We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the most romantic boutique resort - simply stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“the most romantic boutique resort - simply stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

Zazen is simply the most romantic, relaxing and amazing boutique hotel. My husband and I always wanted our wedding in Thailand. 2 years earlier we travelled to Phuket to investigate a prospective wedding venue, but we returned home disappointed after finding the location was not actually as nice as the pictures and the experience quite unsatisfying.

We then heard about Zazen. Our friend was also looking for a wedding venue and traveled to Samui after shortlisting a handful of resorts. She chose Zazen after meeting with a number of prospective venues and suggested them to us. Based on her recommendations and our research on trip advisor, we decided to book our wedding at Zazen (without ever traveled to Koh Samui before).

All I had hoped that upon our arrival, we would not be disappointed like our trip to Phuket 2 years earlier, and it was far from it. Zazen was absolutely beautiful and this time, pictures actually don't capture how amazing Zazen really is. All the staff from management to housekeeping (Alex, Ti, Diego, Yannick, Ame and Toy) made our stay and wedding day so wonderful. Being asia and the difference in western and asian cultures, I had worried if our wedding would be at a standard I'd expected back at home. I was blown away by the professionalism and expertise that the staff carried themselves with, and any doubts I had disappeared as I sheepishly admit that the standard at Zazen was above what I would expect at home. The quality of the food (produce and presentation) is fine dining at a fraction of the cost. Just amazing. We had just under 30 guests and all could not stop expressing how much they loved Zazen either.

Am more than happy to be contacted by any one interested in having a wedding at Zazen or other travelers with questions. Would highly recommend Zazen for any one looking for a wedding venue in an intimate, relaxing, romantic location. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mleenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    210
    48
    14
    8
See reviews for
194
829
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

We booked our stay at Zazen directly with the hotel and everything was smooth, fast and transparent. Upon arrival at Samui airport (wonderful btw) we were collected by the hotel's driver who greeted us in a very professional way and provided with cold towels and water.
The entrance of the resort is beautiful and since we stepped down the car we knew we had made the right choice for our honeymoon.
Wonderful gardens with tropical flowers, lanterns everywhere and lots lots of small details and tasteful decorations. We stayed in a Deluxe Garden Villa which was large and offered state of the art appliances such as ipod docking station, free wifi internet connection, huge flat screen tv and more... The bed was comfortable with a choice of pillows. The closet area has a lot of room and made my wife the happiest person on earth. Open air bathroom was at first impression not the best solution but turned out to be quite enjoyable.
What really made the difference during our stay was the staff. Very helpfull and polite, well trained and always there to assist you in anything. Special thanks to Nui at the reception, Ja at the bar and Na for serving our breakfast everymorning with a big smile.
The young management team was always there to supervise all operations and one could see that they where really concerned about making our stay unique.
The restaurant's food was superb and the service impeccable (book your table in advance!). We had dinner in 2 other recommended restaurants on the island but, even if good, none of them got close to the quality offered at Zazen. The bar has an infinite list of cocktails probably the best mojito I ever had.
We also tried the spa as this was included in our honeymoon package and booked right away for another treatment after trying a disappointing massage down the beach.
As other reviews already pointed out Boput beach is not the best on the island but considering the service that you receive from the staff (free ice tea, fruit skewers, cold towels, complimentary massage!) you don't want to go anywhere else!

Leaving Zazen was hard and we could spend another hour writing about this wonderful experience but the best way is probably to book and try it yourself as you won't be disappointed!

Thank you to all the great staff and see you soon! Stephen & Laura

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LupinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

I recently returned from a 7 night stay with my husband at Zazen and wanted to take time to highly recommend this hotel and spa. It is truly beautiful. Small, romantic, intimate, attention to detail, delightful manicured tropical gardens in a peacefu, tranquil setting right on the beach. The staff, service, food are all fantastic. We had a beach villa *they only have 4) for 5 nights and indeed it was on the beach, our double french doors opened onto a private patio followed by 2 steps to the sandy beach, safe for swimming and kayaking (kayaks provided free of charge from hotel). The restaurant is 1st class. Breakfast is included and the selection of fresh fruits, fish, yoghurts, cereals, eggs, cheese etc could not really be faulted. Dinners were sumptous, the restaurant is renowned on the island.
The garden villas are larger than beach villas but both are beautifully laid out and decorated with comfortable beds! Outdoor bathrooms which are a delight if not a little warm sometimes!
If you are looking for a select, private, romantic and relaxing stay then we would highly recommend Zazen in every way!
The spa is wonderful and the staff know their stuff. Access to local shops along the beach plus many beach restaurants and bars. If you don't want to be with the backpackers in Chaeweng then Bhoput Beach and Zazen should be on your list!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunloverWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

We decided to celebrate my birthday at Zazen Boutique Resort and wow, what a great decision that was. There's no denying that Koh Samui is very touristy but Zazen is located in Bophut which is still a relatively quite and tasteful beach area. The Resort itself was stunning, and essentially pure luxury. From our room to the pool, restaurant and private beach area, everything is very nicely decorated and cared for. The staff were always very pleasant and helpful and on my birthday they even sang me a surprise Happy Birthday over breakfast. Both the hotel restaurant and Spa were equally luxurious and pampered us in good measure. The private beach is also nice although the water is not as clear as on the Chaweng side. To summarise, a luxury spa resort for those wanting to escape from the cheesy nightlife side of the island. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wuarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasmineHolidays
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

Make no mistake - for romance, location, quality, service, friendliness and ambience, Zazen is the real deal in Koh Samui. I have stayed at a dozen other resorts in Samui and seen all the others (it's my profession) and if I had to choose one place in Samui above all others it would be Zazen. The details are fantastic, it's managed with care and love, the restaurant is wonderful (romantic - great food - excellent service - excellent chef Wally!). Rooms are well designed and thought out - great mix of Asian styles and all mod cons. The pool is slightly too small (you won't mind that) but if you are looking for a boutique hotel, very personal, very romantic, great ambience then you can't do better than Zazen.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JasmineHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

We booked Zazen due to all of the good reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. While alot more expensive than other hotels the luxury is beyond belief. We felt like King and Queen throughout our stay. Before travelling I feared that Zazen may have been a very isolated hotel. This is far from the truth! It is located at the end of Bophut beach so while it is very very quiet and relaxing, less than a 10 minute walk up the beach and you are in Fishermans village which is buzzing and has plenty of restaurants and shops. The staff at Zazen were exceptional and could not do enough for you. We had full body massages which were pure bliss however very expensive in comparison to down the beach. The water was not the cleanest but was better up the beach and the pool was lovely. We stayed in a Garden Deluxe the first night which was really nice and then a Garden villa which is a bit further from the beach but surrounded in beautiful gardens and a much bigger room. The attention to detail was unbelievable in the rooms. Breakfast had everything you could imagine eating in the morning. Selection was fantastic and great food. I would highly recommend this hotel to honeymooners or just for a nice place to really make your holiday because it was definitely the highlight of Koh Samui for us! I promise you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bradylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Zazen. Whilst researching our trip to Samui this had stood out as a strong possibility, and when our travel agent suggested it as well that sealed it! We were far from disappointed. The setting and gardens are stunning, the rooms beautifully appointed and relaxing, and the restaurant and bar exceeded expectation. Breakfasts were not to be missed. The highlight for me was the stunning menu of juices, shakes, frappes etc which ran to a full 2 sides of A4 - we had to work hard to get through the list during our stay! All staff were very friendly and would do whatever was needed to enhance our visit. One small criticism - the outside bathrooms are in close proximity to those of other rooms, and lacked a little privacy. Other than that, 10 out of 10, and thanks to Diego and all the staff for a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dfcReigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
4.3 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: 177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bophut
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#7 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zazen is a stylish true Boutique Resort located on the beautiful Bophut Beach. Perfect for a relaxing holiday and a romantic honeymoon. Zazen offers 26 stylish villas, and 2 of the most popular restaurants on the island with traditional Thai cuisine and fine French / Mediterranean dining. Le Spa Zen will help you find the deepest levels of relaxation. Welcome to Zazen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zazen Boutique Hotel Bophut
Zazen Boutique Resort And Spa
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing