We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect.”
Review of Al's Hut Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Al's Hut Resort
Ranked #154 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Loved Al's Hut and will definately be back. What more could you want: your own little bungalow, and an infinity poor to seperate you from the beach. Sure, the bungalows are basic, but you dont go to Samui to stay in your room do you? Big bed. T.v. Hot water. thats all you need. Breakfast buffet was good with a selection of eggs, cereal, croissants and toast. Plus at the front of Als Hut's there is a little kitchen/restaurant where the food is half the price of anywhere on the whole street- its the kind of place you eat at when your hungry, not when your going for a date, but for shoestring budget Al's got it covered!

TIP: If youre keen to keep in shape while youre on holiday, dont be put off by this place not having a fitness centre, there is Samui Fitness (local gym) just a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightskyhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

If you want cheap and central then this is it, but expect what you pay for. We stayed here and managed but only because we used the in-laws facilities at their fancy place up the beach which, incidentally, is pretty grubby near Al's. The water is so heavily chlorinated it made us, our friends and the in-laws ill after showering, which is why 4 out of 8 of us moved after 1 day.

It's so near the action though, so I can recommend this place if you want to be on the booze most nights, Green Mango is on the doorstep which is as negative or as positive as you wish to perceive!

We didn't eat the food but heard it's not worth the mither of paying for it or even getting out of bed in time, there's loads of cheaper and much better on the main drag just outside the 'resort'.

Spend a fiver a night more and you'll get better, obviously, but head further up the beach, toward Lamai.

Stay here if you're cheap, but you have been warned...

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJMellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Positives: huts were situated close to the beach and amenities. Negatives: found it difficult to sleep most nights as there was loud music from the clubs along the beach until the morning (8AM). Also, other residents were very noisy. Also, found lots of black hairs in the sink when we first arrived so hadn't been cleaned very well. Breakfast was average, not a lot to choose from. Not worth the money paid for. Are a lot cheaper breakfast in near by cafes with a lot more choice. I wouldn't recommend Als Huts if you are looking for a romantic break away. It is definately worth paying a bit more and staying somewhere a lot nicer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jess123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights in March 2010 (meant to be 6 but we'd had enough after 4). Good points - close to the beach/centre of Chaweng Beach resort. Friendly staff, air con worked.
Bad points - Bath/wash room smelly (buy a cheap air freshener makes the world of difference), quite noisy into the night (upto 2am approx so earplugs are a good idea), not that secure, our door did not close too well so PLESE IF YOU STAY HERE use the locker facilities in the reception for your valuables.
If you are looking for cheapo accom then this is your place. We ended up for our last 2 nights about 2km's away, no noise, no smell, just a great view.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BentheElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 24 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 January 2010

DON'T LET THE NAME FOOL YOU INTO THINKING THIS IS SOME KIND OF BACKSTREET HANGOUT. IT'S NOT.
The huts are as basic as you can get, but have everything you need. Though quite small there was enough space to do what you needed to do on holiday.
My only complaint would have to be the bed, it was like sleeping on the floor, it was that hard, and so didn't really get a good nights sleep for the duration of the stay, (nothing to do with noise).

Although the windows are sealed shut, we were eaten by mosquitoes, open the door for a second and the little buggers were in. So bring some repellent or fly killer.

Reception staff were none too friendly, compared to Thai people in general, but we only dealt with them when checking in and checking out.

The location is central to everything, if you want fast food there are many well known outlets available, resturants are all along the beach and provide for a beautiful and tranquil setting. Clothes shops, pharmacy, supremarket, bars (not the usual gogo bars, but they are there if you want them), hospital (not too far away) and only 30 minutes from the airport. What more would you want.
It was amazing watching the planes flying so low over head (this isn't too often and the noise of them strangely wasn't that louad).

Word of advice. Traveling from and to the airport is allot cheaper to organise with a street taxi than to arrange with the reception.

It's a beautiful spot and I WILL return and stay at Al's Hut. I intend going back this October 2010.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acarrol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 27 November 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.0 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,526 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,897 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#18 of 104 in Chaweng
1,300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al's Hut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al's Hut Resort

Address: 159/86 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £23 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al's Hut Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Sawasdee, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al's Hut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al`s Hut Hotel Bophut
Als Hut Hotel
Als Hut Koh Samui
Al's Hut Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing