We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montien House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Montien House
Ranked #78 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
TA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We took the bigroom with the privet pool and it was great. There's nothing like a cool private swim with your trip partner after long sweaty tour. Breakfast was nice, dinner on the beach is very romantic.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    211
    92
    29
    18
See reviews for
59
197
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
LHR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Good location for central Chaweng. Plenty of bars, restaurants and shops outside. Beach is really nice, in the sheltered lagoon. Rooms nice enough, some bits a bit dated, but nice for a good stay. Booked via Agoda via the hotels website with no issues. Breakfast included until 10am.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MotoringMan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We only stayed for one night, the location was good. It was about two blocks from ARK bar and the strip of clubs including the green mango. The pool and restaurant were nice and the price included a good buffet breakfast. The A/C in the room was fantastic and the room size was great. The place was fairly priced and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cherieleemegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I've been coming to this hotel for many years, it's a little jewel. If you want to stay in some corporate, anonymous place it's not for you, but if you want a personal touch , come here. Location is fabulous, 15 minutes from the airport, wonderful white sand beach which the pool sits on. The view is stunning. 2 minutes walk to shops, restaurants etc.
There are a range of rooms available but I stay in stay in the simplest because it suits me. Clean and comfortable , good beds.
Food is good, you get what you pay for.
The main reason for staying here, however, is the staff, they are so kind and friendly, if you have a problem, they always try to help.
By the way, I've worked all over the world, I know what I'm talking about.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holmesshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

My partner and myself stayed at Montien House for 4 nights in early April 2014. We stayed in a standard bungalow room. This Hotel is situated on a large piece of land which fronts onto the a laneway in the busy shopping street and backs onto Chaweng Beach. Reception and the newer deluxe rooms are at the front end and then there is a pathway which runs from Reception right down the middle of the property to the back of the property on the beach, this is also where the pool and restaurant is situation. The pathway is surrounded by beautiful gardens and each side of the pathway is lined with free standing bungalows with their own verandah. The bungalows are somewhat outdated but still cute and quaint in their own way. The restaurant is in a great location and overlooks the beach although the food is average. The breakfast is also very average and is supposed to open at 7am. We only got to eat breakfast twice as we had tours to go on and got to breakfast right on 7am and the staff stuffed around until 7.25am. They sat their doing their make-up and just fluffed around. We indicated that we needed to eat asap as we had to leave but nobody was in a rush (especially the omelette lady) and we missed out. This happened two days in a row and when I complained it appeared to fall on deaf ears. Also, this restarant sets up lovely tables on the beach in the late afternoon/evening. It looks beautiful and very romantic and the staff are truly lovely but the food is not worth the price. Infact, this meal was the most expensive on that we had in Koh Samui yet is was the worst. We ate at a very busy restaurant not far on the busy street called Kho Saen. It was very cheap and lovely food and in a great location for people watching, particulary the ladyboys standing on the corner outside the restaurant.

People have complained about the noise but this really was not a problem. Yes, there are planes that go over this hotel maybe every hour but we found this to be more exciting than annoying as they were so close which you don't see often anywhere else. In any case, you cannot avoid the planes as this street is lined with all the hotels so they all get the same view and noise from the plane which you don't even notice after the first day. There are many other great hotels on either side of Montien House. Right next door is Lucky Mother bungalows and then Ark Bar, on either side there is also Chaweng Beach Resort, Samui Natien Resort, Palm Island Hotel, Amari, The Library, KC Beach Club, Buri Rasa Hotel, Blue Lagoon and many more. They all line the beach on one side and the busy street on the other and they are all in as good a location as the next as the beach is beautiful all the way along and the shopping street is also busy all the way along. They all also have restaurants, pools, chairs, tables etc on the beach. The pool is quite disappointing. It is just a rectangle lap pool with many, many broken tiles and when you look in the filters at the side it is mouldy. The pool area is quite old and ratty and could use a really good clean up. Its a shame that it hasn't had a makeover because it could look a lot more inviting with a bit of TLC. The beach in front of this hotel is OK but if you walk either way to the right or left you will find that the beach is so much nicer as there is a rock wall in front of this hotel. I paid about $65 per night for our bungalow (207) and I also paid the hotel 300 Baht each way for out transfer to and from the airport. I have left quite a detailed review as this is what I am always looking for when I read trip advisor. One more thing, there are several cats that hang around the beachside restaurant (breakfast). Unbeknown to use one of the cats was under our table whilst we were eating and then it suddenly bit me on the foot and really frightened me. I was not too keen on this happening so I kept an eye on these cats everyday from then on.

All in all, I guess this place was fine for the $$ but do your homework and check out the ones that I mentioned above for their prices because some of them were outstanding.

I hope this helps you decide and choose.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 207, Garden Bungalow. It was surrounded by beautiful greenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fiona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We didn’t plan to stay at this hotel , it was a sudden and spur of the moment change of mind when we were already on holiday.

The location is great. Not far to walk to the bars and clubs, good choice of shops and restaurants.

Some may complain about noise both from the street and the planes. We did not find any of the noise from the street any issue or obtrusive. Yes the planes fly to one side when either taking off or landing, but Samui is no big airport and after the first plane you don’t really notice the A319, A320, ATR or 737s taking off. We found the pros of the location far outweighted the cons.

The hotel has a great range of room types. We selected a room in the deluxe building, which has two floors. Our room was on the first floor. The rooms are nice, well sized. The bathroom needed a little tlc – as the design meant that water pool at the side of the bath and then ran on the floor. But you are not in the shower all day, and with the help of towels you get round it.

We found the breakfast was only so-so, so we had ours outside the hotel on the main beach road, Tio~man coffee. The food at the restaurant during the day was nice enough, not the best and by no means the worse! But sitting on the edge of the beach is very acceptable. The hotels sets up tables on the beach every night, but we are more the plastic tables and chairs sort of folks

The pool area and sunbeds have seen better days, but everything works there are clean pools towels available daily. The sunbeds are pretty much booked up early by the towels and you never see a resident all day . . . which is always a tad annoying!

The gardens are well cared for and all the staff are friendly

Would we book this hotel again? Yes! Oh, in fact we already have!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moss, norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Since last year (2113) there is a new buildind with about 20 rooms and a new reseption, and some parkingplaces. Nice tropic garden way down to the beach in the middel and cottages at both sides. Nice beach with many sunbeds and free towels. The staff are very helpful and nice. We stayed there for 8 weeks Jan-march 2114. We have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: Room 101-108 and 201-208
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjoerngun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#88 of 104 in Chaweng
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#47 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Al's Resort
Al's Resort
#73 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ark Bar Beach Resort
#29 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montien House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montien House

Property: Montien House
Address: 5 Moo 2, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Montien House 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Montien House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montien House Hotel Koh Samui
Montien Hotel Koh Samui
Montien House Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing