We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & affordable ”
Review of Montien House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montien House
Ranked #71 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice & affordable ”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 13 nights in May 2014. We had a pool villa, which was very spacious and well presented, with our own private pool. The pool was small but enough for relaxing and cooling off with a few drinks. In the room there was a king bed (hard mattress), a day bed and lounge chair, good size TV, kitchenette etc. No bath in the bathroom unfortunately but a very large shower. The room was clean, and was cleaned once per day, however the odd hours of the cleaning made it difficult to plan our day. Housekeeping would come to the room at any time from about 10am-2.30pm. Also, the pool in our villa was not cleaned at all while we were there, so after a few days it was starting to look dirty!
The hotel restaurant is quite good, buffet breakfast every morning with a fair bit of variety. Dinner at the hotel was lovely as there are tables directly on the beach, fresh seafood and live entertainment, friendly staff. Very romantic :) only problem with the restaurant is they didn't do any room service! In fact there was no phone in the room at all, so if you need to speak to reception you'll have to walk up there. The staff at reception were good, and helped us book some tours, and hire a bike which they have at the hotel for a very reasonable price. Speaking of bikes though, unless you're a very experienced rider I wouldn't do it- the roads on samui are terrible and traffic is worse- small wonder there are 30 deaths on the road a month there.
The hotel setting is very pleasant, a lot of greenery and had a large pool which we didn't use but seemed popular. The hotel backs directly onto the beach and they had massages available there which are great! Very cheap and the ladies there are lovely. We walked 10 minutes down the beach to get to the best swimming area, as directly outside the hotel the beach has a breakwater which makes it very still and not as nice as further down. The hotel also has lounge chairs available beside the pool and on the beach during the day. Before coming here we had read that it was noisy at night with arkbar so close, but our room was in the middle of the resort so we didn't hear anything apart from the occasional fireworks. The entrance of the hotel is on chaweng beach road, which is the Main Street of chaweng, with HEAPS of restaurants and shops, as well as taxis and songthaews to take you where you need to go, which is convenient.
If you're looking for a nice and affordable place to stay in chaweng, montien house is perfect. However for our next holiday in Samui we are going to stay up at Bophut/ Mae Nam for a more peaceful stay away from busy Chaweng.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessreowww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    218
    96
    29
    19
See reviews for
60
204
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We booked a 'Premier Room' at 3.200 baht/night which turned out to be the new single standing building in front of the resort. The very building that is also a travel agency which means tons of people coming and going. Sorry to say but from the first minute, I had a bad feeling.

Going thru the door to the ground floor rooms, I was met with dirt all over the floor. It was really dirty. Our room on 2nd floor was as far from 'Premier' as it could be. Forget about keycards, here in this what appears to be a building of a newer date, door has a knob and uses a key. Locking the door when you leave the room, press the inside of knob and shut it. Boy do I hate this oldfashioned dinosaur of a lock. And whats with these stupid knobs, hasnt the doorhandle found its way here! Everything inside is made of cheap materials, its cramped, bed mattress is old, evidently by its shape showing it has had its use.

Bathroom is very small and trying the water faucet in the sink, hot water came out with a foul smell. Same in the shower. Cold water was non-existant. We confronted frontdesk with this and the lady said it was normal. I asked what she mean by normal when HOT water is coming out.
It was normal cause their water tanks are on the roof. Well, I have never experienced only hot water from ANY hotel.

So we demanded another room and we were already set on a room or bungalow in the 'resort' itself since at least, we would get away from the constant coming and going of people all day.
We got another room on the 2nd floor in the building closest to the front desk.

Bathroom was checked, it was big, 2 sinks, big mirror and cold water in all faucets. Sold!
The rest of the room was very disappointing to say the least. Very old, dark and worn wood all over. Cramped. Sliding doors, shutters, nothing was smooth when using them. On the inside of the door, the frame was missing morter, bricks were bare, gape at side and bottom of door. And there was dirt and dust everywhere, sand in the corners of just about everything. This room is far from what anyone would expect from an exotic trip to Samui. The darkness of all that wood just made you want to go stay somewhere else. Which we ended up doing after 2 days out of 5.

Montien House is one of those places that are left to decay. NOTHING seems to be done here. Even the unpaved entrance to the resort bungalows look like crap, broken/many missing bricks, sand, gravel. Not for the barefooter. Just left to its own, NOTHING is done to make it look inviting here. This should have cost 1.200-1.400 baht per night - tops!

I know Chaweng Beach well, having stayed in other hotels along the beach. The stretch of beach at the Montien House is where the stone hedge is about 100+m out in the water. This means the water is stagnant there, alge is there, water not same color as the rest of the beach and its just appaling. Neither of my friends wanted to swim there. You need to go at least 6-700 meters to the right from the hotel before you see the clear waters. So location-wise its a bad choice for beach/water lovers. There is not a lot of space on the beach at the hotel for sun loungers either.

As bad as it is located for the beach, as good it is for shopping/dining. Its right in the middle of everything on the main road.

This was a huge disappointment, unacceptably overpriced. I sincerely cant find just one good reason to stay here. Not one. There are better options at Chaweng.

Room Tip: The most expensive rooms, Premier Rooms, are overpriced and the building is dirty and overrun. Choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ArchStantonTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I'm not a great fan of small islands. They are expensive, the roads suck, traffic becomes a snail pace slog and unless you're into pure beach/watersports holidays there's a limited amount to do. Nevertheless, on Samui the Montien is a little gem. Right on the beach and within a gentle stroll to the bar and restaurant area, you couldn't ask for a better location. In house they have a well priced restaurant, big, clean & tidy rooms and very friendly staff. The staff even shifted their company vehicles so that we could get our bikes under cover. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: It's noisy at night in the Chaweng Beach area so be warned if you're an early to bed light s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brimpsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We took the bigroom with the privet pool and it was great. There's nothing like a cool private swim with your trip partner after long sweaty tour. Breakfast was nice, dinner on the beach is very romantic.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHR
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Good location for central Chaweng. Plenty of bars, restaurants and shops outside. Beach is really nice, in the sheltered lagoon. Rooms nice enough, some bits a bit dated, but nice for a good stay. Booked via Agoda via the hotels website with no issues. Breakfast included until 10am.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotoringMan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We only stayed for one night, the location was good. It was about two blocks from ARK bar and the strip of clubs including the green mango. The pool and restaurant were nice and the price included a good buffet breakfast. The A/C in the room was fantastic and the room size was great. The place was fairly priced and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cherieleemegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I've been coming to this hotel for many years, it's a little jewel. If you want to stay in some corporate, anonymous place it's not for you, but if you want a personal touch , come here. Location is fabulous, 15 minutes from the airport, wonderful white sand beach which the pool sits on. The view is stunning. 2 minutes walk to shops, restaurants etc.
There are a range of rooms available but I stay in stay in the simplest because it suits me. Clean and comfortable , good beds.
Food is good, you get what you pay for.
The main reason for staying here, however, is the staff, they are so kind and friendly, if you have a problem, they always try to help.
By the way, I've worked all over the world, I know what I'm talking about.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holmesshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
Suneast Bungalows
Suneast Bungalows
#158 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#53 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.1 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#85 of 104 in Chaweng
3.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Al's Resort
Al's Resort
#76 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montien House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montien House

Property: Montien House
Address: 5 Moo 2, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Montien House 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montien House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montien House Hotel Koh Samui
Montien Hotel Koh Samui
Montien House Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing