you find the deepest levels of relaxation. Welcome to Zazen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zazen Boutique Hotel Bophut
Zazen Boutique Resort And Spa
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing